We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option in Americus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Americus
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Americus
Reviewed March 2, 2010

The Hampton Inn in Americus is the best option in town. Of the chain hotels, I believe it is the only hotel with interior hallways, and it was renovated within the last couple of years. The rooms are on the small side, but the bathrooms are quite nice and it is otherwise a good, standard chain hotel with the typical Hampton Inn features of free breakfast, business center, etc. The staff is a little slow on the uptake and noise carries very easily throughout, but overall it is a good place to stay in town.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler109194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 332 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2009

I am not in the habit of checking reviews of Hamptons before booking because I have never been disappointed--until now. First, it's way overpriced. Second, the queen rooms are small with no place to sit except at the desk. Room lighting was poor. The shower head (no tub) was old and clogged. There was a nice HBO program guide in the room, but the HBO channel was Signature--totally different programs from what was in the guide. When I called it to the manager's attention, she seemed mildly unconcerned but offered to check with the cable company. It was never corrected. The printer in the business center needed a new cartridge and printed heavy black lines. On the bright side, high speed internet service and breakfast were quite good.

I'll be exploring other options if I have occasion to return to Americus.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pakeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I'd like to say first that I stayed in a premium room. There was no hot water in the shower, no bathroom lighting, hair in the shower and all along the head of the bed platform between the mattress/platform bed against the wall. This is a smoke free room however there was a cigarette butt on the floor. These are just some of the issues.

I left a scathing customer service card however I had to call and follow up with manager who didn't seem to care and followed up my issues with "what would you like me to do ?".

I contacted Hampton Inn's corporate office and reported issues as well.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Empirical2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

The Hampton Inn was an excellent choice for our stay in Americus, GA. Of the chain hotels/motels, it is one of the few in Americus that has an interior corridor which is often key to a quiet night's sleep. Our king room was clean, attractive, and roomy. The bed was most comfortable, providing a good night's sleep. The bathroom was clean, and the sink was in an attractive vanity outside the shower/toilet area which is very handy when two people are getting ready for the day at the same time. The room had a nice desk and task chair. The only thing that could have made it better would have been a little more space for a good relaxing chair.

As for amenities, the room had a good quality TV as well as a refrigerator and microwave. The hot breakfast was excellent with all the choices that I have come to expect of a Hampton Inn stay. The business center just has one PC, so you really do have to respect the time limit to accomodate other guests. The fitness room was adequate with 3 like-new exercise machines and a TV. I did not check out the pool. The hotel offers internet access, but I did not use it.

We did pay more to stay at Hampton Inn than we would have paid at some of the other local hotel chains, but the room and breakfast were worth the price we paid with AAA or AARP discount. The staff were friendly and helpful. The free cookies in the late afternoon/evening were a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Hampton Inns are my favourite chain of motels. Having said that this one was overpriced. We were charged around $130 with tax. What made it even worse was later while I was at the counter (after I had checked in) I overheard another guest being given a room quote for $85 plus tax.
The room was a little on the small side as well.
However, all the furnishings were quite nice and the room was very clean. The breakfast was absolutely up to the usual offerings for a Hampton Inn.
The price we were charged is the only thing that would make me think twice about recommending this property.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ozcfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

Hi,

I stayed here on business in February. The front desk staff were rude and very mean. The manager was never around.

My laptop computer ($2000) was stolen from my room. The front desk staff did nothing, were very uncaring, and the manager was never around. When I complained, I got a form letter.

Something "sneaky" is going on at this hotel. Please do not stay here if you value your items! There are nicer hotels right next door and at cheaper prices.

I would never stay here again! I also saw cockroaches at night.

Please value your items and do not allow these thieves to work!

Sincerely,

William Cox, MD

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BelgianSheepdogGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights with family. We had 2 rooms. In my mothers room, someone entered the room when we were out and took all the food/drinks from the fridge. Took medecine, hair care products, toothbrush, toothpaste. Anything setting out was removed from the room. We went to the front desk. They said they could do nothing about it. And they also said they knew nothing about it. There was no forced entry to the room. I think it was the cleaning staff. We should have called the police. The manager never came in to the hotel for us to talk to him. We even wrote a letter to corporate all we got in return was a form letter. I wouldn't stay here. If you do-take all your property with you when you aren't in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank UsaLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Americus
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Americus
Days Inn Americus
#4 of 7 in Americus
93 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Americus
Quality Inn Americus
#3 of 7 in Americus
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club
19.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Montezuma
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Americus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Americus

Address: 1609 E Lamar St, Americus, GA 31709-5555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Americus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Americus
Price Range: $101 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Americus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Americus hotel is located in charming Americus, GA only ten miles from the famous Andersonville Civil War site. Enjoy downtown Americus and other historical sites while in town, Our hotel offers many great amenities like free hot breakfast and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Americus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americus Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing