We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Guatemalan Food”
Review of Kacao

Kacao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: Latin, Guatemalan, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional and gourmet Guatemalan food set on a large "palapa"style architecture. Upscale traditional decoration, local music and waiters with typical outfits; great for turists, out of town clients, families and local foodies. A wonderful Guatemalan experience right in the center of the Hotel zone.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good Guatemalan Food”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The food was tasty, but slightly too salty. The locals claim this is the best restaurant in the city, so expect American prices. Expect to pay approximately $20/person (including non-alcoholic beverage).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank i-gots-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    206
    65
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Set in a sort of enclosed gazebo-like structure, this spin on traditional Guatemalan admittedly looks and feels a little kitschy. Once you settle into the over-sized chairs, though, the place feels cozy and entirely compliments the traditional menu. The food was excellent, no doubt, and so was the service. The menu is quite large and if I remember correctly consists largely of meat and fish dishes. It's a little pricey but well worth the trip in my opinion. We had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iberjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“really good!!!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

very similar to real Mexican food but wit hot sauce, service was great, they understood the menus and ingredients and great atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fjbsnr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing Food & Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great food...what else can I say? Oh...good Mojhitos too :) Ate here our last night and had to spend all our Guatemalan money so we had a nice splurge!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caren_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Interesting but a little overpriced for the food”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This place was interesting, with waiters dressed in Mayan costumes and good food. The food was overpriced and really not that great compared to other places we ate.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank WI_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kacao also viewed

Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 

Been to Kacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing