We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, safe & colorful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Guatefriend's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Guatefriend's
Ranked #5 of 49 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Convenient, safe & colorful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a great package if you need to stay near the airport. The owner is very friendly. She even ordered take out for us when she found out we had been on a bus all day. The price included pick-up from the bus station, the room and a ride to the airport. Very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rkingmusic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    23
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
19
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had big problems finding our other hostel we booked in advanced. After more than an our we asked at Guatefriends for help. Rutt was very friendly and helped us by calling the other hostel for us in spanish. After it didn't work out with the other hostel, we came back to Guatefriends for one night. Everything was just perfect. Nice, clean room, hot showers, tv and Rutt gave us a free lift to the airport at 5 a.m. (!!!). We can highly recommand this hostel for only one night stay to get your flight or for a longer stay as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UnicaVivencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Liberta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Softest most comfortable bed I've slept in, super clean, Ruth is super kind, and I liked the availability of everything. Great hostel but the gourmet feast no longer exists. Still great hostel choice but don't expect those kinds of breakfasts. Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rooseM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I lived in Guatemala for 2 years, and any time I needed or wanted to stay near to the airport (closer than Antigua) this was the place. Joe and Ana are spectacular. They pick you up on a whim, bend over backwards to suite your needs, make delicious food, and maintain an air of happy relaxation. My girlfriend and I wanted to go to an orchid show - he said, "so do I, let's go". Turns out, Joe studied orchids and other tropical plants in Florida, is an excellent photographer, and has some 20 or 30 species at the Inn - among other plants. Another night we missed our plane and needed a doctor's note so Delta didn't charge us for rebooking. Ana knew an excellent doctor who was able to meet us that next morning and save our entire trip! Thank you so much! Fantastic service at a fair price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Me and Marianna we two lost english girls scared for our lives in guatamala city one september when joe kindly took us in (we were pretty poor) cooked us dinner and introduced us to anna and his children who were wonderful. We were cooked great dinners every night (with yummy dessert), interesting conversation and an overall brilliant experience we're still talking about two years later! We had promised we'd leave a review but until this time haven't got round to it, but drinking wine together and reminiscing we were overcome by guilt! Hope your family is well! (ps we stayed in 2010 but it wouldnt let us put that far back on this!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Guatefriend's is a great place. It is clean, showers are warm, it is safe and the host went out of her way to make us feel comfortable. If you need a place to stay in Guatemala and you are an American you will be pleasantly accommodated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Guatefriends is a great starting point for Guatemala. It's very warm, safe and clean, with hot showers, and Joe and Anna go out of their way to ensure your safety. This is more important in Guatemala than most parts of Central America in my opinion. Make sure you use their pickup and dropoff service - not only will you be scammed by the taxis otherwise (which is irritating but harmless), they will drive you all around some of the least safe parts of the city and ask unsavoury characters for "directions" before reaching your destination. Joe is a good cook who does exotic dishes, but I have a fairly bland palate due to some complex health issues, so I wound up eating out.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#5 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guatemala
Holiday Inn Guatemala
#16 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#22 of 46 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
Grand Tikal Futura Hotel
#3 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#12 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
3.7 mi away
Posada Belen Museo Inn
Posada Belen Museo Inn
#11 of 46 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Guatefriend's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Guatefriend's

Property: Hostal Guatefriend's
Address: 16 Calle 7-40 Zona 13, Aurora 1, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Guatefriend's 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Hostal Guatefriends Bed&Breakfast esta a 1 minuto del Aeropuerto Internacional la Aurora en automovil. Tranporte esta incluido en la tarifa. Guatefriends es un ejemplo perfecto de ambiente tradicional guatemalteco junto con el estilo de Guatemala moderna, excelentes comidas y servicio al cliente sin igual. Nuestro Bed and Breakfast es propiedad familiar y está situado en una de las zonas más seguras de la ciudad de Guatemala. Nuestras habitaciones son cómodas y acogedoras. Ofrecemos cuatro opciones de acuerdo a sus preferencias personales: habitaciones triples, individuales, dobles compartidas. Mientras que nuestro invitado, su estancia incluirá las comodidades del hogar con agua caliente (siempre tenemos agua caliente !!!), toallas personales y ropa de cama que se cambian cada día. También proporcionamos almuerzos y cenas, que es inaudito en el B & B / hostales en Guatemala. El desayuno está incluido y se proporciona de 7am - las 10AM. café orgánico se sirven durante todo el día. Guatefriends también da consejos de viaje y puede hacer reservas para viajes para nuestros clientes. Contamos con Wifi gratuito. Trabajamos únicamente con INGUAT (Oficina Nacional de Turismo de Guatemala) aprobamos empresas de excursiones privadas que lo recogerá de Guatefriends B & B y traer de vuelta cuando el viaje ha terminado. (Algunos de los tours incluyen excursiones de un día a los volcanes, y las ciudades de Panajachel, San Pedro, La Antigua y Chichicastenango. Tours también están a disposición de las ruinas mayas de Tikal, Petén, Cobán, Quetzaltenango, Monterrico, Retaluleu y muchos otros destinos emocionantes.) Guatefriends Bed&Breakfast al estilo tradicional y la amistad se compromete a hacerte parte de la familia guatemalteca y le invita a quedarse con nosotros en cualquier momento que visite nuestro gran país. Aceptamos Visa, Master Card, American Express, diners club internacional, jcb, dólares americanos, y quetzales (moneda Guatemala). Viajar a Ciudad de Guatemala con nuestros paquetes de B & B: Nuestras tarifas incluyen: Menú completo desayuno WIFI GRATIS Transporte gratuito desde y hacia el Aeropuerto Internacional La Aurora Otros servicios: Servicio de lavandería (Interno) El servicio de taxi económico (interno) El servicio de taxi privado (Interno) Servicio de traslado todos los días y Excursiones (Interno) Tours Privados (Interno) Impuestos no incluidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Guatefriend's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Guatefriend's Guatemala/Guatemala City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing