We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel that gives so much”
Review of Quetzalroo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quetzalroo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best hostel that gives so much”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

All the positive points about this hostel would take up more space than allocated. The UNIQUE highlights are how they give so much time, energy and effort to every individual guest experience. On top of this they also are involved in contributing towards organisations and their inidividual employees to make the county better. Of course all the usual positives exist, clean, safer than my home, friendly to the point of an educated community that is aware of the country's situation is being created. Every night was fun thanks to the team! Thank YOU Marco, Manuel, Anna Isabel, Maria, Blanca, Ilde, Gliselda, Deniz, Winston. Hugs and more I MISS YOU ALL TONS!!!

Room Tip: Possibly on the other side from the office, tell the desk personnel what you desire is and they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKD70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    55
    18
    10
    13
See reviews for
20
65
148
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

QuetzalRoo,is much more than a hostel, I felt like my place in Guatemala, I had great time there, their staff is on service 100%, very friendly and very kind, besides they are very organized, and clean, their VAN is ready to take you on excursion to have fun, I had a really great experience, location is very central, safe, and comfortable, their customer service is more than that, they become your friends, always provide suggestions about where to go / where to visit according to your interest, they really care, and I learned a lot about their culture, Thank you Quetzalroo
Congratulations Manuel for your hostal

now I feel that I have to go to guatemala soon. I highly recommend to everyone

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndresRangel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I payed to much and got:
Stuff stolen
Mosquto bites
Bad sleep from staff talking loudly in phone at night and listning to loud music in the morning(both could be heard very well in the dorm)
Inappriatly touched
Feeling of strees and discomfort
A shower turning cold in the middel of it

All a disapointing ending to Guatamala.

Wish a choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hwot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Quetzalroo turned a pit stop in Guatemala City into a total trip highlight! I can't say enough about this hostel and would recommend it to everyone. The hostel was clean, centrally located, safe, etc but the total highlight was the staff and the atmosphere. The owner, Manuel, really goes above and beyond to make every traveler feel comfortable and introduces them to each other - it fosters a great environment at the hostel. This is especially great for the solo travelers. He also really makes an extra and genuine effort to help each guest with their trip and introduce them to Guatemala City. In my experience, I went on the morning tour - then he took me to a museum and an university to speak with local students about current events in Guatemala. At the end of the day, he invited a bunch of us to come with him to a private party in the city - not a guaranteed aspect of Quetzelroo's service but definitely gives you an idea of how above and beyond the owner and his family and staff go for their guests. It's amazing - I learned a ton about the city and really enjoyed this hostel! Don't stay anywhere else :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

In April 2013 I had to travel to Guatemala City on fairly short notice as relates to research I do for my job. Out of respect for funding and budgets, I opted to stay at a hostel as opposed to a more expensive hotel. Nonetheless, from past experience, I was fairly loathe to be a part of the hospital / backpacker scene, but the location of Quetzalroo was absolutely perfect, in zona 10 directly across the street from my mentor's office (so in the end I decided to go against my better judgment of avoid the hostel scene).
Not only did I have a productive trip, Quetzalroo more or less turned my fairly negative opinion of the hostel culture on its head while allowing me to be well rested, well fed and happy for a number of meetings. This place is a bargain and the people working there are absolute gems.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
307 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a great time here. Such a welcoming place run by a family and makes every guest feel apart of the family. It can seem chaotic at times because they are always busy and packed, but that lends to the wonderful atmosphere of the place. The staff and owners are so helpful and knowledgeable about getting around Guate. They are so hospitable as well. I was craving a snack and they provided one! I felt like I was visiting the fun home of friends. Area is safe. Rooms (private and dorm) are fine. Bathrooms too. The homemade jam provided at breakfast is great! Love the rooftop area as well. Driver will pick/drop you off wherever you need. Would definitely recommend this place. If you are coming to Guatemala City, you have to come here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I arrived at night to Guatemala City during Easter to packed hotels. Manuel and Marco welcomed me into their beautiful hostel despite their lack of space. They gave me a couch, a home-made dinner, good company and a ride to my bus in the morning, all for 100 quetzales (13 USD). I am so grateful! I will return. Thank you Quetzalroo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
1,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#11 of 48 in Guatemala City
418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#8 of 48 in Guatemala City
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
#17 of 48 in Guatemala City
254 reviews
2.0 mi away
Theatre International Hostel
Theatre International Hostel
#2 of 52 in Guatemala City
129 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostal Guatefriend's
Hostal Guatefriend's
#3 of 52 in Guatemala City
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzalroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzalroo

Property: Quetzalroo
Address: 6ta Avenida 7 - 84, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Quetzalroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzalroo Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing