We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good news but...”
Review of Posada El Arco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chichicastenango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada El Arco
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews, but this was the least-favourite place we stayed in Guatemala. Much of what the reviews said is correct: Pedro is very nice and speaks excellent English, the flowery courtyard is pretty, and the rooms are clean and bathrooms fine. But I really disliked our room, though I´m sure that others would not agree with me. It was, indeed, large, but really unattractive. Although there were cheerful Guatemalan bed covers and headboards, all the other pieces of furniture in the room were positively battered Salvation Army rejects. The lamps were positively kitch, with Guatemalan carved animals complete with lampshades. Unfortunately, the colourful bed covers clashed horribly with the pinkish terrazo tile floor. Worst was the fact that the room was dingy and the windows had obscure glass. As it was cold out, we couldn´t even open them to enjoy the view. Unfortunakey Chichi has almost no middle-range hotels, but this was the only case where we wished we´d opted for one of the two top hotels, which were both lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Judyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Posada El Arco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 66 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2008

Went to the property after talking to a local couple who recommended we go there. I was traveling with my husband and two teenagers. The owner is very nice, speaks english, and the home is clean. It does not look like a hotel but a house that has been remodeled. WE did not have a balcony and i think if you can request one it is much better - especially if you have older children. The rooms are decently sized and clean, but no tvs, etc. THere is a fireplace and you can have a fire if you want for a small cost of wood. It is also very central to the market without the noise factor. The owner has a private parking spot which is essentially, i think - the streets are very narrow and i'm not convinced it is safe to park outside - or possible if you have a bigger vehicle. The is bottled water outside the rooms, but no food on property.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desertmidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

The hotel is about four blocks from the main square, where the market is held. It's a bit nondescript from the outside but once inside, the hotel is bigger than it looks. The rooms are large and decorated with local artefacts and there's a small garden at the back (ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the garden if possible). It's within easy walking distance of various restaurants and bars, and also buses to Lake Atitlan. We weren't offered a front door key so had to ring the bell and wait every time we went back to the hotel - generally not a problem, but a couple of times we had to wait a while to be let in.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2007

Stayed at the hotel with a group that took all seven rooms. I was able to walk into most of the rooms. The hotel is very clean, and quiet. Some rooms have fireplaces which are very welcome, as nights can get chilly in the winter evening, and none of the rooms appeared to have heaters. Pedro kindly waits in the evening to see if you want your fireplace lit. Pedro grinds amazing peanut butter, and roasts coffee beans for sale [not sampled].

The bathrooms are clean, with a seemingly endless supply of VERY hot water, albeit with stingy water saving showerheads. The toilets are able to handle flushed TP, a rarity in Guatemala.

The center courtyard is beautiful with various flowers [see pictures posted]. The front door is locked at all times, and you ring a bell to call Pedro or his son to let you in.

GPS
N 14 deg, 56', 41.13"
W 91 deg, 6', 39.25"

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 82nd_Airborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2006

I was part of a short term mission trip to ChiChi and we were blessed to stay at El Arco. Pedro and his wife made us very comfortable and took wonderful care of us. Pedro had fresh roasted coffee waiting for us every morning and homemade peanut butter upon request. He spent mornings before we left for the day with us and would converse and give us helpful information. The rooms were spacious and the hot water was abundant. I especially loved the balcony on the second floor. Two of the rooms, including mine, opened onto this balcony with a view of the city. What a way to start the day!

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uscgdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

We (two of us) stayed in Posade el Arco July 29, 2006, the Saturday before the Sunday market. We had a room upstairs...extra large room with a woodburning fireplace, two beds, hardwood floors, decent sized bathroom with a huge shower. Room opened out onto a deck. Furnished and decorated simply, but nicely for the area. All was clean. Hotel in a nice and quiet location, which is very important, given the size of the market. After spending time at the market, being followed everywhere by children and adults who keep trying to sell items, it is nice to be able to "escape" up the stairs to a quiet hotel. We paid a total of $25. Great value. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sfcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, California
15
Reviewed March 8, 2006

I found the service to be excellent, the availability of fresh popcorn to snack on, beer to quench the thirst and fresh ground home made p-nut butter and home roasted coffee to be nice touches. The owner, Pedro is an excellent Innkeeper who's English is excellent. The hotel also uses solar heat for their abundant hot water.

Our room was spacious, the bed firm, the bath and living area spotless. It was a quiet room and for the price ($25) this is an excellent bargain. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the market place and there are many fine restaurants near by.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichicastenango
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Mayan Inn
Hotel Museo Mayan Inn
#1 of 6 in Chichicastenango
241 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
795 reviews
16.0 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
287 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
252 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Rey K"ich"e
Hotel Rey K"ich"e
#2 of 3 in Santa Cruz del Quiche
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Arco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Arco

Address: Calle 4-36 4, Chichicastenango 14006, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > El Quiche Department > Chichicastenango
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chichicastenan...
Price Range: $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Posada El Arco Chichicastenango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing