We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
119
139
37
22
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
119
139
37
22
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews antique furniture wood burning fireplace market starts dressed in traditional in town water pressure tour guide front door day trip mayan market cemetery butler courtyard chichi history character costumes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 322 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2016

The hotel is very rustic, and that makes sense given the remote location. Rooms were clean, food was good, and staff was very helpful. Enjoyed the wood fire in the evening. This is probably the best hotel in Chichi.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkeytalkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Hotel Museo Mayan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Dear Walkeytalkey:

Thank you very much for staying with us. Always is good to hear that you enjoyed the fireplace and your stay here in Chichicastenango. Please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

It was a very unique place with old furniture and original interior. We loved staying there.

Be careful it gets a bit cold at night. But the hotel is trying to accommodate its guests by providing super warm blankets and firewood for making fire at your room. It was a romantic atmosphere and we liked it very much.

Also, this place is better and more private than overrated St. Thomas place.

It is walking distance to everything in town!

Room tip: fireplace, original, old.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ariadna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Hotel Museo Mayan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2016

Dear Ariadna S

Thank you very much for your comment and for staying with us. I am glad that you enjoyed a romantic atmosphere during your stay. We really hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016

Just steps from the famous market, the Mayan Inn offers a tranquil oasis. The outdoor, courtyard-style public areas are secluded, well furnished and beautifully landscaped. You'll spend time there because that's where the wifi is (you'll only get wifi in your room if you happen to be placed near a router), but that's fine because the courtyards are a great place to hang out. The bar and lounge are cozy and a nice for relaxing and comparing notes with other travelers. The staff is ever-present and attentive, offering both service and security, but never smothering you or hard-selling you -- we had help when we needed it to light our fireplace and refill our water pitcher, but we weren't bothered otherwise. (We interacted with the staff in Spanish, but I heard English spoken by the front desk and bar staff, so I think an English-speaking guest with limited Spanish will get on just fine.) The inn is a low-rise affair occupying two different buildings on opposite sides of the street. It's an older property built mainly of stone, in excellent physical and aesthetic condition that makes a virtue of its antiquity. Our room was large and well furnished, and our queen-sized bed sat on an antique hand-carved wooden frame with a pretty painted headboard. The wood-burning fireplace was clean and well drafted; we had no problems with smoke smell in the room, and we were given plenty of wood to keep it going on a cool night. The bathroom was modest but functional and clean.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mexico_City_Gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Hotel Museo Mayan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the outdoors and indoors of the hotel. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Had a very good time here. The negatives are the extremely slow hot water build up and pressure. Water never gets hot. Room only has a fireplace to heat up the room which is not enough. Otherwise a very nice hotel. Oh and beware of barking dogs at all hours of the night.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 56003Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Hotel Museo Mayan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016

Dear Richard, thank you for comment and feedback. Our hotel Museum preserves its original architecture and as part of that effort still preserves the original boilers that supply the hot water, because of this, it takes a few minutes to get warm. However I am glad that you liked the hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016

The hotel is very typical Guatemalan hotel. There is a courtyard in the center with Tucan and parrots. It is very close to the famous market. Great for shopping and if you have to drop off your purchases every now and then, it is close enough to do so. There were barking dogs through out the night and roosters which will wake you up very early in the morning. No room is exempt from it. The hotel restaurant is across the street and the office is in another building.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Hotel Museo Mayan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2016

Dear Kimi ,
Thank you very much for your comment. I am glad that you enjoyed the Guacayamas and the parrots. I also hope you had a great shopping and the market. I am sorry about barking dogs and rooster at night , is difficult for us to control nature sounds. Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews