We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of BlueBelize

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Gorda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BlueBelize
Ranked #2 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have stayed at blue Belize 3 times in between diving trips to the cayes.
A great place if you're looking for clean quiet and within walking distance of PG.
Cool airy rooms with a great view of the ocean. Adam and Kate were fantastic hosts, arranging everything from guided tours to taxis.
Ps there's Wifi too.......
Steve wood.

Room Tip: Any of the first floor rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    36
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
69
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Punta Gorda is a little off the beaten track, but you'll find lots of great stuff to do. Blue Belize is a real haven, being both right on the coast (the veranda overlooks the Bay of Honduras and you can see Guatamala over the water) and on the edge of town, so you feel like you're slightly removed from it all. Having said that, the centre of town is just a 10 minute walk away so you're never that far away, and Asha's Bar & Restaurant is just a couple of minutes down 'front street' along the shore line.

The guest house itself is great - my room was spacious, with high ceilings (great for keeping the room cool on hot days) and all the amenities I needed, with a kitchenette to escape eating out for every meal.

Rachel, the owner, is great - she's a marine biologist who won a Whitley award for her work with whale sharks, but is also a fantastic host, who knows both PG and the local waters very well. You get a special kind of person at Blue Belize, and the veranda is great for meeting other guests.

Overall, I'd say that I'd return in a flash, and sincerely hope to. I had a look at a couple of other places in PG and honestly wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. I was here for work, but could easily see myself and family lounging around on the edge of town, literally a stone's throw from the water. My only criticism would be that the birds were loud at 5am and the rains had started, so was woken at 2am a couple of times, but you are going to find that wherever you go!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Usually, our vacations are full-tilt boogie. This time we were looking for a spot to relax. Blue Belize was the perfect prescription for us. The flat was roomy...a lving room with a fully equipped kitchenette, a comfortable bedroom and a bathroom. The best part for us was the veranda. We enjoyed laying in the hammocks while reading our Kindles and drinking in the beauty of the Caribbean Sea with our eyes, less than one hundred feet from the shore. The sunrises were amazing.

Rachel, the owner, was away and her assistant, Torbin, was as helpful and friendly as anyone could hope for. He steered us to some nearby restaurants which we could walk to very easily. Each morning, Torbin brought us a tray of fresh fruit, fresh orange juice and homemade fruit breads. He was also very helpful in arranging water activities as well as visits to nearby Mayan ruins and a cacao plantation.

We managed to drive less than twenty-five miles during our eight day stay because we could walk to most places in the village. Coming from Los Angeles, this aspect enhanced our great getaway. We would stay at the Blue Belize again in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klezmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

...but not great. If we could give 3.5, we would. Pretty views and big rooms (the latter might matter to some), and certainly nothing to complain about (except the neighbour cutting grass from 6am (hence sleep quality 3 stars), but that's not BB's fault).

It's just one of those places that doesn't 'engage'. You are safe to spend your money here, but you can get more welcoming places for similar money, elsewhere in PG.

Room Tip: ask for the big one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailfintang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2012

After a tiring drive from Belize City, nothing is more welcoming than the sight of Blue Belize and it did not disappoint. The room is spacious, airy and clean. The decor is tastefully done with Mayan designs mixed with contemporary designs. Breakfast of seasonal fresh fruit, freshly baked fruit bread and freshly squeezed orange juice provided with the room which cost US$75 for two-definitely your money's worth. The room has a fabulous uninterrupted views out to the sea. It has breathtaking views of both sunrise and sunset.
Blue Belize is perfect for those wishing for a peaceful stay. It invites guests to simply chill and relax. Simply amazing to see Rachel run the place to a high standard together with her other work of conservation. The guest house features wifi access and kitchenette with good supply of good coffee. If you do not want to cook, it is within walking distance to the best restarurant in town, Marian's Restaurant located on the same street as Blue Belize. I would recommend Blue Belize to anyone who finds themselves in that part of the world. I would love to go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: Almond Tree and Seastar flats lead to a wide verandah with hammocks overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitzchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

What an amazing view! And the room was so comfortable, airy and bright. We loved going out on the huge veranda for the wonderful breakfast that was laid out for us every morning and then enjoyed time reading, taking in the view and simply relaxing! Come evening we'd make a cup of tea (which was provided) and enjoy the sound of the sea and one night even got to hear a little drumming coming from the Bamboo Chicken (a bar down the street). Don't worry, it was far enough away not to be bothersome... Would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBRW08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

During out visit to Punta Gorda we were pleasantly suprised by the Blue Belize Guesthouse and the high standard of the rooms and the warm welcome we recieved. Nowhere else in the town can you sit your front porch and enjoy the sea breeze directly off the ocean and watch sunrise over the bay of Honduras. The Guesthouse is on high ground at the waters edge in a quiet part of town with no traffic noise. The breakfasts are great with fresh ground Guatamal coffee,local fruits and a variety of breads. The owner was so gracious and helpful. We did not want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30Fosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Gorda hotels
5.0 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 18 in Punta Gorda
172 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#9 of 18 in Punta Gorda
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St. Charles Inn
St. Charles Inn
#6 of 18 in Punta Gorda
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Piece of Ground
A Piece of Ground
#2 of 5 in Punta Gorda
35 reviews
6.8 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBelize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBelize

Property: BlueBelize
Address: 139 Front Street, Punta Gorda, Belize
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us at our little oasis of a guesthouse that faces the breezy Caribbean Sea. We offer four single bedroom and one double bedroom self-catered flats with en suite bathrooms, living/dining/kitchenettes or full kitchen. All flats face the sea and open onto verandas or patios with hammocks just waiting for you to swing in them! To make things easy and simple we include breakfast, free WIFI and the use of bicycles in our price and we are licensed tour operators who can organise your fishing and snorkeling tours as well as visits to local waterfalls and Mayan ruins. BlueBelize is a wonderful place to relax and get away from the cold of a northern winter or use as a home away from home, a base for the many activities Southern Belize has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
BlueBelize Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing