We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It feels like home !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coperacha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coperacha
Ambergris Caye, Belize
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It feels like home !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I really appreciate this place, nice area (shops around), place was safe , hot showers, coffee anytime, great breakfast, nice living room, laundry service, room was clean, wifi, cheap prices, friendly staff, good advises. I'd recommend it !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    4
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
9
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Que buen lugar... No es posible que hay un lugar mejor que este en Guate. El precio es especular por los servicios que hay... Y la casa tiene un ambiente de paz y amor. Cada día despiertas de un desayuno y una sonrisa. Y los desayunos son sanos y deliciosos-de huevos, frijoles y plátanos. Las camas son cómodos y limpios. Y los baños compartidos son los mejores que yo conocí en todo Central America. La zona es seguro y hay mucha para comer en las pequeñas restaurantes cercita del hostal. Si quieres un dormitorio-son bonísimo o si quieres algo privado, el ´suite´es un lugar donde mi mama podría dormir tranquilo...

What a great place... I don't think it is possible to find a better place to stay in all of Guatemala City. The price is spectacular for the service that you get here. The house has an feeling of peace and love. Every day you wake up to a healthy and delicious breakfast of eggs, beans and fried bananas. The beds are comfortable and clean. And the shared bathrooms are the best that I ever found in Central America. The zone is safe and there are alot of small restaurantes very close to the hostel. If you want dorm room-they are wonderful or is you want something more private, then the suite is a place where my mom could sleep in peace.

El Oso Gringo

Room Tip: The suite is a great place-big bed, private bathroom, and privacy in general. All the other rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oso54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night in March and after being really apprehensive about Guatemala (due to the horror reports in our Guide) we had a pleasant surprise in finding Coperacha and being put at ease by the Management.

The manager rapidly responded to our interest in a room, arranging a reasonable priced taxi to pick us up directly from the airport. When we arrived we fell in love with the colonial style building which has a courtyard with swing chairs and plants, a real inner sanctum of peace and tranquility.

Our room was huge, very clean with large clean bed and ensuite bathroom. There was a problem with the hot water in our room, so we used the shared shower facilities which were a short walk from our room and had lovely hot running water.

In the morning the Manager cooked us a lovely breakfast of plantain, eggs, beans and tortilla with cups of tea (with milk) and coffee. We had a great chat about life and politics before being armed with a map and taking a short walk up to the ATM.

Sadly we would have stayed longer but due to time restraints moved onto San Marcos, the manager arranged a fair priced taxi which took us directly to the bus station.

Massive thumbs up to this place, just what you need to ease you into Guatemala City.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomHPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The space of this hostel was pretty nice and relatively affordable. They advertised that they'd "pick me up from the airport"...which translates to they'll send a cab. Still, it was nice to not have to figure out how to get here. The hostel is a bit removed from most of the city and the streets are very dark around it, so I did not feel remarkably safe wandering at night. The room was clean and the outdoors area was pretty nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 462David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

stayed here at the beginning of my 3 month tour of central America and the host (sorry forgotten his name) was fantastic could not be more helpful and informed on the city!

the rooms were clean tidy and well set up and even had hot water! place is a little quiet sometimes but hopefully that will change as word gets out of just how good this place is!

great location too basically just straight up the top the of the main street and two too the left.

guatemala city was safe enough so dont avoid it over safety concerns.. there is enough to do for a few days in town and a gym close by too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiekiwibiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

La Coperacha is the best choice for travellers who pass through the capital.
It is located in a nice area, the rooms are friendly and clean, there is a full-equipped kitchen, internet and everything you need is close by.
The best thing about La Coperacha though are the owners and employees. There will not only pick you up from the airport but also tell you everything about the city, especially zona 2. This way you can see the city with different eyes and will discover that there is much more than a lot of traffic. If you are interested they can introduce you to the culture- and nightlife! And if not you can hang out in the patio or the living room.
I recommend the hostel as much to backpackers as to families and business trips.
Staying at La Coperacha might make you want to spend more time in Guate then planned!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I must say that I really didn't expect much knowing that I was moving into a hostel. This was also my first stay at a hostel, had to spend a couple of days in the city and a hotel would have been way too expensive. First off, the location is great. Quiet, clean street without much traffic, 15 minute walk to the main square and old city center. 3 Minutes away from a huge supermarket, small shops less than a minute away. Very clean, staff is very nice and helps wherever they can. Very quiet in the night, kittchen is clean and fully equipped. Big, modern fridge to hold all your beer. Staff speaks English, Spanish and French and there even is a computer you can use to check your emails.

Room Tip: I have seen all rooms and they are all very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_VTRESORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.8 mi away
Pan American Hotel
Pan American Hotel
#21 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla
#28 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.3 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#10 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#34 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Theatre International Hostel
Theatre International Hostel
#3 of 45 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coperacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coperacha

Property: Coperacha
Address: 4 Av 2-03, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Coperacha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coperacha Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing