We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean rooms and an affordable hotel”
Review of Dai Nonni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dai Nonni Hotel
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I arrived late at Aurora airport in Guatemala City and there was a taxi driver waiting for me that the hotel management had offered me in advance. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The rooms were spotlessly clean. You feel safe in this place in a city plagued with crime. This is the first place where you come across the Guatemalan hospitality.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank PedroMSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abuelitos, Gerente at Dai Nonni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado PedroMSanchez:

Agradecemos y valoramos su tiempo dedicado a escribir una critica a través de Tripadvisor..
Ha sido un gusto para nosotros tenerlo como huésped y esperamos tener la oportunidad de servirle nuevamente en un futuro no muy lejano.
Reciba un atento saludo de todo el personal del hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 202 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Probably a good choice if you're heading to the airport and can sleep through aircraft noise (which i can) but otherwise avoid.

600Q for a half decent room, stone cold scrambled eggs in the morning and sadly, rude and unhelpful staff.

I was unsure if I would need a 2nd night and didn't find out until just after check out time (12) that my bus departed the city at 10pm so needed the room until around 7pm. I was of course prepared to pay for a late check out. Apparently by 12:15 I had forfeited the late check out option and was offered the garden to sit in for 7 hours or they would gladly offer me the room for the day but for the full room rate!!!!! Thieves! After an hour of trying to work out my options I decided to leave. On my way out I was offered a slight discount on the room. Too little too late.

Naturally they are running a business and I would never expect freebies. But considering I had just spent the night with them and the hotel was completely empty I would've thought they would've shown a little hospitality and offered me a room for a few hours at a discount.

Staff are rude, nonchalant and didn't seem to care at all. One of them even pointed to the trip advisor certificate on the wall and smiled. How they earned that I do not know.

Will never go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossco79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abuelitos, Gerente at Dai Nonni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013
Google Translation

Apreciado Rossco 79:

Hemos leído su singular comentario y le damos las gracias por el tiempo dedicado a escribirlo.
Sabemos que todo depende del punto de vista de cada persona y nuestra versión de lo sucedido difiera absolutamente de la suya, porque no se puede volver a entregar una habitación después de que hayan retirado el equipaje, pasada la hora del chek-out y haberla limpiado para el cliente que entraría unas horas después.
Sentimos no haber llenado sus expectativas, porque hicimos lo mejor que pudimos ofreciéndole el área social que incluye la sala, jardín-patio, wi-Fi, y lamentamos no haber podido regalarle su estadía por unas horas mas en una habitación, pues pronto empezarían a llegar los clientes que pasarían la noche en Dai Nonni Hotel.
Para nosotros fue un gusto guardarle su equipaje en forma segura, cuando lo entregó al personal de turno, para que usted pudiera realizar con mas comodidad y tranquilidad sus diligencias.
Muchas gracias por haber estado con nosotros, valoramos su preferencia.
Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Dai Nonni is close to the airport but in a nice area, easy walking distance to ice cream shops and restaurants. The street is short, quiet, and safe.

The owner and all the staff are kind, helpful, and welcoming.

Everything is clean and orderly. The only negative is that the beds are stiff.

The taxi to the airport was $3.50. The hotel has a company it works with and they will arrange it for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abuelitos, Gerente at Dai Nonni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Appreciated Darren C

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Dai Nonni Hotel through Tripadvisor

The staff appreciates your visit and your kind words motivate us to work with more encouragement. We are sorry that the bed is not to your liking, the mattresses are new and orthopedic consider to be the more suitable for a good rest.

We hope you visit us on your next trip to our beautiful country, Dai Nonni's home in Guatemala.

Regards.

Fulvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had just been in Lake Atitlan. We needed somewhere near the airport. The people were very pleasant. The breakfast was on time and presented pleasantly by Teresa and Tanya. Their boss should be very proud of their kind and helpful attitude- they are a credit to the hotel. Norma one of the management staff was also very polite and was very quick to assist. Her English was good The price was very good for a capital city and it was good for an airport area hotel. They ordered dinner for us by phone. I would recommend this hotel. The room we had contained a kitchen. If you beed air con they provide a very modern and effective portable cooler; but you will probably not need it- we just happened to be there during unusually hot weather.
A couple of shopping malls are near- one with cinemas. At the end of the street is Century Plaza with one restaurant, several hair stylists and a wonderful New Age shop called Museo; some books are in English. In the same mall look for Guates, where Ligia sells really interesting knick-knacks and unusual souvenir shirts we had not seen anywhere else in Guatemala- the staff, Ligia Cazali and husband WERE VERY KIND. Senor Cazali even left the mall to make sure we got to our next destination correctly.
Back to the hotel: I recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senorsolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abuelitos, Gerente at Dai Nonni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

senorsolomon appreciated:

The Dai Nonni Hotel staff greets you and welcomes your comments through Tripadvisor.

We greatly value your opinion and help us try to improve in all aspects of the hotel. We are very happy to have met and look forward to the opportunity to serve again. Here is your home in Guatemala.

A hug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a great place to stay when in need of a hotel near the airport. The owners go out of their way to be hospitable and make sure you have everything you need. The included breakfast is served in their cheerful courtyard whenever you are ready. The whole property is cool, calm and clean. Wifi is available in the rooms and coffee is available whenever you want it. Anytime we need a hotel coming and going out of Guatemala City, this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: I would avoid room #1. It is at the front of the hotel and it is almost impossible to block out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnieC923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abuelitos, Gerente at Dai Nonni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013
Google Translation

Apreciada Connie C:

En Dai Nonni Hotel estamos muy contentas por su alegre y motivador comentario. Valoramos su tiempo dedicado a escribir su amable crìtica.

Dai Nonni Hotel es su casa en Guatemala. Esperamos verlos pronto.

Saludos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the last stop for us after a long trip that included a 4 day mountain bike race. We were so grateful to have stumbled upon it, as it offered the tranquility and peace we so desperately needed! Service was fantastic, price was better than we had hoped to find, and the close proximity to airport made our departure morning a breeze. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogini1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abuelitos, Gerente at Dai Nonni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear yogini1 a:

In Dai Nonni Hotel are happy to know that they were well attended and found peace they need in our hotel.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind comments on TripAdvisor and we hope you visit us again.

Regards!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here just one night since we had a 12-hour stopover in Guatemala city. The hotel is very close to the airport - about 5-10 minutes in taxi. The service was outstanding; they arranged for our airport pickup and even prepared a box lunch to take with us since we had to leave before breakfast to catch our flight.

Rooms were basic but had all the necessities and were spotlessly clean. Great value and convenience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abuelitos, Gerente at Dai Nonni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013
Google Translation

Estimada Rachel:
Para nosotros es un gusto recibir comentarios como este. Sobre todo que desde su llegada se sintió bien atendida. Estamos muy contentos que su estadía haya sido muy agradable y esperamos que nos visite nuevamente.
Saludos,

Fulvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#4 of 49 in Guatemala City
1,649 reviews
3.1 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#16 of 49 in Guatemala City
311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
#13 of 49 in Guatemala City
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#37 of 49 in Guatemala City
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santander Plaza Hotel
Santander Plaza Hotel
#23 of 49 in Guatemala City
50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#12 of 49 in Guatemala City
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dai Nonni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dai Nonni Hotel

Address: 15 Av. "A" 5-30, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range: $60 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dai Nonni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The decoration with mahogany, cedar and pine offers our guests a cozy atmosphere, warm and quiet together with personalized service and style ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Dai Nonni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dai Nonni Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing