We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$84
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com$84
Priceline
eDreams$84
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
119
139
37
22
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
119
139
37
22
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews antique furniture wood burning fireplace market starts dressed in traditional in town water pressure tour guide front door day trip mayan market cemetery butler courtyard chichi history character costumes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 322 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2016

The hotel is very typical Guatemalan hotel. There is a courtyard in the center with Tucan and parrots. It is very close to the famous market. Great for shopping and if you have to drop off your purchases every now and then, it is close enough to do so. There were barking dogs through out the night and roosters which will wake you up very early in the morning. No room is exempt from it. The hotel restaurant is across the street and the office is in another building.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Hotel Museo Mayan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2016

Dear Kimi ,
Thank you very much for your comment. I am glad that you enjoyed the Guacayamas and the parrots. I also hope you had a great shopping and the market. I am sorry about barking dogs and rooster at night , is difficult for us to control nature sounds. Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

The hotel was good as well as service.
The location was very good.
I recommend pick a room near the market because it's noisy.
I was disappointed because there were only a bath (no shower, it was very short the shower head)

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Guyavrahami
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Hotel Museo Mayan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

Dear Guy,
Thank you for your comment and recommendation. I am sorry if you felt the shower head was too short for you. If you come again, we can give another room with the tallest shower head possible, since all the rooms are different. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is great. Service was excellent. The hotel manager is nice and helping a lot. We booked a family suite but it was on the street which can be a little noisy in the market time. We were offered other rooms. Rooms are very nice. There is a fire place in each room and they provide dry wood. We light a fire in the early morning when it was chili. Breakfast was good. The bar/coffee place is very good. We stayed in rooms 14 and 15. We recommend room 15. The interior design has a lot of character. Bathroom in the room is basic. Enjoy.

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank 426rana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Hotel Museo Mayan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

Dear Ran, thank you for your thorough and kind review.. We love to please guests like you and your family. We are happy to hear you that you enjoyed the room, the fireplace , the bar and food. We hope to see you next time!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Nice grounds, nice people working there but that's about it. The luxury ends at the door to your room which will have tiny hard beds, nasty blankets and scratchy sheets. There are bathrooms in prisons that you will like better. The town is really awful. Lots of auto and truck pollution, filthy streets filled with dog poop and trash that make you want to disinfect your shoes. If you think the market will be great you'll be wrong. Most of the stuff is from China. This rooms in this hotel are worth about $10 bucks so stay at a place that cost $10 bucks because you won't sleep any better here. The restaurant is overpriced and awful. Street food looked more appetizing, and that is saying a lot given overwhelming poverty and the general lack of hygiene everywhere in this town. We paid $56 per night.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Roscaoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Hotel Museo Mayan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

Dear Roscao,
Thank you for your comment. I am really sorry that you didn’t receive what you expected. However Chichicastenango has the biggest and the most colorful market in Central America, and the second biggest in Latin America. Also is the place where the Popol Vuh was originally found and the mysticism of Mayan world still occurs.
Could you please let me know what day of the week you stayed here ? It is important to know this because the market is only on Thursday and on Sunday and these days the streets are full with merchants, 80% of them sell only Guatemalan handicrafts and textiles.
Furthermore, this hotel has a different concept of the regular hotels. The hotel is an hotel- museum and it’s really a gem in the history of Guatemala. The hotel was founded in 1932 by the pioneer of tourism and it has the biggest collection of antiques in Guatemala. That’s why our hotel worth the price, since you will not find any other hotel like this one , is unique.
I am really open to answer any other concern my email is: gerente.residente@mayaninn.com.gt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

The Hotel Mayan Inn in Chichicastenango was the perfect place to stay to experience Market Day! We arrived Wednesday afternoon before Thursday's Market Day & had enough time to get settled in & have a couple cocktails at the bar mixed up by Pedro, our very pleasant bartender. Our rooms were quite spacious complete with 2 twin beds, 2 chairs & coffee table, an armoire & a large stone fireplace. The bathroom was clean & stocked with basic toiletries of soap, shampoo & conditioner. The staff was very friendly & helpful in giving us directions when we left. WiFi does not work in the rooms however it is available in the bar & restaurant. There was a separate gated parking lot for our rental car. Breakfast was also included in the price of the room & was very nice. It was more than a continental breakfast, consisting of eggs, fruit, toast, refried beans, plantains, coffee & juice. The location allows you to experience the market & is within a perfect walking distance. Highly recommend!!!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank golfinggirl802
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Hotel Museo Mayan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us such a beautiful review and for your recommendation. I am pleased that you tried some of Pedro’s famous cocktails and also that you enjoyed the room, fireplace, breakfast, our staff and as you said the location is one of our greatest advantages. Thank once again for choosing Mayan Inn Hotel Museum we look forward to your future visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews