We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$228
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hickatee Cottages(Punta Gorda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Coral House(Punta Gorda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sabal Beach(Punta Gorda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Piece of Ground(Punta Gorda)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Front Inn(Punta Gorda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Charles Inn(Punta Gorda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beya Suites(Punta Gorda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
224
47
16
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
224
47
16
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrope swingmoho riverblue creek cavecacao farmmayan ruinshowler monkeysorganic gardenmosquito nettingjungle experiencejungle survivalcocoa beanstortillasserved family stylelearned howthere is no air conditioningrio blancofood restrictions
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 294 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2017

This a fabulous jungle lodge on the Moho River. Beautiful trees and plantings and a beautiful river that you can swim in. We are birders and went primarily for that . Birding is fabulous on the property, and of course you can hire guides and go elsewhere. Their primary birding guide, Agapieto Pop is EXTRAORDINARILY good, in addition to being a guy that it's fun to spend the day with. The lodging is funky and well done--everything hand made and the place is quite beautiful. All the people at the place are friendly, competent and fun. We stayed a week and had a great time.

Why do I say "Maybe not for everybody"? The place isn't slick. No golf course, swimming pool etc. And you are pretty cut off electronically, even if you buy into there wifi--it's a minimal connection. We didn't miss the electronics

Room Tip: There are 3 or 4 cottages with balconies that look out on the river. We think that is a big plus and would recommend it.
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Capnbob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017

My husband and I visited 3 different resorts during our one week trip to Belize and staying at Cotton Tree was by far our favorite experience. Beautiful, peaceful, serene. Loved every minute of it.....from yoga to start the day to falling asleep listening to the howler monkeys. We had two sleeping experiences on the cabana boat (very romantic) and in one of the private cabanas. Was very comfortable in both....no bugs, cool enough that we didn't need any fans. Food was unbelievably good.....this is where you want to experience organic, authentic Belizean cusine. Not only did we get to experience the ecological aspects of the jungle, we got to learn so much about the Garafino and Mayan cultures. The lodge staff had a Garfino drumming and dancing demonstration that all of the guests participated in learning. You can also learn about natural medicine, the process of making chocolate from cacao beans, survival skills, organic farming and much more. Cotton Tree is the place to experience all different types of tours - waterfalls, cave tubing, zip lining, mayan ruins and much more. We were only there a short time and did the Blue Creek Cave tour which is a must do for the adventurous souls. Hiking, rock and waterfall climbing and swimming through a long cave was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017

I had a great time at the Cotton tree Lodge. All the personal and guides were excellent. Agapito went out of his way to make all my tours so much fun. My friend was sick for 2 days and the staff went out of there way to help her.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 406val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016

Cotton Tree Lodge is truly a wonderfully unique experience that offers the opportunity explore the nearby exotic jungles, swim and kayak in the pristine Moho River, eat tasty cuisine from their sustainable organic garden, enjoy the peacefulness of disconnecting from busy atmospheres, and so much more. The staff at this eco-resort (Valerie - manager, Armando - gardener, etc) will strive towards providing the best venue for their guests to have an amazing experience. In addition, Cotton Tree Lodge provides training, jobs and careers for individuals in the nearby villages which allows enhanced leadership in these communities and the ability to further develop their skills and talents. Cotton Tree Lodge is a premiere example of an eco-friendly resort that specializes in sustainability in terms of food, employment, and community growth! Hands down, I would recommended this location to anyone looking for an adventure!

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dallas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

I stayed with my couple for one week at the Cotton Tree Lodge and the place is great. As it is a sustainable business they are keen on accepting woofers(volunteers) to work helping out with the farming and the gardens. The staff and management were very helpful at every moment and they made me feel like a family. We learned a lot while working in the gardens and it has been a lovely experience to do. The lodges are beautiful and well equipped too. Management organises routes in the joungle guided by local experts and they offer adventure trips and excursions. There are also kayaks and bicycles for the guests available so you can go for a ride to the local villages or have a paddle in the beautiful Moho river. moreover is nice to have a walk in the organic garden that supplies the kitchen and restaurant and learn about local plants.On the top of that there is a service of massage therapy and spa and the Lodge offer yoga lessons in the morning. Food has been outstanding and I have enjoyed a lot the stay. I wish all the team of the Cotton Tree Lodge great success in the future and thank you for making of this experience an unforgettable one.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Loreto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews