We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great adventure!”
Review of Cotton Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cotton Tree Lodge
Ranked #4 of 17 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great adventure!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was a great adventure--but an adventure with the welcome addition of comfort and knowledgeable people to show us where to have fun!

We loved the healthy, well-tended jungle feel of Cotton Tree--it really does look like the pictures! The cabanas and grounds are beautiful, and the staff are wonderful.

My husband and I stayed for a week, and were amazed at how many different tours and excursions there were to choose from. My favorite may have been the Blue cave adventure--a beautiful hike up to the cave, then way, way back into the cave, in water all the way, swimming and scrambling over waterfalls, with helmets, headlamps and life preservers--I amazed myself! The tour of the chocolate farm was also exceptional--a unique glimpse into the spiritual side of sustainable farming, and Mayan family life as well. (And despite what you may have heard, there really are white chocolate beans!)

If you possibly can, do the three day boat tour down the river through the jungle, across the bay and into Guatemala! The owner, Chris, has been in the area for many, many years, and seems to know every little out of the way place, and all the people, too! Wonderful to be so far from the tourist crowds, to experience the beauty of the Rio Dulce, to see men fishing with nets from dugout canoes, to climb to the hot waterfalls--and to enjoy the sudden unexpected elegance of great waterfront restaurants and jungle bars catering to the international sailboats at Fronteras!

The staff are attentive, knowledgeable and fun, the grounds and cabanas are exactly the way I'd hoped, the food is plentiful, the drinks are amazing. It was an exciting, memorable week, and we're already discussing a return trip.

Room Tip: Get the all inclusive package and do the tours. And go for the deluxe cabanas--how often are you in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgkukal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    44
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
107
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just got back from Belize having been there 2 week, Spent a few days staying in the Jungle Hut at Cotton Tree Lodge. If you are looking for Comfort, convenience, or luxury go somewhere else. If however your looking for a real jungle experience then this is place. Our cabin was close to a half a mile over board walk into the jungle. We had a troop (?) of howlers roosting over our head all three days. We first found that out at 11:30 the first night when they began to "howl" LOUDLY. Then again at 2 am and then again at 5:30 this happened every night for 3 nights. Did I mention loudly. At first it scared the crap out of us but then we remembered the bed was covered by mosquito netting so we should be safe, did I MENTION THEY WERE LOUD. During the day we watched them off our back deck just yards away and were amazed how something that small could make that much noise. Cotton Tree is quite an experience, the road there is bad even by Belizian standards there are few to no signs directing you there DO NOT take the coastal Highway as it is neither a highway nor does it run near the coast. Do the "all inclusive" package as there is a charge for everything and everything is expensive. Food is adequate, as is service, One complaint is there is not a comfortable chair within 50 miles of this place they are all wooden and hard and after a day bouncing around on the roads or walking thru the jungle a soft chair to sit on would have been nice. Did I mention the monkeys were loud?

Room Tip: Howler Hut if your brave enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NDanger580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Wonderful place to relax and just take in the beauty of Belize. This is a rustic get away and is worth the bump ride into the resort. The river is the perfect temperature to swim in, the cabins are clean and spacious and the Howler Monkeys and birds are always entertaining. The staff are very friendly and generous and the food was great. Our group had many people with food restrictions and the kitchen staff went out of their way to make sure everyone had enough to eat. The bar also makes some mean blender drinks! This is a really special place and I too recommend Eladdio's chocolate farm. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: River side rooms have huge balconies which are wonderful to watch the birds and butterflies cruise b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flybyinstinct6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My wife and I recently took a trip to the cotton tree, and I can't say enough about our visit. The staff was extremely friendly, the meals were delicious, and the tours were outstanding. I highly, highly recommend taking Eladdio's chocolate farm tour. This guy's is amazing!

I see that a few reviews have panned cotton tree mostly due to the unpaved road into the property, the "rustic" setting, and the insects. All I can say is, get over yourself! You're staying at an eco lodge in the middle of the jungle, not the Ritz Carlton in the middle of New York City. If you show up at cotton tree ready to appreciate the jungle, enjoy yourself, and understand that you're staying in "country setting," then you're going to have the time of your life. This is a truly unique place with a lot to offer.

Thank you cotton tree, for making this trip so incredible. We had a remarkable experience!

PS-special thanks to intern Noel for his time, effort, and energy!

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying a little extra for a riverside cabana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Honestly the best place I have ever stayed. I have traveled a ton in my years and never have I had such a great experience! Fresh, truly organic food that is prepared without a fear of allergies. The staff is extremely friendly and trustworthy which is hard to find in certain countries. Beautiful scenery and lot of activities that can be catered to your living style.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We took a group of 19 travelers ages 9 to 83 to Cotton Tree Lodge and experienced all that we hoped to on a community college study abroad experience. With so many activities for all ages, this was a trip that appealed to all members of our group. Granted, our group knew that we would be in the middle of the jungle and wouldn't have air conditioning, but the swim in the Moho River each night more than made up for the lack of it. The staff was very accommodating and we developed a respect for the Mayan people and culture. The food was excellent and well prepared, and the guides were knowledgeable and kind. Our bird watchers recoded seeing 74 varieties of birds including the national bird, the Toucan! Our jungle cabanas provided the perfect environment for our Eco tour. We hope to go back in the future!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We arrived at Cotton tree and really felt as though we had found a gem off the beaten path! My husband and I were travelling with our 3 children ... an 18,15 and 11 year old as well as my mom. We spent our first night in a Family Cabana Tree House ... so magical. Rustic, yet beautiful and comfortable. We love adventure and so exposure to the elements in terms of heat and humidity truly added to our jungle experience ... not to worry ... we had fans! The sights and sounds of the jungle were truly magical ... birds, iguana's and howler monkeys Not to waste a second we rose early for a morning kayak paddle on the Moho River ... the misty tranquility provided an amazing start to our first full day. After a lovely breakfast we headed off on an excursion of Eladio's Organic Cacao Farm. I cannot say enough about this tour ... it is an absolute must do!!! Eladio is a Belizean treasure ... his pride is palpable, welcoming you into his home, introducing his family and sharing details of his culture and livelihood.
Upon our return to Cotton tree Lodge we cooled off in the Moho River taking full advantage of the rope swing! My daughter and I then enjoyed a lovely late afternoon horseback ride through the jungle. My mom, daughter and I then took in a stunning sunset kayak on the River. We enjoyed Happy Hour at the River Bar ... met the owner of the lodge and enjoyed the company of fellow visitors. After another great meal we settled into the Family Cabana ... Garden view room. It was on the top floor of the tree house ... different, but equally as lovely as the first tree house. We loved our experience and wish we had another day or two to take in other excursions and explore the Punta Gorda region. The staff was so very friendly and helpful. Food was great ... experience priceless. My youngest sons Grade 6 class collected a shipment of school supplies that we had planned on delivering in person to two nearby schools ... unfortunately it was Easter break and school wasn't in session ... we left the supplies with the staff at Cottontree and they delivered them for us.
We look forward to returning for a longer stay someday soon,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
23.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#7 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
8.0 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Lodge

Property: Cotton Tree Lodge
Address: Moho River, Punta Gorda, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is hidden between the Moho River, the rain forest, and Mayan villages in southern Belize. Stay in beautiful thatch cabanas with private bathrooms and verandas. Enjoy delicious cuisine prepared with organic produce from our garden. Try kayaking, birding, swimming, and horseback riding on the grounds. Connect with the people and culture of Belize on daily tours to villages, Mayan ruins, cacao farms, caves, waterfalls, and more. Or simply relax in a hammock all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HRS, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cotton Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel Punta Gorda
Cotton Tree Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing