We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 2nd Visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Americus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Americus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Our 2nd Visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We enjoyed our 2nd visit even more than the first. Kim and Susan are outstanding hosts. They genuinely make you feel "at-home". The Scarlet Room was perfect for just relaxing and taking a break from our busy schedules. We plan on making the inn a regular stop for us. Thank you for the hospitality!
PS..the chocolate chip scones were delicious!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JR C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear JR C:

It was such a treat for us to see you again. Thank you for choosing to return to the Americus Garden Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed the Jacuzzi Suite on your first visit and the Scarlett Suite on your second. Which room will you try next year? :)

We definitely hope this becomes an annual "getaway" for you. Thank you again.

Warm regards,
Kim and Susan Egelseer
Owners/innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
397
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The home is beautiful home and well maintained. The breakfast was delicious. The hosts are friendly, helpful and welcoming. The house was absolutely spotless. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. I enjoyed relaxing by strolling through the garden, sitting in the gazebo and admiring the koi pond.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Kate:
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Americus Garden Inn. We appreciate your thoughtful comments and hope to have an opportunity so share our home with you again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Kim and Susan Egelseer
Owners/innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed here for a night with my mother and daughter on our way to North Carolina. Susan is a wonderful host and the house is gorgeous. We had the two rooms downstairs: the Veranda Suite and the Library Suite. The rooms are beautifully decorated, these are the softest sheets I have ever slept on, and the beds were very comfortable. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, and the Veranda Suite has a huge garden tub.

We didn't see much of Susan's husband, but he did come over in the evening to do the turn down service. Susan makes a spectacular breakfast each morning and we were treated to the most AMAZING vegan banana chocolate chip muffins - you would never know they were vegan (and we aren't vegans - that was just the bread she served that morning), fresh fruit, juice, VERY good coffee, pancakes, and eggs. Everything she prepared was DELICIOUS. She is a delightful hostess and is wonderful company - we truly enjoyed visiting with her. She and her husband live in the small house situated behind the inn, so guests can make themselves at home in the big house.

In the morning, make sure you enjoy your first cup of coffee from the swing in the gazebo situated in the meticulously maintained gardens. It's obvious how much planning and attention have gone into the gardens, which were created after a devastating tornado destroyed the trees behind the house a few years ago. It's a wonderful way to get your day started, very relaxing and peaceful.

I just can't say enough about how enjoyable our stay was. The house is beautiful, the gardens are very inviting, the accommodations are comfortable, and the hosts are great people. The rates are VERY reasonable. Stay here - you won't be disappointed.

Thanks to the Egelseers for providing such a warm and hospitable environment. We'll definitely be returning when we can stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Chris:

Thank you so much for your incredibly thoughtful comments. We believe that the 2 things a Bed and Breakfast should do well are Beds and Breakfasts. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed both. If you decide you would like to own a set of those incredible sheets, please remember that we sell those sheets. Please call us to order a set for your home.

The Americus Garden Inn signature blend coffee is a special blend that I created with our local coffee roastery, Cafe Campesino. As for the vegan muffins, I love finding recipes that are a little out of the ordinary. I am so glad that you enjoyed the coffee and the muffins. If you are interested in the recipe for the muffins, I have posted it online for your enjoyment.

We also appreciate your comments about our beautiful gardens. Kim spends countless hours maintaining our property and it really shows. That is why I post so many photos on the Americus Garden Inn facebook page of flowers and butterflies.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warmest regards,
Susan Egelseer
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogart, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights at this B&B for my birthday. The home is clean and well cared-for. Our room was spacious and we enjoyed a private balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens. The breakfasts were scrumptious yet healthy. The owners were eager to satisfy our dietary needs, give us an historical tour of the antebellum home, recommend restaurants for lunch and supper, and recommend places to visit in the area. The owners were also very friendly and we enjoyed talking with them. They made my birthday weekend extra special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Herb:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your birthday celebration at the Americus Garden Inn. We are so glad that you and Myrna allowed yourselves several days to truly enjoy all the attractions this area has to offer including Andersonville National Historic Site, Jimmy Carter National Historic Site, Habitat for Humanity's Global Village, a cupping at Cafe Campesino and Sunday School with Jimmy Carter. And, you still gave yourselves the opportunity to enjoy the special feature of your room, the Balcony Suite, which has a private balcony overlooking the koi pond and garden.

We enjoyed meeting the two of you and look forward to future visits.

Warm regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiana, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Americus Garden Inn B&B was a fabulous choice of places to stay. My 17 year old grandson and I started out on an unplanned journey to where ever we found ourselves. If I were a millionaire I could never have chosen a more wonderful place to stay. This home is so absolutely beautiful and inviting! But mostly it was Susan and Kim who made this stay so outstanding. They are wonderful people. I really must say that Susan was our primary hostess as Kim was busy working on the house in one way or another. But Susan went out of her way to ensure that not only were we comfortable, well fed, pampered, independent, etc., she was the hostess with the mostest. She shared suggestions to places we might want to visit while in Americus. She mapped out routes so that we could see the most efficiently. Her conversation was stimulating and intelligent, caring and instructive. She considered my needs as well as my grandson's. She went out of her way to help us get an opportunity to tour a local coffee place. She has taken the time to carefully select a special blend of coffee for the perfect enjoyment of her clientele. I cannot describe sufficiently what a perfect 2 days she provided! Thank you Susan and Kim. You helped Allen and I build a lot of wonderful memories together! I highly recommend this B&B to all!
By the way, we stopped at 2 other Bed and Breakfasts during our trip. Another one in New Orleans was really, really nice. But Allen and I judged Americus Garden Inn as offering something just "special."

Room Tip: they had no pool or fitness center to rate. Sorry I accidentally chose terrible for ANYTHING about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diy124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Doris:

I was truly touched by your incredibly thoughtful review and appreciate the kindness of your words. It was a pleasure meeting you and Allen, and I enjoyed the opportunity to spend a little time with the two of you.

We try to provide as much information as possible to allow our guests to make the most of their visit. I am so glad that you were able to enjoy some of the local activities, including the tour of Cafe Campesino. They do a wonderful job roasting and blending our coffee, and, the tour is really interesting.

Thank you for letting us know we were successful in our one and only goal - making people happy.

Warmest regards,
Susan Egelseer
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The house and gardens are equally gorgeous and meticulously maintained. Susan and Kim were welcoming, gracious and instantly made us feel at home. Our room, the Library Suite, was beautifully decorated and very comfortable and breakfast was a culinary delight. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Wayne:

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us and hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Americus Garden Inn was the perfect overnight experience after visiting Jimmy Carter's childhood home in Plains, Ga. I took my grands, ages 16,13, and 10, to Plains to have an experience of what life was like before the modern conveniences which their generation takes for granted. After the primitive farm, the Inn was the perfect place to enjoy modern comforts while imagining this ante-bellem house before such existed. We enjoyed an evening of games and movies from the Inn's ample selection. The breakfast was a delicious and beautiful feast and my hungry crew enjoyed it all immensely. The young people even made music for me with the parlor piano and ukulele. The beautiful furnishings inspired beautiful manners from them. Not only is the Inn a wonderful retreat for travelers, it is also an educational opportunity for gracious living over 2 centuries. The price of 2 rooms so each of us could have our own beds was quite reasonable given the quality and comfort of the accommodations and the excellence of the breakfast. We enjoyed conversation with our charming hosts who are knowledgeable over a variety of subjects. I hope to return and will encourage my family and friends to enjoy this lovely abode.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judithwmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Judith:

It was our pleasure hosting you and your grandchildren. They were the perfect ages to understand and appreciate the experience of staying in an historic home. Visiting the Jimmy Carter Boyhood Farm to see firsthand how life was in rural Georgia, and then enjoying an overnight visit in our grand antebellum home, truly brings history to life.

We try to provide a variety of amenities to entertain our guests and are so glad that you found so many things to do together - games, music and movies.

We appreciate your kind words about breakfast and our home. Thank you so much. Hopefully, we will see you again, soon.

Warm regards,
Susan and Kim Egelseer
Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Americus
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Americus
Hampton Inn Americus
#3 of 6 in Americus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Americus
Quality Inn Americus
#2 of 6 in Americus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Americus
Days Inn Americus
#4 of 6 in Americus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
19.7 mi away
Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club
19.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Montezuma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 504 Rees Park, Americus, GA 31709-4078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Americus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Americus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast, we strive to provide a unique lodging experience in Americus, Georgia that delights and impresses our guests with gracious hospitality, impeccable cleanliness, creative, nutritious and delicious breakfast foods in comfortably elegant surroundings. Our beautiful 1847 antebellum pre-Civil war mansion is located in the residential historic district of Americus, featuring 7 spacious suites furnished with King/Queen beds, private in room bath, free parking, free WiFi, complimentary breakfast and complimentary refreshments available 24/7. Over an acre of beautifully landscaped gardens with walking trail, gazebo and koi pond. Perfect for business or pleasure. Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast is an escape from the ordinary, "where history meets romance..." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing