We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice place to stay near the airport”
Review of Quetzalroo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quetzalroo
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Clean and nice place to stay near the airport”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here for the first time in the end of august while leaving Guatemala. It is well worth the money, Cheap and clean and the staff is vey friendly. Located just a short drive from the airport it is an exellent place to stay when arriving late/leaving early. I came in with a bus to the center and they pick you up at the bustations and also include transport to the ariport. It all went so well even if the driver was running a bit late because of traffick. They had my phonenumber and kept me informed. Also arranged for me to get som pizza delivered because I came in late.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Travelislearning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    54
    18
    10
    13
See reviews for
20
65
147
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Quetzalroo meets all of your basic requirements in terms of rooms, beds, bathrooms, breakfast and wifi. Where it excels is in its excellent customer service and the enthusiasm the owners have for showing visitors both Guatemala City and Guatemala in both an honest and positive light. Many people told me I was crazy to stay even one night in GC however after the hostel's excellent city tour I felt it was time very well spent. We were impressed by the passion and generosity of the hostel staff and would highly recommend spending a night or two at this hostel and making time for a city tour (the airport shuttle service is also very helpful!).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustralianEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hostel was very disappointing especially after reading such good reviews. I emailed to book a room but didn't get a response so I rang and was told that a private room would be booked for me and to ring them when I arrived to get the free lift. After an 18 hour bus ride from Managua I rang the hostel and was told they had no such booking and all the rooms were full. The owner then remembered my call and apologised for forgetting to book the room. It was midnight and we didn't have much choice other than stay in a dorm. The dorms are ridiculously overpriced for what they are (even with the small discount we received for the stuff up) - the mattress protector makes it very squeaky and the top bunk is slanted so you're restricted to one side of the bed. I appreciate that the owner apologised and acknowledged the fact he stuffed up as well as offering us a discount and Marcus was great the next morning with telling us lots of info about where to go in Guatemala. Even so the dorms are certainly not worth it for the price and the breakfast is very basic. They sound as though they have been in the business for a while so to make a mistake such as forgetting to write down a phone booking is inexcusable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nell188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelRomeroCloseQR, Owner at Quetzalroo, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello travelers. I really want to apologise for forgetting to book you in. Thanks for writing this review

Manu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We came to Guatemala city because we had to - planned to stay for the night and get the hell out of there. But then we came across the Quetzalroo`ers. Manuel and Marcus were amazing. showing us where to go, what to do, and even coming with us and making our stay absolutely great. We felt safe, welcomed and at home. Great place, great atmosphere, great staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0riam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I spent one night at Quetzalroo during an overnight layover on my way to Panama. The hostel is a quick 5 minute ride from the airport and you get a free shuttle each way. The owners are intelligent, friendly local guys. The hostel is immaculately clean and very comfortable. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 3 was clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebaj, Guatemala
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

True, the flight from Miami to Guate City is only a few hours, but by the look of two bedraggled backpackers, wandering aimlessly through baggage claim, you would have guessed it was at least a six hour flight. Brains fried and shoulders heavy, we were relieved to see Manuel waiting for us at the gate. He scooped us up and brought us on a short drive to the lovely Quetzalroo- a little slice of hostel heaven in Zone 10. The beds were cozy, the service was divine, the rooftop- a little gem overlooking the city. We absolutely enjoyed our stay here. The staff was, undoubtedly, the most helpful that I have ever encountered in a hostel. I'm proud to say I send people here all the time, comfortable in the fact that I know they will be treated well and be taken care of. :]

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xotchil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

What makes this hostel special is the dedication of the amazing owners. They show you the real Guatemala City in a way that you would never get to know on your own and they treat you like you are one of their friends. Most people skip Guatemala City but because of these guys we got to see that it's worth it to stay here a couple of days to see this nice city

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
1,386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#11 of 48 in Guatemala City
418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
#17 of 48 in Guatemala City
254 reviews
2.0 mi away
Theatre International Hostel
Theatre International Hostel
#2 of 52 in Guatemala City
129 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostal Guatefriend's
Hostal Guatefriend's
#3 of 52 in Guatemala City
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzalroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzalroo

Property: Quetzalroo
Address: 6ta Avenida 7 - 84, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Quetzalroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzalroo Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing