We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Westin in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Great Westin in a Great Location”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Camino Real is great hotel. The rooms were very large and well kept(meaning the hotel didn't look like it needed a renovation). The same can be said for the lobby, restaurant, and pool area. Also, the hotel staff were extremely courteous and friendly, but the best thing about the hotel was the location. Its close to some great restaurants and bars within walking distance. (I highly recommend Hacienda Real for great steaks and seafood). BTW, don't skip the breakfast which is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cam435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time it takes to share your comments about your experience during your stay, it is a very important source of information. We really appreciate a positive stroke that pushes us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Any additional comment please feel free to let us know, we hope to see you soon again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    250
    85
    28
    25
See reviews for
89
107
46
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

One of the most beautiful hotels! Renovated Concierge Level room, fast and efficient check in. Lovely pool area and lobby areas. Lots of hotel shops with a variety of local souvenirs. The most friendly and helpful Concierges! Vilma arranged my 2 private day tours; one to the colorful city of Antigua and the other to Picaya Volcano/Thermal Spa. Both were wonderful experiences of a lifetime! Monica swiftly checked me into my room and made sure I was more than comfortable. Carlos and Gabriel were always super friendly and very eager and ready to assist. Their breakfast offering and evening hor d'oeuvres were both beautifully displayed and very tasty. Chef Jamie even made me a "special chili relleno" dinner! I can't say enough about the wonderful, gracious, and kind employees I encountered at the Westin Camino Real! Alberto, at the front door, always greeted me with a smile and called me by name. They ALL made my stay more than memorable! Had the pleasure of staying for 4 nights and can't wait to return to this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard. We really appreciate a positive stroke that pushes us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently spent Holy Week at the Westin Camino Real. When I am in Guatemala City this is the only place I would stay. When I got to the airport the free shuttle was waiting for me, once you arrive at the hotel the doormen will take your luggage to the front desk for you and from there to your room. I have stayed there several times before and am always greeted by name. This time I had a room on the 5th floor which was recently renovated. The room was spacious and nicely appointed with a cabinet holding the flat screen tv, there's a rack for your suitcase, a desk with a chair and a side table with a chair as well as end tables on either side of the bed. You may read other reviews in which they mention the showers being open, in the remodeled bathroom there is a shower door so no problems with a wet floor and it's a wonderful rainfall shower head with an optional wand (see my photo). There is free internet access in the lobby and I had no connections problems. The lobby has new furniture since my last visit in November and is comfortable to sit in. The bottled water at the hotel cost $2.75 but if you exit the hotel and walk along the street to the left and go to the corner and cross the street just pass the Taco Inn there is a Super24 market where you can buy bottled water as well as other beverages including alcohol as well as snacks and various other items. It's completely safe in Zone 10. There are other shops and restaurants within walking distance. When I had checked out and was going to get the shuttle to the airport it had apparently just left so the front desk actually called the driver to come back around to get me so I didn't have to wait for the next shuttle. It was the other passengers on the shuttle who told me this.. As with many hotels it's the staff that seem to make a great difference. My thanks go out to Christian Mayen, the front desk manager, to Don Cesar, the hospitality manager who never fails to greet me when I am there and also to Jose Carlos at the front desk and especially to Ariel (Estuardo) for always having a smile, joke and kind word for me and tolerating my frequent requests. The next time I am in Guatemala City I can't imagine staying anyplace else.

Room Tip: IF you are going to Guatemala for Holy Week you will find that on Good Friday almost everything (sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bedlammanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard. We really appreciate a positive stroke that pushes us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our 2 night stay at the Camino Real Westin was up to the expected international Westin standards. Our double room was comfortable and quiet and the staff was efficient and helpful. The free shuttle to the airport was nice to have as was the in-hotel ATM machine. The location is good to access all the Zona 10 options and not far from the public transit bus to Zona 1. For non-Spanish speakers, the staff speaks English. The taxi drivers all refer to the hotel as the Camino Real.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katryna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received nice comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is really nice and comfortable hotel with the free airport transportation. It worth to pay extra for the breakfast on the top floor for elegant service and nice view.
I wish concierges were less aggressive to obtain the tip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waltertu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. We are very glad to receive this kind of comments about our hotel; we really appreciate a positive stroke that pushes us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel provides excellent service, ample rooms and fine dining. After traveling through the country side of Guatemala, this was a comforting place to spend a week. You will find shopping malls, restaurants and other interesting areas at walking distance. The service was number one, the food was excellent, and the shops within the hotel offer high quality merchandise at good prices. Nice pool and gym facilities. If you are going to the convention center, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at high floors offer a good view of Guatemala city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Rooms modern clean. Comfortable bed. A bit noisy with the city below. Staff was friendly. However, they made an error charging my credit card after the room had already been paid by our travel company.

Room Tip: Higher floors farther away from city noise. Probably quieter with a room on the back facing the pool...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wwtraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
425 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
601 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 49 in Guatemala City
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Camino Real Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Camino Real Guatemala

Property: The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
Address: Calle Camino Real 0-20, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#11 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Camino Real Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Camino Real Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Camino Real Hotel Guatemala City
Westin Hotel Guatemala City
Westin Guatemala City
Guatemala City Westin
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing