We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A great place to stay in Guat City if you are in transit to the airport.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dos Lunas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guatemala City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dos Lunas
Save
You added Dos Lunas to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 44 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Guat City if you are in transit to the airport.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you are flying out of Guatemala City airport, and must stay in Guatemala City the evening before, this is the perfect location. It is safe, the owners are friendly (and speak English) and the meals are relatively tasty. The room comes with free wi-fi, and the hotel will organise a free airport shuttle service for you - no matter what time your flight is.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan_Viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
30
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here the night before our early flight to Nicaragua and is really was excellent. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and tidy and there was a communal lounge area for chilling or catching up on emails. We didn't want to venture out into the city so were quite happy to relax for a while. The owner made us the most amazing Italian food with fresh herbs from the garden. The next morning, as promised, Victor collected us at 3.00am and took us to the airport. Great place, ideally situated for the airport,.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuking1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

this dutch/guatemalian owned hostel cooperates wich spanish languague schools
they arange a save pick up service from the airport wich is quit good in a dangerous city like
guatemala city.. they have nice clean rooms
the breakfast is good and they arrange transport to busterminals in the city

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rasmoes k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

For the price you can't really argue. It was my first time in Guatemala on medical mission alone, so I went through the company that knows the owner of this hotel and that I would trust to get me to and from my destinations.

Dos Lunas is secluded. Nothing is around and it is not near the city. It's more like a hostel where you share bathrooms. Although, they do have rooms with private bathrooms for additional price. Keep in mind that it's August and was raining while I was there.

Cons: damped room, damped sheets and bedding, no air conditioning, stuffy (unless you sleep with the windows open; but there are no window screen), loud when other guest are in common area you can hear their conversations, food is okay, not as clean as I hoped

Pros: price, free airport shuttle, friendly staff that speaks English well, staff may also help you order pizza or McD, breakfast was decent, and they did not charge me extra when I asked for milk in my coffee (which is additional everywhere else I visited), it's a great place to stay if you are not a picky person and just need a bed before or immediately after a flight, Victor was wonderful

After I became comfortable in Guatemala alone, on the way back I decided to splurge and stayed at a different hotel that was nice, dry, air conditioned and also provided airport shuttle for free.

Room Tip: Private bathrooms are available and worth it. The take US dollars and you should get your Quetzal a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Having visited Guatemala a number of times I wanted to post a review of Dos Lunas which is definitely my favourite place to stay in Guatemala City. Lorena and Hank who run the hotel are brilliant and speak perfect English. They are always happy to help and answer any questions that you might have. They will also arrange for you to be picked up from the airport / taken to the airport which is not that far away - 5 mins drive.

Dos Lunas is clean and tidy. Beds (including pillows! ) are really comfy - a bit of a rarity in Guatemala to have comfortable pillows. There are some rooms with en suite and others with shared bathroom.

As far as food goes, breakfast is provided which is yummy and has lots of choice. They also do other meals if you need to - you can order them, or lorena will happily call up a take - out place who will deliver food to you (including McDonalds!).
Definitely a great place to stay when arriving or leaving from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rolanda_hooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband, daughter (12 years old) and I had the great fortune of reading about this hotel here and are so happy we followed other's advice.... stay here upon entering and leaving Guatemala!! To see Victor at the airport at 9pm after a long day of flying and to know that we were safely in his hands to get to the hotel... was simply put " a fantastic beginning to our trip". Lorena and her husband Henk made us feel at home right away. My daughter enjoyed her first Guatemallan breakfast and experience talking to other backpackers/guests here. She loved her cookies for breakfast and Lorena's beans are top-notch as well. They provide drinking water as well (great for a first nite) and onward transportation. All the necessities you need to begin and unfortunately end a trip. When we returned, it felt like returning home and made our departure less painful. They are a fantastic and warm couple who will make you want to return to Guatemala. (PS. We had dinner next door and it was amazing! ) They make everything so easy for you.... Thank you Lorena and Henk for a fantastic stay. If you are a family or not (and are arriving and need to do a stay in Guat city) this is your best choice!
Cheryl, Chris and Jade

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The lady (Lorena) that runs this place is amazing. The included breakfast is delicious. The only thing is that you have to take a taxi to the center of town, however the hotel is located in a very safe area close to the airport. Free airport transfer is included. Dos lunas feels like home

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunbi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
Crowne Plaza Guatemala
#12 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
1.6 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
4.2 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#10 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#11 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
3.2 mi away
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
Hotel Vista Real Guatemala
#1 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Lunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Lunas

Property: Dos Lunas
Address: 21 Calle 10-92 | Zona 13 Aurora II, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Dos Lunas Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing