We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Adventures & Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cotton Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotton Tree Lodge
Ranked #4 of 17 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrific Adventures & Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent an incredible week in February at this amazing jungle/rain forest lodge along the Moho River. All the cabanas are made from beautiful local woods and furnishings and are quite open, surrounded by netting. Remember you are in the jungle, people don't belong here. You're on the critters turf. If you see something creeping around the room, just accept it. You are not here for creature comforts but hopefully came for a sense of adventure and learning.
The all inclusive package is the only way to go. Three daily meals including a four course dinner that is itself an adventure of culinary delights. Take as many excursions as time permits, each will become a special memory. If there is something you would to do just ask.
We have never had such outstanding care and treatment from locals and staff anywhere....thank you and the wonderful Mayan community ...for our outstanding trip

Room Tip: Loved our river front cabana... the "jungle cabana" is not for the timid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oceancoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback! It is always great to hear what people have to say about their jungle experience and we appreciate you sharing yours. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    44
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
106
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

my wife and 8 yr old travel every spring. spent 9 days at the lodge. it was our best trip ever.
seeing so many birds, listening to the howler monkeys, swimming in the moho river, making tortillas and chocolate from scratch; learning about all the plants ... a fantastic environmental and world education for a child or adult. extremely warm and engaging people. its an eco-wonderland

-laurence

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Laurence,
Thanks very much for the kind words! We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay. We often find that parents that travel here with their kids find it to be a truly unique educational opportunity for their children, and we're glad you had that experience. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here earlier this year- the grounds and setting are lovely and beautifully maintained, with a rich diversity of jungle plants and trees and also gardens- it really is a small botanical garden. The cabanas were very clean, comfortable, pleasant, and maintained daily- I never had an problem with bugs although this is the jungle and one never knows when one may get in. One thing I would ask for (and did, although it did not materialize) is a lamp or light to read by at night- didn't much like the fluorescent - although perhaps "eco friendly" - overhead light .

The food was delicious and well prepared, although I would have preferred an alternative to the consistent "family style" 3-4 course service- such as a buffet and being able to sit on my own or with a small group now and then.

The staff was composed of all friendly local folks, mostly from Mayan villages- this made for superb guidance for the area with regard to the jungle, hikes, local attractions, flora and fauna. I particularly loved my informal garden and botanical tour from Armando one afternoon. Yet there was a slight disconnect during my stay as to the basic hospitality desires of the mostly North American guests- we had to ask for basic things like having coffee and tea set up in the early morning, (as well as for dinner to have with dessert) and having beverage availability in mid day- when the tours are over and there is a long rest period between afternoon and the very specific timed dinner service. There also wasn't an orientation of the lodge and grounds- just one for the cabana and getting to and from the room to the main lodge. I would have loved to have an overview and tour, since the setting is so special and they have done a lot to develop it in terns of gardens, plantings, and on-site recreation.

As I was leaving, the lodge appeared to be in the midst of getting a small lodge set up for possible yoga /meditation/retreat activities.

The lodge is set up to offer an array of tours, all individually priced and guided (with delicious and carefully packed lunches) - yet if you are independent minded, as I would be if I returned to the general region- it's easy enough to rent an all wheel drive and locate the parks, villages, ruins, and some other local attractions on your own with some planning.

Room Tip: I had a cabana with a back veranda overlooking river, with hammocks and chairs. would recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hederoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the the thorough feedback. We are constantly working to improve the experience for our guests, so we're happy to hear what you think. More complete information about the grounds for our guests is something that we are working on so please know that we hear your feedback there. The lighting in the cabanas is a delicate balance as additional lighting uses more of our solar resources and attracts more bugs, but we do want our guests to be able to read comfortably in bed so little lamps is something we have been adding to the cabanas. We have also been making snacks and cold beverages available in the afternoon for guests returning from tours. We do offer a buffet style dinner with individual tables one night per week, and have been experimenting with offering that on other nights as well since some guests have requested this. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we are listening to your feedback. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in early March. The lodge is beautiful and the staff are friendly. The meals were delicious. Alcoholic drinks were not included in the all-inclusive price and turned out to be quite expensive - $5 for a beer and $7 for rum punch, but our stay was still overall much less expensive than another resort we stayed at. The tours were very fun. We did a cacao farm tour which was fun and interesting. We also did a zip lining (extra cost) and river tubing tour. We enjoyed stopping mid river and drinking rum and coconut water from a coconut. The cabanas were clean, but they are in the jungle so we had cockroaches in the bathroom at night and one night there was a giant spider by the bed. But this is just the result of staying in the jungle, not the fault of the lodge. The bed is surrounded by mosquito netting and the bugs were not too bad while we were there. We only wore bug repellant on our cacao farm tour and only got a few mosquito bites during our stay. The cabanas have screens all around so you will hear the sounds of the jungle all night long, so if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs, but the sounds of the jungle - bugs, birds, howler monkeys - were one of my favorite things about this trip. My husband also loved swimming in the river. The staff are so kind and will do their best to accommodate your interests when scheduling excursions but you will have to do what works out with the other guests. We recommend going out to the jungle cabana for a visit if it is not occupied.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a hammock. They are listed on the website. I think the one we stayed in was a delux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for all of the kind words. We are always happy to be able to pass along to our local staff all of the wonderful things the guests are saying about them here and in emails. We offer a drink special daily to keep the cost of our bar offerings down, but we do have to factor our remote location off of the grid into these prices since we must transport all of our own drinks, buy ice, provide electricity for refrigerators, etc. While it is the jungle and we do have bugs all around us, we are constantly trying to improve the experience of our guests, and that includes bug control through the use of natural insecticides so that they are minimal in the cabanas. Thanks for the feedback as we continually work on this. Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My sister and I came to Cotton Tree Lodge for her birthday, and had a wonderful time! The cabanas were amazing, clean and roomy. The daily activities for touring were excellent, highly recommend the cacao farm and blue creek tours. We learned so much about cacao on this trip! The spelunking we did at Blue Creek was so worth the trip-swimming in caves, seeing the ruins on the ceilings...wonderful. We also did a day trip into the city-which was great-seeing the local fares, food and visiting the pharmacy-no prescriptions needed! We did a day trip on horseback to local caves, which was terrific-just the horseback riding adventure alone was amazing! Cotton Tree had amazing food, on site tours were so informative...and the staff? Can I say? Excellent! The howler monkeys are on site, enjoy! Can also hike on site, and enjoy kayaking on the river. Take a day trip to Guatemala if so inclined. Would I come back? Definitely! A+++++ experience in Belize!

Room Tip: The rooms are mostly the same, depending on your family size. We were 2 sisters, each had a queen si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Inessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congers, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I received this reservation as a gift from our daughter and son in law and we arrived one week after they got married. We wondered about malaria and other health issues. To our great surprise we felt so welcomed and safe.
The Lodge is truly a meeting place of very interesting world travelers. It becomes immediately apparent that the whole staff is concerned about your comfort. Most of the staff were very gracious Mayans and the chef, Sean, was a daily delight to talk with about recipes. We had read a few blogs about Cotton Tree and watched some Youtube videos. We were very happy that we paid attention to buying river shoes, taking malaria pills and brought plenty of bug repellant. The weather during our week was very moderate and the mosquitoes were not a big problem. The Blue Cave expedition is not to be missed, followed by a rope swing splash in the pool below.
Our accommodations in a cabana were cozy with a wonderful river view. The full meal plan is the way to go since there are no other food accommodations available. The small plane to get to Cotton Tree was an extraordinary view of the coast.
One note of caution would be that there is little health care in the area. Someone with compromised health issues should take note that medical care would be hard to find.
Although we had heard from others that it is not recommended to stay in Belize City, we never felt unsafe in any other area that we visited.
It 's wonderful to see that Cotton Tree also invites interns to help them establish ways of improving life in the local villages. By all means, we would go back!

Room Tip: We do not recommend the remote jungle hut. It seems very isolated. Our cabana was great. We never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Peter,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for all of the great feedback. It is truly wonderful to hear from our guests after they have a great stay. We do have two doctors down the road who are able to make house calls, and in case of emergency there is a hospital in Punta Gorda. Great to hear you found your cabana to be very comfortable- the jungle cabana is definitely not for everyone but is quite well-suited for those looking for an adventure further into the jungle. Thanks again- come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a great time at Cotton Tree. The staff took good care of us and enabled us to fully recover from a active week of diving on Tom Owens Cay. We especially enjoyed being able to roam about and get to know the local folks. The visit to the cacao farm and ensuing lunch and cacao demonstration was perhaps our favorite. The accommodations were fun and novel. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Cotton Tree Lodge. Thanks for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
23.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#8 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
8.0 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Lodge

Property: Cotton Tree Lodge
Address: Moho River, Punta Gorda, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is hidden between the Moho River, the rain forest, and Mayan villages in southern Belize. Stay in beautiful thatch cabanas with private bathrooms and verandas. Enjoy delicious cuisine prepared with organic produce from our garden. Try kayaking, birding, swimming, and horseback riding on the grounds. Connect with the people and culture of Belize on daily tours to villages, Mayan ruins, cacao farms, caves, waterfalls, and more. Or simply relax in a hammock all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cotton Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel Punta Gorda
Cotton Tree Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing