We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$104
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Americus)
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$55
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (884)
Filter reviews
884 results
Traveler rating
873
10
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
873
10
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsjimmy cartergourmet breakfastcivil warhouse is beautifullovely homenational historic siteveranda roomeach morninggarden tubchocolate chip sconesboyhood homearea attractionssouthern hospitalitywonderful weekendback porcha wonderful place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 884 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My boyfriend Joe and I came to Americus to look for an apartment for him, as he was beginning a new job as an accounting professor at Georgia Southwestern University. We decided to try the bed and breakfast experience for the first time.

Kim and Susan were wonderful hosts. The food was delicious and the rooms comfortable and inviting. We especially liked the cats...felt like being at home.

Kim has a wealth of knowledge concerning local history, etc. and enjoys sharing information.

Would not mind repeating this experience...Absolutely delightful!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Pam:

Thank you so much for allowing us to provide you and Joe with your first Bed and Breakfast experience. Since every B&B is unique, we are so glad that our "brand" of hospitality was to your liking.

We hope you will find reasons to return to our B&B. Birthdays, anniversaries and Valentine's Day are the times for a romantic getaway.

Warmest regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Americus Garden Inn B&B really is excellent. Innkeepers Kim and Susan are perfectionists. They care about their guests' comfort and experience. The rooms are adorable, the breakfasts are wonderful.
When I told Susan that I couldn't eat white flour, she made us whole wheat and oatmeal muffins, whole wheat pancakes and lots of fruit. They shared their time and stories with us as well.

So why would you want to visit Americus? Andersonville National Historic Site and Jimmy Carter Home. Americus has a few good restaurants and shops but it's the national park units that drew us there.

Room Tip: Every room is fine.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannyhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Danny:

Thank you so much for sharing your experience here at the Americus Garden Inn. As you mentioned, with 2 National Historic Sites within a 15 minute drive, there is lots to see and do in this area.

It was my pleasure to provide you with a special breakfast menu that suited your dietary needs. It makes me happy to know that I made you happy!

On your next trip, you might want to take a day trip to see Providence Canyon (the little grand canyon of Georgia) or the Ocmulgee National Monument in Macon.

Warmest regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

From the time we arrived, we knew that we were in some place special. Kim and Susan made us welcome from the beginning. The rooms are extremely well appointed and in keeping with the period . Very clean, comfortable bed and all amenities. Breakfast was elegant with home made blueberry muffins, grits pancakes and sheared eggs. Good after breakfast conversation--we didn't leave for almost two hours. I would recommend this Inn to all as it is one of the outstanding inns that we have stayed at and we travel the world. It is close to several National Historical Sites including Andersonville and the Jimmy Carter Historical Site. A very nice place to visit.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor with access to the porch. Wonderful location.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Mike:

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Americus Garden Inn. We really enjoyed hosting your stay and truly appreciate your thoughtful review.

I am so glad you enjoyed the breakfast I prepared for you. The blueberries were organic, local berries from Koinonia farm. And, since you came all the way from Maine, I wanted to serve you some grits, but not the traditional grits. I felt that whole wheat and grits pancakes were the perfect choice. And, shirred eggs are my personal favorite.

We hope that future travel brings you back our way.
Warmest regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Americus B&B is a lovely, quiet and wonderful place to stay if you are in this area of Georgia. The proprietors, Susan and Kim go out of their way to make you feel welcome, happy and taken care of.

The rooms and the grounds are beautiful. Both the dining room and sitting room are lovely and just wonderfully furnished. There are maps and brochures available for you to help with the sights, attractions, restaurants, etc. And any questions you have Kim and Susan can answer them easily.

The dining room is stocked with snacks and drinks for your convenience and there are dozens of VHS tapes available, should you want to watch a video in your room.

The breakfasts are delicious and feature, muffins, fruit, frittatas, pancakes, juices, coffee/tea, etc. and Susan makes sure every dietary concern is met and handled very well. We had a young girl in our group who needed very specific kinds of dietary needs met, and they were.

Just a marvelous place. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micheletauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear MicheleTauber:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We truly enjoyed hosting your stay while you were here to attend Sunday School with Jimmy Carter, before your theater performance of "The Ghosts of Mary Lincoln" in Carrollton.

We are so glad that we were able to accommodate the special dietary needs for Becca and that everyone was pleased with our breakfast fare. We definitely understand how difficult travel can be for someone with severe food allergies and/or intolerances.

We hope future travel brings you back this way.
Warm regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed with Kim and Susan during our trip around America this summer, it was fantastic! Their home looks like a fairy tale come true, our room was luxurious and the food that Susan served us for breakfast every morning was unbelievably delicious!... The hospitality we received was excellent (it was my fiance's birthday and Susan helped me with the champagne and birthday candles!) and they were very helpful with suggestions and dinner reservations. I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone traveling anywhere in the south!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Hanya:

What a pleasure it was to meet you and your fiance. We know that you stayed in a lot of places on your tour of America and truly appreciate your thoughtful review.

When traveling from a distance, like you did from Italy, we know that it is difficult to decide what you might really be interested in seeing and doing when visiting an unfamiliar area. We are delighted to share our insights about SW Georgia to allow our guests to make the best use of the time they are here. And, to assist in the "special" needs, like acknowledging a birthday or anniversary.

Thank you again. We hope if you come back this way we will see you again.
Warm regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews