We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want somewhere nice, its the best deal in Chichi!”
Review of Santo Tomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santo Tomas Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If you want somewhere nice, its the best deal in Chichi!”
Reviewed January 21, 2007

We arrived in Chicicastenango with no hotel reservations. First, we went to the Mayan Inn and they wanted $100 a night for a room with twin beds. We walked around and found the Santo Tomas Hotel and booked a night with a king bed for $85. For the area I think it was a bit of a rip off - considering that there are people sleeping on the street outside - it is a poor town. But, what are you going to do?

My husband was sick - food poisoning from a previous meal- and they were really nice and brought tea to our room and started a fire so he would be warm.

The location is off the main street and can be loud so we asked for a back room. It was a huge room, with a fireplace and a nice view of the local countryside. The hotel itself is really, really neat. There are Guatemalan and Mayan knick-knacks everywhere. The gardens are really pretty and there are parrots and local birds flying around. There is also a good pool and hot tub - although the hot tub was being cleaned and was empty when we were there.

The hotel restaurant is pricey for the area, Q 105 ($14) for dinner, but was super tasty. We got a basket of fresh bread, soup, broccoli salad, garlic marinated shrimp with mashed potatoes and carrots, a selection of desserts, and tea/coffee.

For lunch and breakfast we went to "Tu Cafe" on the central plaza. The place is owned by a nice Guatemalan who drove cabs in NYC for 10 years. It was clean, cheap, and good local grub.

  • Liked — The ambiance was great
  • Disliked — Too pricey
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cschlunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    75
    37
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
57
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bernalillo NM
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2007

The Santo Tomas is a rambling structure that one can easily get lost in at first, but it doesn't matter. There is so much great folk art and gorgeous antiques to see along the way! It's a great way to educate your eye before purchasing masks, santos and other carvings and the displays show a great variety. The hotel itself was very comfy, with a large room and great views. We enjoyed all the parrots that live in the courtyards. The staff was gracious and unobtrusive, the courtyards lovely.

  • Liked — Beauty of the hotel, art, plants
  • Disliked — Hot water was intermittant at times
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deweyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Santo Tomas in July, 2006, for two nights, Wednesday and Thursday, visiting the market on Thursday. The hotel is ideally located, about three blocks from the main market square. Rooms 31 through 37 are the quietest, upstairs and at the back, with great views of the surrounding countryside. The open-air hallways are lined with fabulous antique furniture--beautiful, interesting pieces. Also, there are literally thousands of potted plants and flowers lining every hallway, and a large, beautiful courtyard filled with plants and exotic birds (I think Quetzales, Macaws, and parrots, but don't hold me to that--see the photos). Everyone seems to rate the Santo Tomas as the second-best hotel in Chichi, after the Mayan Inn, but we cannot agree. The Mayan Inn is in a pretty shabby area away from the main square, and the reception , main area, and bar were pretty seedy. The Santo Tomas is much cheerier, has locks on the room doors (the Mayan Inn does not), and the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. For you valuables, there are safe deposit boxes like those in a bank--you have one key, the manager another. Some of the newer rooms have heaters instead of fireplaces, so try to book one with a fireplace. Even in July, it was great (not to mention romantic) to have a fire each night. The second night we asked for more wood, and the person on duty brought it with a smile. We did not eat in the restaurant, preferring to find places around the main square, but the menu looked like it was catering to Americans, fairly routine. We would stay again at the Santo Tomas in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Fireplace
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2006

What a complately lovely hotel. We visited the night before and after one of the market days and the location was perfect for going through the market, to the church and to all other sites of interest. Rooms were large, clean and nicely decorated with interesting crafts and paintings. Corridors were decorated with museum quality treasures and brilliant folliage. The staff is the friendliest ever; someone came and lit our fireplace every evening. The rooms toward the back away from street noise are probably the most pleasant. We were in back and had a view of the mountains. My only hesitation in giving an "excellent" recommendation is that the food in the restaurant was rather average...However, the quality of the service was excellent and the surroundings so pleasant it really didn't matter. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank murphysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2006

The hotel is situated within walking distance of the market. Ideally located for an overnight stay for a morning market visit before tourist buses arrive. Food was plain but good, the room was large with an very important heater - it gets cold there at night.

A very nice swimming pool, although we did not try as it was too cold to swim.

No room safes, but a safe at reception. We were extremely fortunate to be there during the Santo Tomas Fiesta, would definitely recommend trying to arrange your visit to see the celebrations. Although, the lack of health and safety (fireworks) could be a concern for some.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Distant_Dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 1, 2004

We had a very pleasant stay here on a Saturday night. We walked around the market area to watch the action to set up for Sunday's grand display.
The hotel is nicely maintained and very festive; parrots in the courtyard and marimba music in the afternoon and evening.
The breakfast ( included) was very complete and satisfying.
I recommend this hotel for any stay in Chichi.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichicastenango
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Mayan Inn
Hotel Museo Mayan Inn
#1 of 6 in Chichicastenango
235 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
765 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
443 reviews
15.8 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
284 reviews
14.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#16 of 29 in Panajachel
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santo Tomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo Tomas Hotel

Property: Santo Tomas Hotel
Address: Av 5 - 32 Zona unica 7, Chichicastenango 14006, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > El Quiche Department > Chichicastenango
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chichicastenan...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santo Tomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Santo Tomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Tomas Chichicastenango
Hotel Santo Tomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing