We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cold shower, claustrophobic room!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Santorini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Santorini
Ranked #18 of 52 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cold shower, claustrophobic room!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

First, let me say that the staff here are wonderful. They let me arrive very early in the day and since my flight left early the next morning, they let me eat my free breakfast (yummy!) for dinner that night. The reason I chose to stay here was the free taxi to the airport, which is literally 2 minutes away.

But I was really disappointed by the freezing cold shower and the size of my room (see the picture, it was basically a bed in a closet with a tiny window). For the price (not cheap for Guate), I would expect a decent-sized room and a hot shower. During the day, everything was under construction so there was a lot of noise on their rooftop patio. The wireless internet was also broken.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsantorini, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Santorini, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Google Translation
WRONG COMENT, esta es una persona que se hospedo en HOSTAL CAFÉ CITY, no en hotel casa santorini, fue ingresada a el hotel por uno de los freelance del aeropuerto, que son vendedores independientes que trabajan en la calle afuera del Aeropuerto , quienes no portan gafete o identificación de nuestro Hospedaje, ya que trabajan por su cuenta (free lance) ellos tratan de ganar clientes y dinero como propinas vendiendo servicios o información a los turistas de renta de autos, tours, shuttles y hoteles, etc… este free lance le ofreció al cliente una habitación económica de $15.00 p/noche en HOSTAL CAFE CITY que esta en el segundo nivel del hotel casa Santorini; porque el cliente deseaba hospedarse cerca del aeropuerto, para nuestra sorpresa este vendedor se presento sin reservación dejando al cliente y su maleta en la entrada sobre la calle de nuestras instalaciones , como al rededor de las 9pm, le recibió una propina del cliente me indico que el cliente era para el hostal de $15.00 e inmediatamente se retiro, yo le recuerdo bien porque YO le recibí esa noche, siendo yo el gerente del hotel Casa Santorini y Hostal café City, notando que la Señora se le veía cansada yo me ofrecí a subir su maleta al hostal y al mostrarle las cabinas con bunk beds, que tiene el hostal del precio acordado con su free lance, el cliente respondió alterada acusándonos de mentirle porque esto no es lo que le había ofrecido el vendedor en el aeropuerto , ( Free lance ) y exigió que yo le llevara de inmediato de regreso al aeropuerto, accedimos a llamar a este free lance de nombre Victor quien tiene su propio transporte pero el no contesto su celular, por lo que yo le explique al cliente con todo respeto que esta persona que le trajo al hotel no es nuestro empleado, que es un freelance independiente y que si el cliente quería podíamos llamarle un taxi que tiene un costo de aprox $3.00 para que la llevara de regreso al Aeropuerto o que también podía ofrecerle otro tipo de hospedaje en el HOTEL CASA SANTORINI que esta en el primer nivel con habitaciones y baño privado que tienen un valor de $42.oo y el cliente se molesto acusándonos que estábamos tratando de engañarle, que esto era estafarla, le volví a explicar que los vendedores (free lance) del Aeropuerto algunas veces se conforman con recibir una propina y que nosotros solo podíamos ofrecerle esas dos únicas opciones, por razones de precio así se determina el tipo de habitación, el cliente me dijo que no estaba dispuesta a pagar más; adicional le mostré nuestros anuncios publicados en la revista revue; www.revue.com, para que ella observara personalmente nuestros precios publicados y que no estábamos ocultándole nada; el cliente contesto que no podía pagar más, llamamos a nuestros socios para que me autorizaran una tarifa especial para hospedarle en el hotel Casa Santorini; que tiene habitaciones con camas matrimoniales y baño privado, y accedieron a rebajar la tarifa hasta $35.00 , el cliente contesto otra vez, que no quería pagar más, quería una cama por $15 como le había ofrecido el free lance, pero no una litera, nosotros en el caos de una situación asi, y observando su frustacion, accedimos a trabajar arduamente en Hostal Café CITY para quitar la cama bunk bed y subir desde el primer nivel una matrimonial que amablemente nos prestaron del HOTEL CASA SANTORINI, para darle mayor comodidad al cliente y un mejor servicio, es decir, una habitación Small Cabin del hostal CAFÉ CITY con la comodidad de una cama matrimonial que nos fue prestada del HOTEL CASA SANTORINI, obviamente el espacio quedo reducido, ahora para nuestra gran sorpresa encontramos el grave comentario con fotografía enormemente negativo describiendo habitaciones claustrofóbicas, en HOTEL CASA SANTORINI, después de todas las atenciones y tiempo que nos tomo complacerle ; favor recuerde que su hospedaje fue en HOSTAL CAFÉ CITY, en una pequeña cabina con baño compartido y con espacio para camas individuales, pagando $15 us. Como usted lo deseaba.
Las duchas en Hostal Cafe city a las que se refiere con agua fría, funcionan perfectamente, el sistema requiere que usted no habrá toda la llave, al contrario como en países de EEUU o Europa, para lograr la máxima temperatura en esta ducha debe abrir solamente un poco el flujo de agua, 4 litos por minuto, si usted habre mas la llave, esta ducha no logra calentar el agua y sale fria, es una ducha tipo lorenzeti eléctrica;
Mucho Agradeceríamos su consideración sobre su comentario en Trip Advisor, para que nuestros clientes sigan confiando en nosotros y solicitando nuestros servicios.
Con los mejores deseos.
Jorge Andrino
Gerente General
HOTEL CASA SANTORINI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
8
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

This is your classic backpacker hostel, but I still recommend it. Great location, reliable service and kept clean.

I did have a problem with the internet connection. They said they have wireless, but I could not get the security key. Nobody there even knew that they had a wireless connection in-house! In fact, I don't even think anyone there even knew what a wireless connection was. They kept referring me back to the hard-wired terminals.

But that is because I was there doing work. If you are traveling around, you don't want to waste your time goofing around on the internet anyway.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sector18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

The manager Jorge was welcoming and accommodating. Celeste, who helps out, is a sweet heart! I would highly recommend this hostel/hotel to anyone, especially to women traveling alone. I feel safe here. It's clean-for Guatemala - and I'm a clean freak! The top patio has a fantastic view and free wifi throughout which is necessary for my line of work. P>S> I took photos of the premises for their website (I am a pro photographer), eventually they might make it online ;)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

George the owner is a lovely guy who will look after his guests with a big smile, and is always happy to go the extra mile to make sure everyone has a good stay. For example'he will pick you up from the airport if you ask, which is very helpful at no extra charge. The hostel is gorgeous with good views of the volcanos from the roof terrace which is a lovely place to hang out and chill in the hammocks or enjoy a peacful morning coffee. The hotel is airy and clean, and the matresses are very comfortable, with lovely decoration.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

Staying in Zona 13 is nice when you need to catch an early flight, as this is literally where the airport is. There's nothing else but residences there, and it's difficult finding a place to eat.
About the place itself, it's a house, run by Jorge, the owner, and his mother. The owner will therefore look after you personally, always check if everything is in order and so on. It has nice cable TV for those who speak Spanish or English (a few other foreign channels), I didn't see aircon but I was there in the Winter, not sure if the capital gets as hot as to need it during the Summer. Internet is fast on the ground floor PC, but if you need wifi, it won't reach your bedroom as the modem is located near the entrance. In general, nice place but prices need to go down if he worries about the competition.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexthecarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le havre
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

if you´re looking for something cheap, clean, with a lot of facilities and a friendly staff, this is the place. there is a nice roof top with hammocks and a kitchen where you can cook and eat with a stunning vue on the volcano. you have access to internet for free as much as you want and the breakfast including is ilimited. Jorge the owner is more than helpfull and happy to help you and make you feel more like friend in his house than a simple guest. there is also a big living room with tv cable and some fresh beers for free if you´re thirsty. it might be also surprising but even at 5 min walking from the airport, we didn´t feel that we needed to move to find an hotel more central, you´ve got little shops around to buy food and the area seems to be pretty secure.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tibino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is a great place that can accomodate the solo budget traveller to the large family. They have many room options, and its location within walking distance of the airport is convenient for flying, and getting to Antigua and western Guatemala easily. It is also near the airport, and can arrange transfers to other parts of the city. The place is very clean, has great hospitality, and can answer all your travel questions in English or Spanish.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superphee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Guatemala City
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#14 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conquistador Hotel & Conference Center
Conquistador Hotel & Conference ...
#39 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#40 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.8 mi away
Real InterContinental Guatemala
Real InterContinental Guatemala
#1 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
1.9 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#3 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Santorini

Property: Hotel Casa Santorini
Address: Av A 7 | 17-17 Zona 13 Colonia Aurora 1, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Santorini is conveniently located 1 minute from the International Airport, and belongs to the concept of B&B´s in town. We accommodate travellers who are searching for a restful sleep on a convenient budget, highly recommended for travellers visiting Guatemala city, Relax and enjoy in one of our private rooms for 1,2 or 3 persons. Total capacity15 people, Staying in Hotel Casa Santorini you can expect hot water, WiFi, a common resting area, cable TV, videos, internet, fax¬-copy services, an open roof terrace with hammocks and great views, a restaurant area serving ¨mom’s¨cuisine. This is a familiar place with a real cozy atmosphere in safe area. We are happy to help you with any travel needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Casa Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Santorini Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing