We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Chalet
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Museo Mayan Inn(Chichicastenango)
$113
$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Atitlan(Panajachel)
$175
$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$65
$63
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel(Panajachel)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santo Tomas Hotel(Chichicastenango)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
29
24
15
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
24
15
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop patiofriendly placemarket stallschichi marketclean roomsmanueltransportationpanathursdayclotheschurch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 78 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Hotel Chalet - House in Chichicastenango, Guatemala.
Reviewer- Bob and Carole from Northern Wisconsin USA.
Very nice! Very clean! Very friendly. The steet it is on is very quiet even though it is close to the busy markets. Rooms are bright and cheerful. Beds are first rate. Owner Manuel is friendly and very helpful with guidence and suggestions on where to eat and what to see. He speaks pretty good english. He offers a light breakfast with homemade rolls, jam, juice and coffee. The top floor is a private deck with tables, chairs and hammocks...a great place to hangout in late afternoon. After leaving town, we actually came back for another stay. Quite reasonable rates also.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank knops2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Great little hotel for the money! Very clean, nicely decorated with local weavings and "typica". Rooms are small but useable. Bathroom small but plenty of hot water. "Matrimonial" size bed was queen size. The hotel is a large house so it has more of a "bed & breakfast" type feel and very friendly. The owner Manuel was extremly helpful and friendly. Even though it is a small hotel it is well know in town and finding it was no problem. Close to the market and Hotel San Tomas but off the main streets in a nice neighborhood so it is relatively quiet. We would stay there again definitly.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank eugenio56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We stayed for one night prior to attending the Sunday market festivities. We paid $25.00 including tax for a room with a double bed and private bath. The room was nicely decorated (no TV though) and clean, but small. Too small in fact for two people to be comfortable.

The owner was extremely helpful and kind - he lives with his family on the second floor while the rooms are on the first and third floors. The first floor has a common area/kitchen available for guests. The owner can help you make travel arrangements onward from Chichi.

The hotel is just a few short blocks away from the town square/market. The Chalet House is the perfect place for a solo traveller, its homey and secure atmosphere would suit most women traveling on their own.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank green_stripes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2005

The rooms at Hotel Chalet are small but spotless, beds are firm and comfortable, bathrooms tiny but modern, and the hosts are extremely friendly and accomodating, and can also arrange transportation at favorable rates. The location, 2 blocks from the Mayan Inn (which is 4 times the price), is very convenientto the market. There is a pleasant rooftop terrace overlooking the city, which makes a nice spot to sit and relax and escape from the hubub of the market.

2  Thank JerryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Taos, New Mexico
113
Reviewed August 15, 2004

Hotel Chalet a great place!

Hotel Chalet is a special place to stay in Chichi. I have stayed there twice in the past 4 years and intend to stay there again this year. It is run by an extremely nice family and provides great breakfasts and clean, comfort able rooms. The owners speak English and are very helpful. The first time I stayed there I was ill and Mr. Toll went to the pharmacy to get medicine for me. He also made sure I saw all the processions and holiday events, giving me an umbrella when it was raining. I highly recommend this small hotel.çQ

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews