We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay”
Review of Dai Nonni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dai Nonni Hotel
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This wonderful B&B is an oasis among the hustle and bustle of Guatemala City. The rooms are very large, comfortable, clean and no bugs! The staff will treat you like family. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    55
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
71
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Dai Nonni offers everything I hope for in a hotel: it is clean, comfortable, quiet, affordable and in an excellent location!! I felt safe and totally comfortable. Also, the staff is friendly and attentive. Our room was spacious, with a high ceiling, large closet, desk, and plenty of space to move around in; beds firm. The bathroom was sparkling with a deep tile tub, hot shower, plenty of counter space. Wifi with strong signal even in the room. There are dining areas both inside and in a covered patio-garden out back. The coffee is excellent. We were offered dinner - a delicious Guatemalan plato típico - and we were totally glad that we decided to "eat in". Vilma was patient and helpful with our many questions about how to get around the city, and we discovered that a 2-block walk put us right on the main boulevard dividing zones 9 and 10: thus it was a perfect location from which to go out exploring on foot. The staff arranged for our early-morning transport to the airport and we were there within 15 minutes tops. I recommend the Dai Nonni without reservation and I can say that we will certainly stay there again whenever we have the chance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Dai Nonni for just over a month, doing archival research in Guatemala City. The location in Zona 13 is close to the airport and only a 15 minute taxi ride (roughly $5) into Zona 1. Zona 13 is very safe and slightly residential.

My room was extremely clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The bathroom was spotless. My room was separated from the main house and included a mini fridge and microwave, giving me more privacy and self-sufficiency on a long stay. I believe it's the only room (out of 7) with the fridge and microwave, but there is a communal microwave for all guests in the kitchen area. The entire hotel is equipped with wifi and it's pretty fast and they also have a computer for guests to use if you don't have your own. I needed to use their printer a few times, which they allowed, but I don't think they technically offer a business center. There's a fax machine on site that they'd probably let you use if you ask them. There's TV with plenty of channels and a safe in each room.

Comfortable lounging spots and an open air dining room overlook a beautifully kept garden. The hotel is steps from many restaurants, but most are fast food. If you want to head to Zona 10 for fancy eating, it's minutes away by cab. Breakfast is included, with 2 options, both of which are very tasty. They also offer dinner for $5. The nightly menu was always different, always good, and always had more food than I could eat.

The staff were extremely helpful, friendly, and welcoming. Couldn't have asked for more.

Because I was staying for over a month, I got a discounted rate on my room that was even lower than the rates list on their website. Definitely email to ask for prices. In fact, I paid less for this place than I would have for a private room in a not-terrible youth hostel in Zona 1 without any of the extras like wifi, breakfast, or a safe. Again, that's because I was here for a month. If you're only in town for a week or less, it'll be more expensive, but still very much worth the price.

The only drawback was that the neighbourhood gets very noisy on Friday and Saturday nights. I think the hotel is close to a nightclub. It didn't go on too long into the evening, and perhaps it was only loud because my room was in the back and not the main house.

I will definitely be coming back for another extended stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room 7 if you want the mini fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrangeLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The young lady operating this little inn couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, despite some language barriers. Breakfast in the courtyard was very pleasant. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Convenient to the airport. On Sundays, you can walk in the nearby avenue, which is closed to traffic, along with hundreds of locals.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MACventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Dai Nonni Hotel is in a large single story contemporary residential structure which has been tastefully modified to provide a few very spacious guest rooms and public rooms. The ambiance of the hotel retains the intimacy and the qualities of a tasteful, simply, but very nicely appointed home. The small staff is itself like a family, dedicated to insuring the comfort and well being of their guests. At every moment I felt that the staff was caring for my needs as if I was a guest in their home, but at no time was this intrusive. Breakfast in the outdoor garden is a special treat. The location is on a quiet side street, but there are several nice, modestly-priced restaurants nearby within comfortable walking distance. Being a guest in Dai Nonni was like being in a quiet, safe, clean and comfortable home away from home. I'm so happy I found Dai Nonni and it will be my home whenever I am in Guatemala City.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We selected this hotel because we were looking for clean, comfortable and cozy hotels during our trip that were typical Guatemalan in style and personality. Dai Nonni (a home converted to a hotel or B&B) did not disappoint. I set up everything online and communications were prompt and professional. We arrived somewhat late and were greeted at the gate and everything went well from there.

Management of the hotel is excellent and professional with spotlessly clean rooms and thoughtful arrangement of common spaces for relaxing, web surfing, cooking your own food, etc.. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Styling is elegant as is the breakfast. There is a nearby park and shopping center.

I rated "sleep quality" 3 out of 5 stars because proximity to the airport (which is what we wanted) made the takeoffs and landings somewhat loud. However, I wear earplugs when staying in hotels in Latin America so it was not a problem for me. Also, the beds were a bit hard but not terribly uncomfortable.

All-in-all, a great choice and we would gladly return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clemshirlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We arrived late at night, after dark, and had a little trouble finding the place in our rental car, but when we did we were welcomed in, and went right to bed. The hosts were accommodating. The Internet worked great. Breakfast was excellent, and so was the price. We'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella
#17 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala
Clarion Suites Guatemala
#8 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#6 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
Mercure Casa Veranda Guatemala
#9 of 47 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#35 of 47 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dai Nonni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dai Nonni Hotel

Property: Dai Nonni Hotel
Address: 15 Av. "A" 5-30, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#6 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dai Nonni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The decoration with mahogany, cedar and pine offers our guests a cozy atmosphere, warm and quiet together with personalized service and style ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Dai Nonni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dai Nonni Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing