We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dos Lunas Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dos Lunas Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

My two friends and I had a great experience at Dos Lunas! The rooms were clean, the facility is nice, and Lorena and her husband are wonderful. The food they have available is also quite good. We really have no complaints except that it is a bit isolated in a (very safe!) compound in Zone 13, which was a 50Q cab ride from the excitement of Zone 10. So, if being able to come in and out throughout the day while exploring Guatemala City is a requirement, know that you will be taking many 15 min cab rides. However, it is incredibly close to the airport, which made it a great choice for us! We would definitely stay again upon arriving in Guatemala.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
32
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We got into Guatemala City very late at night, but the driver, Victor, was right on time and waiting for us. He was incredibly friendly. He worked with our poor Spanish, speaking slowly and defining words for us. He was very patient and even tried speaking some in English despite the fact that that was clearly not a strong language of his. The hostel is in a private neighborhood with a security guard, so I felt very safe. When we got to the hotel, the manager greeted us and gave us fresh drinking water. The price ended up being a couple dollars less than we were originally told. The rooms were small yet perfect for what we needed. They provided us with bedding and clean towels. When we got up at 5:00am the next day, the manager was already up making a small breakfast for us. The driver once again arrived promptly on time. He drove us to the bus station, giving us an informal tour of the city on the way there, and bought our tickets for us and made sure we were completely set before leaving. I was very impressed with this hostel, especially the friendliness of the staff, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watauga
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

They picked us up from the airport from a late evening flight and took us to the hotel (just 2 or 3 minutes away). We were barely in time to order a late evening dinner, which was also delicious. The room was clean and neat and we shared a bathroom with 2 other rooms. After a good night's sleep, we enjoyed a good, Guatemalan breakfast (free) with other clients from around the world, entertained by Lorena's husband (can't remember his name) who served us from the kitchen. It was all perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are easier to negotiate if you've got a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeBetsill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I recently had to pass through Guatemala City - my flight arrived in the early morning, but I couldn't catch my shuttle until almost midday.
Dos Lunas was perfect for getting a shower, a few hours sleep and a great breakfast.
They were really helpful.
A great place in a secure neighbourhood - perfect for the budget traveller in need of an overnight stay, or even a few hours like me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Lorena, at dos lunas is charming, delightful, warm hearted, welcoming and helpfull. making phone calls and arranging reservations for our on ward travels to Tikal. Provides a great service for the frugul traveler. Rooms are simple, clean, effiecient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fallwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you are flying out of Guatemala City airport, and must stay in Guatemala City the evening before, this is the perfect location. It is safe, the owners are friendly (and speak English) and the meals are relatively tasty. The room comes with free wi-fi, and the hotel will organise a free airport shuttle service for you - no matter what time your flight is.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan_Viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here the night before our early flight to Nicaragua and is really was excellent. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and tidy and there was a communal lounge area for chilling or catching up on emails. We didn't want to venture out into the city so were quite happy to relax for a while. The owner made us the most amazing Italian food with fresh herbs from the garden. The next morning, as promised, Victor collected us at 3.00am and took us to the airport. Great place, ideally situated for the airport,.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuking1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.6 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
#17 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#13 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adriatika Hotel Boutique
Adriatika Hotel Boutique
#12 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.9 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
Hilton Garden Inn Guatemala City
#9 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Lunas Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Lunas Airport Hotel

Property: Dos Lunas Airport Hotel
Address: 21 Calle 10-92 | Zona 13 Aurora II, Guatemala City, Guatemala (Formerly Dos Lunas)
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dos Lunas Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Lunas Airport Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing