We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
27
4
3
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
27
4
3
0
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 37 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2015

Whenever I fly to Guatemala City I stay at La Coperacha. There is nothing outstanding about it but it is a comfortable, secure and dependable place to spend a night for about US $12. Breakfast and WiFi are included. The host, Lucien, is a bit different but you can be assured that he will take good care of you. Ask him to send a taxi to the airport (or bus station) to pick you up unless you are very familiar with the public transportation system there. The $10-15 taxi service is worth it, especially if you are travelling with lots of luggage. The hostel is clean and showers are hot. It is located in a relatively nice area and one can easily walk to the City Center and the huge City market.

Room tip: There is not much difference among the rooms - they are all comfortable and quiet.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2015 via mobile

Started with sending an email with some questions and got a reply with answering only half of our questions. After this he started to get pushy if we could please confirm. At the time we were still doubting about which area to stay (next to the airport or in the city), so we told him that. Day after we made up our mind and asked is the room was still available. Turned out that it was so we responded that we would like to make the reservation and asked for a conformation. He responded with the confirmation. The next morning (day of leaving to Guatemala City!) we got an email saying he is full, without any reason. First thought this might be a misunderstanding so we tried to explain that we had a reservation and he confirmed it. Got a very inappropriate and just rude email back.

So be very careful in communicating with this place and guy (Lucien).

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank huppelbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2015 via mobile

We loved staying here. The guy who lives here, Lucien, is fantastic. He included us in his plans, took us to the market, the bus stop and is a very friendly guy. The private ensuite room is incredible. So spacious and I loved the rocking chair. Breakfast was delicious and the location was perfect, just a ten minute walk to the centre. It feels like staying in the local community and the hostel is like staying in someone's home. We loved it!

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank oleadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2015 via mobile

i´ve stayed here several times, coming and going through the capital bit i´ve never stayed more than one night at a time. the rooms are nice, breakfast is simple but good. owner lucien is quick to respond to emails and is gives good advice on where to find what i need ie bus station, bank, etc. once he even lent me 2Q for the bus to z10 and back. however, the location is hard to find. i usually have the address written in my phone so i can show it to the cab driver. but we still end up driving in circles for a while. luis is a driver that works a lot with lucien and is punctual and fair with prices. z2 really is away from everything but the hostel is clean and quiet with a nice courtyard and hot breakfast.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank XelaGringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2015

This place is great. When you arrive it throws you off but once you get situated it is awesome. Never new Guatemala had such affordable and comfortable places that make you feel at home with family because the personnel is very attentive and friendly. This place offers great breakfast and warm showers. They also have a taxi driver that will take you where you need to go and bring you back when you are ready even picks you up from the airport the minute you arrive don't have to be waiting for him to get there. There's so much to explore if you like to take walks. enjoyed the stay in the private suite they offer and definitely will be coming back for my next trip. Always someone new to meet at the Coperacha.

Room tip: The private suite is excellent but if you are a Wi-Fi addict stay in the other rooms because it does not reach upstairs.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lachelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews