We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Friendly Hostel in Guate”
Review of Quetzalroo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quetzalroo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I spent one night at Quetzalroo during an overnight layover on my way to Panama. The hostel is a quick 5 minute ride from the airport and you get a free shuttle each way. The owners are intelligent, friendly local guys. The hostel is immaculately clean and very comfortable. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 3 was clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 391 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

True, the flight from Miami to Guate City is only a few hours, but by the look of two bedraggled backpackers, wandering aimlessly through baggage claim, you would have guessed it was at least a six hour flight. Brains fried and shoulders heavy, we were relieved to see Manuel waiting for us at the gate. He scooped us up and brought us on a short drive to the lovely Quetzalroo- a little slice of hostel heaven in Zone 10. The beds were cozy, the service was divine, the rooftop- a little gem overlooking the city. We absolutely enjoyed our stay here. The staff was, undoubtedly, the most helpful that I have ever encountered in a hostel. I'm proud to say I send people here all the time, comfortable in the fact that I know they will be treated well and be taken care of. :]

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xotchil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

What makes this hostel special is the dedication of the amazing owners. They show you the real Guatemala City in a way that you would never get to know on your own and they treat you like you are one of their friends. Most people skip Guatemala City but because of these guys we got to see that it's worth it to stay here a couple of days to see this nice city

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Quetzalroo really is a great hostel in Guatemala City. Firstly, the genuine passion that the owners, native Guatemalans and one Australian, is so great and they really take the time to make sure their guests get a fully comprehensive sense of the city. They always have advice on restaurants, things to do, places to see, etc. In fact, they ask every guest at check-in what their plan is for the following day, and can give suggestions.

Whenever there is a need, a member (or multiple) of the staff sits down for in-depth conversations with guests to help map out their entire stays in Guatemala and Central America in general. Manuel has done a TON of traveling himself, so he has wonderful insight.

The hostel itself is really lovely. Dorm beds are standard, but the double beds are quite comfortable and a few of the rooms have a balcony which is definitely a plus. I only used the stove in the kitchen, but I used it a lot and it worked well. There is laundry service and the breakfast is actually really great. The owner's mother makes the jam from scratch, and it's the best jams I've ever had--especially the mango kind (but there's also yummy strawberry, guava, fig, papaya, etc.)

Everyone on staff is really great, and absolutely willing to help out in any way possible even if there is a language barrier.

The environment of the hostel is really cool, as its set in an apartment with beautiful artwork on the walls, Guatemalan t's for sale, and a plethora of travel books for guests to use. Free wifi, TV, etc.

I will recommend this hostel to everyone I meet traveling through the city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hostel is very very very average in my eyes. The only thing that makes it remotely worth 18 dollars a night is the free pickup and drop-off service and the general helpfulness of the staff, everything else is pretty blah.

Seeing the rave reviews and the fancy website I expected much, much more of this place but I saw absolutely nothing out of the ordinary- hard matresses, tiny beds, suicide showers, don't accept card payments, tiny communal areas, poor kitchen, lockers for rent (why? Just why?), rooftop terrace is actually a tiny, dull space with a table and chairs- not even a pot plant or two to liven it up. I was expecting some sort of lively, traveller atmosphere with music and a bar or something but there was literally nothing. Also, the hostel is on about the 4th floor so you have to lug your stuff up a few flights of stairs to get there. They do offer tours of the city in the morning but you have to pay 5 more dollars for the privilage. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and their pickup service is excellent- this is what made it worth the money.

In short, worth it for the airport service and good for first timers in Guate but otherwise very underwhelming for something touted as 'the best hostel in Guatemala'. If you don't need to stay here to catch a flight or whatever, don't bother, it just isn't worth it in my eyes. Obviously it has appeal to many people but, for me, it was little more than a few hours of uncomfortable sleep and a convenient stop for getting to the airport for an early flight, nothing more.

Room Tip: The dorm beds are very uncomfortable, I'm 5 foot 5 and my feet were out of the end of the bed! P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PotterNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Really the best place you can start your trip in Guatemala!!
Very friendly and helpful staff. The owner, Manuel, is an example of hospitality.

If you want the owner draws you a map of Guatemala with all the landmarks you must see and numerous money saving and save traveling tips.

You´ll get picked up and dropped off at the airfield or any bus station in the city. This is a great service is Guatemala City.

Its a great place to stay if you have an early flight or late arrival. But if you have the time I can recommend "The Danger tour". Its well guided and is a safe way to see the City. Guate is a great city that has more to offer than being just a transport hub.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Quetzalroo is the most famous hostel in Guatemala City for a reason. Manuel not only runs this hostel, he also pioneered the forum where different hostel owners in Guatemala can communicate with eachother about guests to watch out for, potential dangers, weather warnings, transport issues, dodgey tour operators etc so that this information can be passed on to travelers and help us have the best travel experience possible.

Apart from the complementary breakfast, comfy beds, clean rooms, dorms and bathrooms, free pick up/drop off from bus stations and airport, nice atmosphere and cool staff, the crew at Quetzalroo are super knowledgable about the rest of Guatemala as well as onward travel overland to Honduras, El Salvador and beyond. You can't buy that sort of information. I've traveled Guatemala pretty extensively and I found their help really useful in deciding what order to visit destinations, how to get there, and where to stay along the way.

Guatemala City seems to have a pretty bad reputation for being ugly, dirty and dangerous, especially when people arrive by bus in Zona 1 and want to get the heck out of there... I can understand that... But Guate City also has a super affluent side to it with amazing shopping malls, restaurants, bars and clubs as well as cool historical stuff and local markets too. If you have a few spare days up your sleeve and you don't mind venturing a little further off the 'tourist trail' then the guys at Quetzalroo can point you in the right direction to have a really great time in Guate City. My highlights were Zona 16, the VIP Cinema (amazing!) and treating myself to some sushi for the first time in a long while.

Quetzalroo is really cool and very reasonably priced for Guate City, which is always a lot more expensive than the rest of Guate.

If you are staying in Guate City or even thinking about it then your bets choice is Quetzalroo.

Room Tip: I've stayed in the dorm and in 2 different private rooms. The free wireless internet doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PapaSwirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#36 of 49 in Guatemala City
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
#13 of 49 in Guatemala City
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hostal Los Volcanes
Hostal Los Volcanes
#8 of 60 in Guatemala City
75 reviews
2.0 mi away
Theatre International Hostel
Theatre International Hostel
#2 of 60 in Guatemala City
134 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostal Guatefriend's
Hostal Guatefriend's
#3 of 60 in Guatemala City
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzalroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzalroo

Address: 6ta Avenida 7 - 84, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range: $18 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quetzalroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzalroo Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing