We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CottonTree Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cotton Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotton Tree Lodge
Ranked #4 of 17 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CottonTree Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a GREAT time at the lodge and would recommend it. Truly a unique vacation and tons to do. Food is excellent and plenty of it. Wonderful experience in the jungle! We also had a supurb fishing guide for three days. That got us on fish. Wow.. the vastbess of the mangroves and fishing. And I thought we had the best fishing in SW Florida.... Wrong!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Owner at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
The fishing by us is incredible. I've heard people refer to it as how fishing had been in Florida 50 years ago. The Sapodilla Cayes Marine Reserve does a great job of protecting the local fish populations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    44
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
106
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I loved our week at Cotton Tree. Our cabana was clean, comfortable, quiet and private. With all of the screening, we felt like we were outdoors. At night we enjoyed hearing the howler monkeys in the distance, and an occasional iguana plop into the river. In the morning we heard a variety of birds trilling their unique songs. (Our only negative comment is that the mattresses were thin and at times I could feel the springs through them. I think a simple foam topper would do wonders!)

The food was excellent and plentiful. Breakfasts were buffet, but you could get made-to-order eggs any way you liked There was always fresh fruit and baked goods. Most lunches we had were packed, as we were out on excursions. They were always delicious. For example, large burritos, or rice dishes featuring shrimp or chicken and fresh fruit for dessert. Dinners were good, as well. Every night started with yummy appetizers that we ate while milling around with other guests, often purchasing a drink or two. The actual meal began always began with soup, always tasty and different each night, followed by an interesting salad, and then the main course and dessert.

The activities and guides who accompanied us were wonderful. We especially liked Tiger Cave, a strenuous (and muddy) hike to see beautiful cave formations. We had to get down on our bellies and slither through one crevice to see a spectacular speliothem-filled room. It was worth getting muddy for. The Blue Creek cave swim was just as arduous. We had to swim against current on the way in, making it challenging but lots of fun. After the cave exploration we swam in the lovely creek. Everyone went off the rope swing there at least once. Other excursions we enjoyed were the Nim Li Punit/lunch in our guide's village/tubing trip; a full day of kayaking down the beautiful Moho River; a day at Eladio's cacao farm. We also fit in horseback riding (lots of fun-if you stay on the road you can trot the horses or go even faster), and swims in the Moho right on the property.

The grounds at Cotton Tree are beautiful, enhanced by views of the river, the many types of trees, the organic garden and farm with goats, sheep and horses, and lovely buildings. The staff is great-friendly and very accommodating.

We did get a great rate on the all-inclusive price because we had spent a week at ReefCI. It was well worth combining the two places. We would love to return some day.

Room Tip: Get a cabana!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventuress115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Owner at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I'm so glad you had such a lovely time! Yes, combining a stay with a scuba diving trip through ReefCI is a wonderful combination. Tiger Cave is phenomenal but can be muddy in spots. I hope you can make it back sometime again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Cotton Tree Lodge offered the best experiences we had in Belize. I would go back just for the food [be sure to upgrade for the meals and the tours and upgrade to a cabana]. They offer as
many activities as the area allows. Kayaking was an awesome way to see the area even though we chose to do the too long trip. Our guide, William, was patient and helpful. One unexpected highlight was with the Bush Doctor who showed us 15 useful plants within 25 feet and cured our sunburns [be sure that your sunscreen is waterproof before you leave home]. The snorkeling was gorgeous with a delicious lunch and with guides that kept us away from the sand fleas and provided good equipment. The grounds are spotlessly clean. The bar drinks cold. The people well trained and friendly.The water safe. I only heard the holler monkeys just before dawn twice and thought it was someone snoring! Fun! I only saw one bug. My son found a few more when he went into deeper jungle [buy the repellent that the Lodge offers].
Thank you Cotton Tree.

Room Tip: Upgrade from the Garden Vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merrilee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back to Cotton Tree soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I came to Cotton Tree Lodge with a friend-- we had been looking for a unique travel experience and found the Groupon offer. We upgraded to all-inclusive and couldn't be happier with our stay. Before our arrival, I was emailing with the offices both in NYC and Belize. Everyone was extremely helpful and knowledgeable and made planning the trip planning process smooth and pleasant. The previous reviews on this site regarding the rooms and amenities are pretty accurate and helped to prepare us-- this is definitely not the resort for the set who can't live without a blow dryer and retch at the thought of sharing a room with a creepy crawlie or two. If, however, you can sleep through the heat and the howler monkeys (I slept like a rock every night, but then again I'm a pretty heavy sleeper), then this is the perfect place-- a rich cultural, adventurous, exotic vacation spot with so much heart. The property was unbelievably beautiful with trees, fruits, vegetables and flowers everywhere we turned. There were plenty of things to do at the resort-- horseback riding, kayaking, biking, swimming in the river and taking a turn on the rope swing, exploring the grounds, on-site tours and just hanging around meeting other guests. Staff was warm and hospitable, made sure we were having a good time and in some cases, literally welcomed us into their homes (for lunch during tour days). The food and bar service was great. After reading the reviews, I was worried my hunger for traditional ethnic foods would be left unsatisfied, but I was pleasantly surprised by conch stew the first night and rice and beans with chicken another night! Yummmm. Family-style dinners encouraged guests to interact and make plans with each other; I would not have had it any other way. The off-site tours were amazing (Blue Creek hike and cave is a must!). We were worried about the fact that activities are planned according to interest, but at check-in, we selected the tours we wanted and the staff ensured we got to everything on our list. We certainly got the unique and adventurous experience we were looking for, but without a doubt the best thing about Cotton Tree Lodge is the exceptional service provided by its amazing staff.

Room Tip: - Go for all-inclusive. Unlimited tours and activities, and not having to worry about meals is a def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelimae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for all of the kind words. It is so helpful to have guests write details of their experiences. Visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent an incredible week in February at this amazing jungle/rain forest lodge along the Moho River. All the cabanas are made from beautiful local woods and furnishings and are quite open, surrounded by netting. Remember you are in the jungle, people don't belong here. You're on the critters turf. If you see something creeping around the room, just accept it. You are not here for creature comforts but hopefully came for a sense of adventure and learning.
The all inclusive package is the only way to go. Three daily meals including a four course dinner that is itself an adventure of culinary delights. Take as many excursions as time permits, each will become a special memory. If there is something you would to do just ask.
We have never had such outstanding care and treatment from locals and staff anywhere....thank you and the wonderful Mayan community ...for our outstanding trip

Room Tip: Loved our river front cabana... the "jungle cabana" is not for the timid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oceancoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback! It is always great to hear what people have to say about their jungle experience and we appreciate you sharing yours. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

my wife and 8 yr old travel every spring. spent 9 days at the lodge. it was our best trip ever.
seeing so many birds, listening to the howler monkeys, swimming in the moho river, making tortillas and chocolate from scratch; learning about all the plants ... a fantastic environmental and world education for a child or adult. extremely warm and engaging people. its an eco-wonderland

-laurence

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Laurence,
Thanks very much for the kind words! We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay. We often find that parents that travel here with their kids find it to be a truly unique educational opportunity for their children, and we're glad you had that experience. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here earlier this year- the grounds and setting are lovely and beautifully maintained, with a rich diversity of jungle plants and trees and also gardens- it really is a small botanical garden. The cabanas were very clean, comfortable, pleasant, and maintained daily- I never had an problem with bugs although this is the jungle and one never knows when one may get in. One thing I would ask for (and did, although it did not materialize) is a lamp or light to read by at night- didn't much like the fluorescent - although perhaps "eco friendly" - overhead light .

The food was delicious and well prepared, although I would have preferred an alternative to the consistent "family style" 3-4 course service- such as a buffet and being able to sit on my own or with a small group now and then.

The staff was composed of all friendly local folks, mostly from Mayan villages- this made for superb guidance for the area with regard to the jungle, hikes, local attractions, flora and fauna. I particularly loved my informal garden and botanical tour from Armando one afternoon. Yet there was a slight disconnect during my stay as to the basic hospitality desires of the mostly North American guests- we had to ask for basic things like having coffee and tea set up in the early morning, (as well as for dinner to have with dessert) and having beverage availability in mid day- when the tours are over and there is a long rest period between afternoon and the very specific timed dinner service. There also wasn't an orientation of the lodge and grounds- just one for the cabana and getting to and from the room to the main lodge. I would have loved to have an overview and tour, since the setting is so special and they have done a lot to develop it in terns of gardens, plantings, and on-site recreation.

As I was leaving, the lodge appeared to be in the midst of getting a small lodge set up for possible yoga /meditation/retreat activities.

The lodge is set up to offer an array of tours, all individually priced and guided (with delicious and carefully packed lunches) - yet if you are independent minded, as I would be if I returned to the general region- it's easy enough to rent an all wheel drive and locate the parks, villages, ruins, and some other local attractions on your own with some planning.

Room Tip: I had a cabana with a back veranda overlooking river, with hammocks and chairs. would recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hederoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the the thorough feedback. We are constantly working to improve the experience for our guests, so we're happy to hear what you think. More complete information about the grounds for our guests is something that we are working on so please know that we hear your feedback there. The lighting in the cabanas is a delicate balance as additional lighting uses more of our solar resources and attracts more bugs, but we do want our guests to be able to read comfortably in bed so little lamps is something we have been adding to the cabanas. We have also been making snacks and cold beverages available in the afternoon for guests returning from tours. We do offer a buffet style dinner with individual tables one night per week, and have been experimenting with offering that on other nights as well since some guests have requested this. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we are listening to your feedback. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
23.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#8 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
8.0 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Lodge

Property: Cotton Tree Lodge
Address: Moho River, Punta Gorda, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is hidden between the Moho River, the rain forest, and Mayan villages in southern Belize. Stay in beautiful thatch cabanas with private bathrooms and verandas. Enjoy delicious cuisine prepared with organic produce from our garden. Try kayaking, birding, swimming, and horseback riding on the grounds. Connect with the people and culture of Belize on daily tours to villages, Mayan ruins, cacao farms, caves, waterfalls, and more. Or simply relax in a hammock all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cotton Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel Punta Gorda
Cotton Tree Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing