We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent, Huge Hotel With Class and Style”
Review of Santo Tomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santo Tomas Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We had no idea how grand this hotel was when we booked it. It is a huge hotel, filled with art of all kinds, but especially religious art.

Besides being overwhelmed by the grandness and the art, we got special pleasure from the many parrots in the courtyard, the swimming pool, the restaurant with good food, the waiters in traditional clothing, and the musicians who played in the courtyard during meals.

The food is rather expensive, but the prices and quality matched the high level of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 189 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2010

very pretty place. comfortable and clean rooms. nice pool. great location. good inhouse restaurant though we did eat just breakfast there. everything was fabulous except that the staff seemed very indifferent for a $100/night hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

From the outside, this hotel is definitely not the most inspiring of buildings, however step through the front door and the traveler is greeted by an expansive courtyard garden, complete with many colorful plants, birds, fountains, lots of places to sit and relax in the afternoon sun. Further exploration reveals yet more courtyards off the main and a swimming pool on the upper level.
Rooms are clean comfortable and nicely decorated, perhaps a bit noisy as there is no insulation between rooms however, the hotel still has a nice relaxing atmosphere. Restaurant service is friendly with authentic Guatemalan dishes, and the menu is quite varied. Water is "agua pur".
Location is central and great for market days.
Great Spot

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

No doubt, this hotel should be the best hotel in Chichi: the building and decoration is beautiful; the rooms are great; the swimming pool seemed very fine, but...
because this hotel receives a lot of tourist packed in buses, you'll not get a so personalized service than in smaller hotels, which could not be a problem for you; be aware of the room you choose, or you can get a room facing the street - as I got - and you'll begin to ear the noisy trucks at the street at 4am; and those parrots during the day in the garden... I almost wanted to kill them, as they were so noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alberto_eme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Disclaimer: We didn't stay at the Hotel Tomas. We were staying at Lake Atitlan, but took a bus to Chichi for the Sunday market, where we were promptly pickpocketed. (Ego salvage: this is despite being seasoned travelers, stashing money in multiple places on our persons, and my husband having lived in Central America for 2.5 years).

As Hotel Tomas is pretty centrally located, once we realized my husband's wallet was gone we hightailed it back there to try to take stock, cancel our cards, etc. They were nice and let us use their guest computer, even though we weren't guests.

But then their guest computer was having issues connecting to the internet, so they actually let us into their personal office to use their computer to get the phone numbers for our three credit card companies. Then they let us use their front desk phone to call internationally to cancel the cards (we paid for the use, but they charged very acceptable rates for this). Once again: this was even though we were not guests.

They were very, very kind to us and saved our butts hugely. We got the whole ugly mess cleaned up within an hour's time, and after our friends bought us some drinks (@ the Hotel Tomas bar) to soothe our wounds, we were back out at the market again with what money the pickpockets didn't get.

In short, Hotel Tomas was really, really awesome to us and helped us really fix what could have been a disastrous and terrible day. I wanted to make sure their good dead did not go unpunished.

Other pros: 1. From what we saw of the lobby area they are very clean and westerner-friendly.

2. They have several birds (parrots) that you can check out, get close to, interact with in their central atrium. Very cool.

3. Clean bathroom.

4. Cheap postcards on sale.

Only cons: Like I said, we never saw past the lobby, but the lobby itself was tourist hell. I think this is probably because of the central location and westerner-friendliness. It was absolutely rotten with every loud, elderly, fat, slow, waist-pouch and visor-wearing group of American/German/Asian/whatever tourists that had just gotten of their bus and decide to walk around in a confused haze.

That was pretty annoying, but what are you going to do? They still saved my skin, and were very, very kind about it, and for that I am and always will be very, very grateful.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank hrhuntington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I stayed at Santo Tomas for a week in January as part of a mission trip. I didn't know what to expect--I knew we were working at a remote village outside of ChiChi--and I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Our room was spacious, the bed was a bit firm but comfy overall, there were plenty of warm blankets and hot water. I was thrilled to find a hairdryer b/c it was a bit on the chilly side. It was possible to get a fire built in the room, but my experience with in-room fires in other countries made me opt to just put on an extra blanket instead.

The room was very clean, as were the common areas of the hotel. The garden was gorgeous and the passageways and rooms filled with antiques. The computer/internet connection worked most of the time and was free! We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel every day, and I loved the eggs, black beans, and tortillas. They offered decent vegetarian options at dinner and excellent fresh tropical fruit for desserts.

I brought earplugs because of past experiences in other cities, but found after the first night that I didn't need to use them. There was a little street noise--our room faced a gas station--but it quieted down quickly. There were occasional dogs or roosters, but we were up early to travel to the worksite and it really wasn't a problem.

The location was good--close to the market, farmacia, other stores.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmb2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

The location is unbeatable. It gives you the ability to take comfortable breaks from the market, and to be able to walk around with minimal belongings. The place is beautiful.

My complaints are that the staff seem disinterested, and the fires in both of our rooms belched thick smoke back into the rooms. There was no way we could go to sleep until we have made sure the fires were out and the smoke had cleared. I'm guessing that the chimneys are either poorly designed, or that they are in serious need of cleaning.

The website claims that the swimming pool is heated. It was freezing.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank Neal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichicastenango
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Mayan Inn
Hotel Museo Mayan Inn
#1 of 6 in Chichicastenango
248 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
258 reviews
16.0 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
809 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
295 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Rey K"ich"e
Hotel Rey K"ich"e
#2 of 3 in Santa Cruz del Quiche
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santo Tomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo Tomas Hotel

Address: Av 5 - 32 Zona unica 7, Chichicastenango 14006, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > El Quiche Department > Chichicastenango
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chichicastenan...
Price Range: $65 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santo Tomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Santo Tomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Tomas Chichicastenango
Hotel Santo Tomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing