We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hickatee Cottages(Punta Gorda)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beya Suites(Punta Gorda)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Piece of Ground(Punta Gorda)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral House(Punta Gorda)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Front Inn(Punta Gorda)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Mahogany Villas(Forest Home)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
224
47
16
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
224
47
16
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrope swingmoho riverblue creek cavecacao farmmayan ruinshowler monkeysorganic gardenmosquito nettingjungle experiencejungle survivalcocoa beanstortillasserved family stylelearned howthere is no air conditioningrio blancofood restrictions
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 294 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2017

My husband and I visited 3 different resorts during our one week trip to Belize and staying at Cotton Tree was by far our favorite experience. Beautiful, peaceful, serene. Loved every minute of it.....from yoga to start the day to falling asleep listening to the howler monkeys. We had two sleeping experiences on the cabana boat (very romantic) and in one of the private cabanas. Was very comfortable in both....no bugs, cool enough that we didn't need any fans. Food was unbelievably good.....this is where you want to experience organic, authentic Belizean cusine. Not only did we get to experience the ecological aspects of the jungle, we got to learn so much about the Garafino and Mayan cultures. The lodge staff had a Garfino drumming and dancing demonstration that all of the guests participated in learning. You can also learn about natural medicine, the process of making chocolate from cacao beans, survival skills, organic farming and much more. Cotton Tree is the place to experience all different types of tours - waterfalls, cave tubing, zip lining, mayan ruins and much more. We were only there a short time and did the Blue Creek Cave tour which is a must do for the adventurous souls. Hiking, rock and waterfall climbing and swimming through a long cave was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017

I had a great time at the Cotton tree Lodge. All the personal and guides were excellent. Agapito went out of his way to make all my tours so much fun. My friend was sick for 2 days and the staff went out of there way to help her.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 406val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016

Cotton Tree Lodge is truly a wonderfully unique experience that offers the opportunity explore the nearby exotic jungles, swim and kayak in the pristine Moho River, eat tasty cuisine from their sustainable organic garden, enjoy the peacefulness of disconnecting from busy atmospheres, and so much more. The staff at this eco-resort (Valerie - manager, Armando - gardener, etc) will strive towards providing the best venue for their guests to have an amazing experience. In addition, Cotton Tree Lodge provides training, jobs and careers for individuals in the nearby villages which allows enhanced leadership in these communities and the ability to further develop their skills and talents. Cotton Tree Lodge is a premiere example of an eco-friendly resort that specializes in sustainability in terms of food, employment, and community growth! Hands down, I would recommended this location to anyone looking for an adventure!

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dallas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

I stayed with my couple for one week at the Cotton Tree Lodge and the place is great. As it is a sustainable business they are keen on accepting woofers(volunteers) to work helping out with the farming and the gardens. The staff and management were very helpful at every moment and they made me feel like a family. We learned a lot while working in the gardens and it has been a lovely experience to do. The lodges are beautiful and well equipped too. Management organises routes in the joungle guided by local experts and they offer adventure trips and excursions. There are also kayaks and bicycles for the guests available so you can go for a ride to the local villages or have a paddle in the beautiful Moho river. moreover is nice to have a walk in the organic garden that supplies the kitchen and restaurant and learn about local plants.On the top of that there is a service of massage therapy and spa and the Lodge offer yoga lessons in the morning. Food has been outstanding and I have enjoyed a lot the stay. I wish all the team of the Cotton Tree Lodge great success in the future and thank you for making of this experience an unforgettable one.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Loreto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

Cotton Tree Lodge is a quite pricey location that promises 'jungle luxury', but definitely doesn't deliver. We got the all inclusive package, only to find out it didn't include much at all. To reach the Lodge requires a 45 minute drive over the worst roads known to man. And all excursions have this travel or longer. The free wifi is checking of email only! Limited bandwidth prevents any work or contact back home. The food was mediocre at best--with no local options or seafood. After dinner there is NOTHING to do--and you feel like the staff is waiting for you to go to bed. We left after doing an excursion to "working" chocolate farm. It turned out to be a 2 hour hike while receiving the farmer's born again testimony and being told a lot of inaccuracies about cacao trees. The staff was sweet and helpful but we all agree with Caitrin C (see earlier review) that Valerie was unpleasant and passive aggressive. I had a very good massage with Parama. I needed it after those roads!!!! We bought a 5 day package and left after 2 days. Before you go---be VERY aware of the experience that awaits you.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chriscrowell, Owner at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2016


As 98% of the testimonials say, Cotton Tree Lodge is a great experience! In response to this review... Cotton Tree Lodge is a unique experience that provides a Eco Adventure. The remoteness of the lodge (yes its a trek over a bumpy road to get here ) is part of the charm in experiencing the rain forest. Our All inclusive rate includes (accommodations, 3 meals daily, local transportation, off site tours daily and all on the grounds activities such as garden tours, hiking trails, and kayaking), For most of our guests what we offer usually exceeds their expectations.The wyfi is available for checking email. Evenings are quiet and allow guests the chance to experience the nocturnal beauty of nature in the jungle. Our restaurant strives to provide the best quality "Farm to Table" meals daily. Fresh local options are the usual fare.
Eladio Pops Cacoa farm tour is one of the favorites excursions of our guests and provides a real life cultural experience and insight into a local farmers life.
Our Manager Ms Valerie is professional and works hard to provide the best possible experience for our guests...most say they are delighted with her and feel very cared for.
We offer a variety of wellness yoga/massage options at our on site spa. Luxury is not our hallmark, but certainly comfort is provided for all our guests in all that we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews