We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably horrible and creepy”
Review of Santo Tomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santo Tomas Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unbelievably horrible and creepy”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I stayed here with my family for one night and the experience was unpleasant. For starters, the hotel was filled to the brim with images of saints and religious artifacts even in the room, to the point of being quite creepy (there were religious statues and a priest's soutane in my room). The room was very dusty and cold. The bathroom was equally stingy. To add to that, all the lights in the halls were all turned off at about 10.00 and the water heaters at 11.00.

The staff were polite but the service was still average.

I would not recommend an overnight stay in Chichi, if only for the lack of decent accommodations. The visit to Chichi can be done extensively in 5 hours with a base at Lake Atitlan or Panajachel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    75
    37
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
57
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed one night here, lovely hotel but empty and slightly spooky. Lack of other guests may be due to the high price of room.

Room was huge and clean with very comfortable bed. Didn't eat in restaurant as breakfast not included.

During day Hotel appears to be the collection area for coach tours (and threadbare parrots...).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy_witham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

This is ideal especially if you are staying in town on the night before the market. Rooms are a good size and quite comfortable, although no room safes. There is a safe at reception and it is a good idea to make use of it if you are visiting the crowded market. Breakfast is served by waiters an there is a good choice.
Free wifi throughout most of the hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mps1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

The only nice thing about this hotel is the garden in the center and the big buckets with callalilies they have everywhere in the corridors.... the rooms are very basic and the beds are extremely hard, not much different than sleeping in the floor. It was very cold at nigh and the only heating in the room was a small fire place at the entrance which was divided form the bedroom by a wall, so there was no heat at all in the actual bedroom and the fire anyways died after an hour or so. There are no amenities of any kind, and forget about trying to sleep late or take a nap... there are loud parrots in the garden, and a band playing marimba (which can be nice for a while but becomes very loud and irritating). There are not safes in the rooms and signs saying the hotel does not take any responsibility for stolen valuables... It was a little unsettling as the hotel is very opened and the rooms are all overlooking a central courtyard that has very easy access from the street. That said, the hotel has an excellent location and it seems clean, but for what they offer the rates should be less than half of what they are. I am not sure there are many other choices that would be any better in town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2010

This hotel is extremely overpriced for what it offers. There are similar quality hotels for significantly less money. Perhaps being in Lonely Planet made them think too highly of themselves. They added charges anyway they could. Further, they have unsightly, sick looking parrot with their wings clipped on perches in the courtyard.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berngard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I've just returned from staying at the Hotel and it was during a very cold spell in the Highlands. The rooms are heated only with a small fireplace that would die out after only an hour or so of attempting to heat. It made sleeping very difficult because of the chill. Then, in the morning, the showers were only warm - it presented some small challenges for getting ready in the mornings. Restaurant was very, very nice. The food was good. The location for the market was unbelievable. Literally walking out the main door of the hotel put you into the shopping market. It was tremendous and quite a shopping experience - especially bargaining with the sellers. Made for an enjoyable and memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWilguess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Because of mudslides which resulted in fatalities and road closures, we were unable to reach Lake Atitlan. Our guide recommended that we go to Chichicastenango as an alternate location. He had made reservations at Santo Tomas Hotel for us. We were a little disappointed at first because we wanted to see the lake, but after arriving at the hotel, we were absolutely delighted.

The ambience, service, lobby, courtyard, rooms were wonderful. The staff in traditional dress, the detailed decoration on the walls, the attentiveness of the employees were unmatched anywhere. The owner was on site and was interested in our needs.

The hotel provided a restaurant, bar, swimming pool, fitness center as well as numerous places to stroll and enjoy the wall decor. At times it felt as if I were in some castle with all of the beautiful things to see.

I might add our large group consisted of 12 people. A bonus for us was the Sunday market. You could not go wrong staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwjwjwjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichicastenango
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Mayan Inn
Hotel Museo Mayan Inn
#1 of 6 in Chichicastenango
239 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
784 reviews
15.8 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
461 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
248 reviews
16.0 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santo Tomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo Tomas Hotel

Property: Santo Tomas Hotel
Address: Av 5 - 32 Zona unica 7, Chichicastenango 14006, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > El Quiche Department > Chichicastenango
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chichicastenan...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santo Tomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Santo Tomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo Tomas Chichicastenango
Hotel Santo Tomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing