We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Located in zone 10, easy and safe walking to restaurants in the area. The service, especially the front desk staff, was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are very clean and quiet; the breakfast, especially the buffet, is very lovely. There is a free shuttle to and from the airport that runs every half hour. While there is free Wi-Fi, it is slow and not very reliable. I would definitely stay here again if I am in this part of the world.

Room Tip: Request a room either facing the pool or 7th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7469moog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very glad to receive this kind of comments about our hotel; we really appreciate a positive stroke that pushes us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.


We will share your comment in our staff board, it´s always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    250
    85
    28
    25
See reviews for
89
107
46
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to a lovely and spacious suite. Tasty appetizers and "energetic" juice in club room. Wonderful breakfast buffet. Easy and free shuttle from the airport. Dinner was a bargain at the Italian spot - attentive service. Only here for one night so didn't sample the neighborhood, spa or pool area. Room was comfortable and very quiet on a Saturday night We will be back.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank love2goIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean. The bathroom was nice. I didn't spend much time at my room, though. The pool area was very nice, too.

There's a McDonald's in walking distance, which was very convenient.

There are some restaurants near and at a short walking distance from the hotel. We walked at night and the area seemed safe. In general, the area was really quiet and tranquil.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gisellelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.

Again thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. We hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antofagasta, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a TOP HOTEL. no questions..

PROS
free wi fi at lobby
nice swiming pool and gym ( spinning included)
great breakfast, (not included in our case, uss 20 full , FULL buffet)
great location, good restaurant at walking distance ( Hard Rock, Hooters about one block, Starbucks about 6or seven...if you prefer local food, CASA CHAPINA one block)
There are four restaurants for lunch or dinner in the hotel, all of them are good
very nice people, except one or two.

CONS
mmmmm well, expensive water and frigo bar in the room ...(less than one block there is a mini market ....)


COMMENTS
is Guatemala City a safe place? we were there 5 days and didn't see anything, BUT there are a lot of police with heavy guns, also we see people with bodyguards AND most of the people at stores said... "be cerefull"... the hotel is located at ZONA VIVA, with a numbers of other hotels and restaurants I would say a safe place.

In most of the restaurants tips is included 10%in your bill

Verify if tax are included on your room price.

Finally I do recommend ANTIGUA and I do not recommend CHICHECASTENANGO (except if you are a "souvenirs fan")

Room Tip: there is a swiming pool view and street view.... our option was street so was basically "buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlosd1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Westin was a very nice, safe hotel to stay at during a recent visit to Guatemala City. The rooms were immaculate; bathrooms very up-to-date by American standards. Showers are great.

After several days touring outside Guatemala City then coming back to the city for a few days, the Westin was a great place to rest and recoup. By this time we were looking for a change from the wonderful Guatemalan food and loved the Italian restaurant connected to the hotel, so that was a nice surprise.

The security at the Westin is good, which we really appreciated. The pool and workout area is nice Early morning shuttle to the airport was on time and efficient.

Internet wifi cost was expensive at the hotel, so I did not bother with it while there. Fortunately didn't need it.

First-time travelers would find it a bit difficult to find the front desk, but the valet by the front door helps direct.

Instead of costing extra, bottled water should simply be included in the room cost since most travelers avoid the tap water anyway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was a decent hotel for the stay (ie. clean, quiet), but they try to rip you off as much as they can while you're there. In fact, for incidental charges, the fees are as high if not higher than the most expensive cities in the US. Keep in mind this is Guatemala, where cost of living is 1/10th that of US. For example:
Small bottle of Evian water: $5
Internet: $15
Coffee: $4
Exchange rate: 7.3 vs standard 7.85.
I would try to go to any other similar cailber hotel on my next stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the time to write your review about our hotel, we really appreciate guest suggestions in order to keep our standars and get better every day.

We´ll be glad to know more about your stay, please feel free to write us at coordinador_mercadeo@caminoreal.com.gt

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

There are many good things to say about this hotel, but in eleven days of travel in Guatemala, where the tap water is not usually safe to drink or brush teeth with, this was the only hotel to charge us for water. ($2.75 for what I remember as a half-liter.)

Tip: If you are leaving early to catch the plane to Flores (Tikal), eat the apple in your box lunch. Mine was confiscated in Flores, although the banana was not. I didn't mind that, but if you are counting on your apple for later, you won't be able to keep it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at The Westin Camino Real Guatemala, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from our hotel, we really appreciate this kind of comments which help us to keep our high standards. Also we are very sorry for the water inconvenient.

Please feel free to contact us at coordinador_mercadeo@caminoreal.com.gt

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#10 of 49 in Guatemala City
425 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#2 of 49 in Guatemala City
601 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 49 in Guatemala City
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Camino Real Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Camino Real Guatemala

Property: The Westin Camino Real Guatemala
Address: Calle Camino Real 0-20, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Guatemala City
#2 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#11 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Camino Real Guatemala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Westin Camino Real Guatemala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Camino Real Hotel Guatemala City
Westin Hotel Guatemala City
Westin Guatemala City
Guatemala City Westin
The Westin Camino Real Guatemala Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing