We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“familiar atmosphere”
Review of Quetzalroo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quetzalroo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a great stay at this nice hostel with its lovely staff!!! They allways gave us a hand with all concerns, a deeper understanding in Guatemala Ciudad an their people included ( excellent bike tour with Marcos and friends, plus his very interesting collection of documentories about Guatemalan history and society). Rooms and br are definitifly clean, water for free. We enjoyed the roof top terrace. This place is absolutely recommendable!!! Uta and Michael

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Quetzalroo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 388 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is the place to be! All the facilities are great, but more important - the hosts are GREAT and will give you a safe, exiting, funny and homely experience of the City! Go go go! Love from Miriam and Toby Denmark.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miriam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have chosen this place based on the positive reviews, but it is not a place where we might come back.

Initially we had agreed upon a price, but when getting there they said that it was a mistake and the price was higher. We reiterated that this was our agreement, eventually they accepted, but when we asked to make a call and reserve a next day bus - although initially they had accepted, they tried to charge 1QTZ for this call! Anyway lately, the young girl (probably one of the owners) tried again to argue that the price was higher and that our agreement was a mistake.

We have stayed in a private room which is really small and you have to pass through another room to get there which may be embarrassing if people sleep there.

The wifi only works in the common room, the breakfast is really poor, the bathrooms are not clean at all and the local girls working there (except for the owners) seem to have lost their smile. Although they have said the area is safe and "much crime happens in Antigua or Panajachel" (sorry, but we don't think so), we haven't had this feeling as at 7pm when exiting the hotel we could hardly find people walking on the streets.

The only reason for not rating this place as "really poor" is the mother of the young owner(s) who communicates with the tourists and does not seem to patronise them as per the other staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joker t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was my first and last port of call on my trip to Guatemala. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in Guatemala city. The hostel is very clean, has decent showers and the rooms and dorms are nice.
The staff here are amazing. its run by a family who will go out of their way in every direction to make your stay here comfortable. I would recommend doing the bike tour of the city with Marcos. It will give you a great introduction to the city. I was planning to arrive and leave Guat city but am so happy i got to see the nice side of capital, thanks to this bike tour. its cheap and very informative. If you are staying in the city, make this your place.

Room Tip: do the bicycle tour of the city with Marcos. Very enjoyable. And eat the street food. its AMAZING
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamgordonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

PROS
- The Peligroso tour is great
- Close to a Mall
- Safe area
- Cheap
- Drinkable water
- Shuttle to the airport

CONS
- Hard to find
- Privates are in the middle of the shared dorms.
- It is in a 6th floor

Probably the worst thing is that you have to go through the shared dorms in order to get to your room. Even when you know the people sleeping there should know that you will go through at any time, the experience is incredibly embarrassing. My tour guide was waiting for me at 5am and I had to wake them up while crossing and opening the door.

The best thing is for sure the city tour. They take you to the main attractions (city hall, market, central square, etc) using the bus system. It is something that would not know how to do it on your own.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ameseguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Clean, nice, helpfull and friendly budget hotel in the big city. The perfect place to begin a trip in Guatemala with a lot of much needed services such as good advising, free drinkable water, shuttle service in the city and the opportunity to do a walking tour in the capitol and to discover by yourself how the city can be interesting and safe.

Wonderfull place, really.

Room Tip: Make a reservation a week before you get there if you want a private room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

First point is that this place is very hard to find - even for tax drivers. It's in the 'hospital zone' and actually shares a building and front gate with an ear clinic.
The mother and son owners are helpful enough (although I sensed an underlying surliness from the son which may explain previous reviewers comments).
However, compared to other budget places in the city, this is VERY expensive - two hundred for a private and one forty five for a dorm!!!
As per a previous review, I had to walk through what appeared to be an overflow dorm to get to my private room.
The comfiness of the bed was OK, cleanliness was very good throughout. No problems of noise transference. Free drinking water. I didn't experience whatever breakfast they may offer. The area is safe.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheProdigitalSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#35 of 49 in Guatemala City
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#11 of 49 in Guatemala City
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#12 of 49 in Guatemala City
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
#18 of 49 in Guatemala City
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzalroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzalroo

Address: 6ta Avenida 7 - 84, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range: $19 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Quetzalroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzalroo Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing