We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rey Sol

Rey Sol
Ranked #399 of 514 Restaurants in Guatemala City
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I visit this restaurant near 6ta avenida, a legendary place. Well im not so sure why did i choose this restaurant, well the "meet" was not real met is something called "protemas" in other words not real meat because this is a vegeterian restaurant, they serve this "refrescos" or in english "juice" i just hate those, anyways mmm the atmosphere kind of quiet, i prefere the second floor, looks nicer. Well i wont visit them again. But if you like vegeterian food you should visit them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Laparra01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio Palopo, Guatemala
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Real veggie food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This felt like a good veggie restaurant in Seattle but it was in Guat. Good central location, very nice inside, clean, great choices, reasonable prices.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Felipe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Spent two weeks in Guatemala City for work and was delighted to be near to this delicious restaurant. The staff at Rey Sol is extremely friendly and knowledgeable, the daily buffet is sure to satisfy any vegetarian's eating interests. Also, they have a sizable sandwich menu and their bakery prepares delicious wholegrain cookies, breads, pies, empanadas, and cakes. If you are a vegetarian in Guatemala City do not miss out on this very special place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I want to like Rey Sol, I really do...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

I've now visited Rey Sol twice. They get extra points in my book just for being a vegetarian restaurant.

You have the option here of selecting from the buffet or ordering off the menu. The vegan choices in the buffet are limited to about 1/3 of the items. The vegetables and tofu were pretty tasty.

When ordering off the menu, I chose the Adobo sandwich made with seitan. The sauce was good and the bread was excellent, but the seitan was gummy and chewy.

I'll probably come back and try some other items because I want to support vegetarian restaurants and I'd really like to find a reason to say I really like this place...but I haven't found it yet.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Traci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rey Sol also viewed

Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 

Been to Rey Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing