We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cotton Tree Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Copal Tree Lodge, a Muy'Ono Resort(Punta Gorda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozy Corner(Placencia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ranguana Lodge(Placencia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
218
44
16
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
218
44
16
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrope swingmoho riverblue creek caveall inclusive packagecacao farmmayan ruinshowler monkeysorganic gardenmosquito nettingjungle experiencejungle housejungle survivalserved family stylethere is no air conditioningplace is beautifulprior to our arrivalzip lining
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 284 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

If your looking for a 5 star resort with crowded pools, hundreds of guests and a busy lifestyle, then i suggest you don't come here. The Cotton Tree Lodge, gives you an experience that you will never forget. From the rustic, yet very comfortable tree houses (for lack of a better term), to the daily excursions, the Cotton Tree Lodge cannot be matched. The hospitality is outstanding, and I would highly recommend the Cotton Tree Lodge to anyone looking for a relaxing yet adventurous vacation, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Cotton Tree Lodge was AWESOME!!! We stayed Jan. 16-20, and even though I had booked the wrong dates by mistake (getting mixed up with a different hotel during out vacation), they were 100% accommodating to our "on the spot" reservation. They excursions we did (Mayan ruins with Pop, cacao jungle with Eladio, and Blue Creek Cave with Pop) were all 5 star. We loved getting emerged into the Mayan culture. Having lunch with Pop and Eladio's family were the highlights of our trip to Belize. The owner, Chris, is such an awesome guy. Definitely try to chat with him if you get the chance. Oh, and the food was so healthy, fresh, and delicious! Most of it comes directly from the jungle. And it is great eating with other guests, and exchanging stories from the day. We did find quite a few cockroaches and 2 tarantulas in our bedroom... but that's all part of the experience. Don't miss the opportunity to visit Cotton Tree Lodge. I felt so blessed to have booked this portion of our vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linds038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office Manager at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thanks for the kind words, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks also for the feedback about the bugs. While it is the jungle and we do have bugs all around us, we are constantly trying to improve the experience of our guests, and that includes bug control through the use of natural insecticides so that they are minimal in the cabanas. Thanks again for the good words, and the feedback to us to improve the experience for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We just returned from our stay at Cotton Tree Lodge and even though I'm a retired writer, I can't find adjectives worthy of describing this jungle paradise! If there was a 10-star-rating, they would have it from our group of five. The ambiance, accomodations, cuisine, professionalism, courtesy, warmth, friendliness and lush grounds are second to none. Travel & Leisure is sorely missing out by not featuring this buccolic tropical wonderland!!!!!! Last, but not least, there is something for everyone to do and all is amazingly affordable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Cotton Tree Lodge in the Jungle Cabana 12/11-15/12 & we had an amazing time. Our ride was waiting for us when we arrived in Punta Gorda & we rode to the lodge. Check in was smooth &friendly. We are both world travelers & cannot praise Cotton Tree Lodge or the staff enough! We stayed in the Jungle Cabana (AWESOME!). We are both adventuresome types of people & the Jungle Cabana was right up our alley! We took the Blue Creek Cave, Nim Li Punit/River Tubing w/optional ziplining, & Eladio’s Chocolate Farm tours during our stay. Pop was our guide for all 3 tours & did an incredible job! When we had to leave (yes - we would have LOVED to have been able to stay longer!), we left via boat on the Moho River. We cannot praise Chris & Jeff (owners) highly enough nor their staff! We both highly recommend staying at Cotton Tree AND we highly recommend staying as long as possible! Thank you to all Chris, Jeff, Pop, & all the staff for a wonderful stay! We WILL be back!

Room Tip: For those that can handle more rustic - Jungle Cabana is spot on!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammys511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My friend and I stayed for 6 nights at Cotton Tree Lodge in April 2012. We had a fantastic time! The staff are very knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful, and the day trips were absolutely fantastic. We were able to do a trip each day, and they included snorkeling in the Caribbean, chocolate making & lunch at Eladio Pop's cacao farm, visiting Mayan ruins and tubing down a local river, exploring Blue Creek Cave (highly recommended!), and tortilla-making with Mrs. Bo in her home. Each day trip was unique and special in its own way; the cacao farm and tortilla-making were awesome because we were able to talk with some of the locals and feel connected, whereas the snorkeling, Mayan ruins/ tubing, & Blue Creek Cave were extraordinary semi-adventure excursions. If you do go to Cotton Tree, try to squeeze in as many day trips as you can---they are all worthy in their own way. We stayed in a deluxe cabana, which meant we had a porch with two hammocks. The hammocks were great to relax in after being out all day, but watch out for the biting insects! We used a fair share of bug spray down there. The lodging was very nice; my only minor complaint is that there is no air-conditioning, so be prepared to sweat a lot. The cabanas do have ceiling fans; ours was okay. But the fact that there is no air conditioning gives you a true sense of how the locals live, so that in itself is definitely a learning experience. Overall, I highly, highly recommend Cotton Tree Lodge and Belize! Truly a one-of-a-kind trip!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews