We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Booking.com
$134
No prepayment needed
$134
Priceline
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,120)
Filter reviews
1,121 results
Traveler rating
629
312
106
39
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
629
312
106
39
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el cafetal hotel is beautiful other hotels pool and gym great gym hotel restaurant bottled water business trip minutes from the airport camino lobby guatemala city zone security zona neighborhood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
710 - 715 of 1,121 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2008

Being the #1 rated hotel does not necessarily mean it's #1 for everyone as we found out during our 3 day stay at the Westin. Upon arrival on Saturday the lobby was full of adopting families...and then also the pool and spa area...all full of children. Plus every lounge chair was taken on all 3 days we were there. Hardly the relaxing poolside experience we were looking forward to prior to our return home.

Although we reserved King bed we were assigned room with Queen bed which we did not even notice until we returned from dinner and had unpacked, which made for a rather unpleasant night. Shame on us for not noticing sooner as when I brought to staff's attention the next day they gladly moved us. The breakfast on concierge level was quite good! Highly recommend "Kacao" for excellent Guatemalan food & atmosphere, and "TaConteno" for good Mexican...both within a couple blocks. Surprisingly there is a casino next door, however without knowing Guatemalan gaming laws, may be risky.

Date of stay: March 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RobertTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

We just visited this resort 5 nights while on a visit trip to meet our child we are adopting. First of all the staff was very friendly. The lobby and restaurants were updated, but the guest rooms were not to the level as other Westin's we have been to, but they were still nice. We stayed on the family floor, good concept and they have a room for gathering or hanging out, but once again for a Westin not up to par for their reputation. We enjoyed the pool area and gym were very nice. There is a spa there but we did not get any services. The italian restaurant gets many good reviews from us and other guests. The buffet in main restaurant kind of expensive for what you get, so we mainly ordered straight off the menu. Only major advise to give is do not rely on the conceige as we asked for assistance from 2 differenent people and were mislead and misinformed on several issues and restaurants.

Date of stay: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiechicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

My husband and I travelled last March for the second time to Guatemala City. During our first stay, we stayed at the Marriot, because we had surfed the adoption websites and thought it would be the most family friendly. After styaing at the Marriot and the Westin, we strongly recommend the Westin. The location was great, the ambience was regal and the staff was very accomodating. Our first night we stayed on the Concereige level and our room was beautiful. On that level, breakfast was in a special room on the same floor and it was perfect. We chose to switch rooms for the rest of the stay because we had picked up our 3 year old son from the orphanage, and had no idea what his sleeping pattern was going to be like. So, we asked and the staff accomodated us with a room on the family floor. Because they have a special floor dedicated to families adopting children, the hotel receives my high accolades. With the Marriot was too adoption crazed, the Westin was a lovely balance of families and business people. The pool was quiet during the day and meals were superb. We were able to walk to the US Embassy for both of our appointments, and there were some very good local and inexpensive restaurants nearby. We appreciated the fact that we were located in an area of the City where we could stroll around with our son without being fearful.

We highly recommend this hotel for both families and businesspeople.

Date of stay: March 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ssfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

I stayed at this westin for my trip to a friend's wedding. The rooms are bit small compared to other hotels in guatemala but they were luxuriusly appointed. The beds (the heavenly bed) is great, soft pillow, high thread count sheets. The same with towels and the overall amenities in the bathroom. Although the hotel is really big we received top of the line service, the concierge arranged reservations, shuttles, appointments for the beauty salon fast and with the right attitude.

When we checked in they gave us a queen size bed which was not what we had requested but they changed us to another room in a blink of an eye.

Had an overall great experience. Another plus is that it is really close (a block or two) from many restaurants and shops. I have also stayed at the intercontinental but if I had to return I would choose the westin without a doubt.

Date of stay: August 2007
1  Thank bmma2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

Stayed at this hotel in November of 2007, very nice Hotel, staff very Friendly,very accomodating and mostly all spoke english.Resturant's are OK, walked around blocks adjacent to hotel some very good resturant's within walking distance, don't let people fool you it is ok to walk around but just remember if you look for trouble you will find it and just be aware of your surroundings just as in any major city. Shops in hotel are nice with nice staff, pool area is great with a very friendly staff and quick to bring food or drink ( great for kid's). If I do happen to go back to G.C. this Hotel will be on top of my list.Oh yeah did I mention the convenient shuttle from the Airport and great decor and security.

Date of stay: November 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stedor410
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews