We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Jungle Experience”
Review of Cotton Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cotton Tree Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Cotton Tree Lodge offers a true jungle experience. GREEN for sure, lots of rain. The rooms are clean - but watch for critters! If you use a Groupon Coupon be ready for additional money, especially for food. They need to have smaller offerings for meals - cost is too high if you don't eat big meals - not any other choices. The tours are great, the tour guides know their country. Chris, owner, eats dinner with the group.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachDocCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Hi there. Thanks for the feedback. We are quite green here in the jungle both literally and figuratively. Future guests will be happy to know that the rainy season has ended for the year and rain is scarce from here on out. At the beginning of the season we had offered a Groupon, but it is no longer available. It included bed, breakfast, and a tour. We have a fixed price dinner option for guests who choose to dine with us and the other option for guests with their own transportation is to eat in town. We do offer the opportunity for our Groupon guests to upgrade to an all-inclusive package, which is great for those guests planning to eat meals here and go on several tours. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Cotton Tree Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 271 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

If your looking for a 5 star resort with crowded pools, hundreds of guests and a busy lifestyle, then i suggest you don't come here. The Cotton Tree Lodge, gives you an experience that you will never forget. From the rustic, yet very comfortable tree houses (for lack of a better term), to the daily excursions, the Cotton Tree Lodge cannot be matched. The hospitality is outstanding, and I would highly recommend the Cotton Tree Lodge to anyone looking for a relaxing yet adventurous vacation, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Cotton Tree Lodge was AWESOME!!! We stayed Jan. 16-20, and even though I had booked the wrong dates by mistake (getting mixed up with a different hotel during out vacation), they were 100% accommodating to our "on the spot" reservation. They excursions we did (Mayan ruins with Pop, cacao jungle with Eladio, and Blue Creek Cave with Pop) were all 5 star. We loved getting emerged into the Mayan culture. Having lunch with Pop and Eladio's family were the highlights of our trip to Belize. The owner, Chris, is such an awesome guy. Definitely try to chat with him if you get the chance. Oh, and the food was so healthy, fresh, and delicious! Most of it comes directly from the jungle. And it is great eating with other guests, and exchanging stories from the day. We did find quite a few cockroaches and 2 tarantulas in our bedroom... but that's all part of the experience. Don't miss the opportunity to visit Cotton Tree Lodge. I felt so blessed to have booked this portion of our vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linds038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottontreebelize, Front Office Manager at Cotton Tree Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thanks for the kind words, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks also for the feedback about the bugs. While it is the jungle and we do have bugs all around us, we are constantly trying to improve the experience of our guests, and that includes bug control through the use of natural insecticides so that they are minimal in the cabanas. Thanks again for the good words, and the feedback to us to improve the experience for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We just returned from our stay at Cotton Tree Lodge and even though I'm a retired writer, I can't find adjectives worthy of describing this jungle paradise! If there was a 10-star-rating, they would have it from our group of five. The ambiance, accomodations, cuisine, professionalism, courtesy, warmth, friendliness and lush grounds are second to none. Travel & Leisure is sorely missing out by not featuring this buccolic tropical wonderland!!!!!! Last, but not least, there is something for everyone to do and all is amazingly affordable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Cotton Tree Lodge in the Jungle Cabana 12/11-15/12 & we had an amazing time. Our ride was waiting for us when we arrived in Punta Gorda & we rode to the lodge. Check in was smooth &friendly. We are both world travelers & cannot praise Cotton Tree Lodge or the staff enough! We stayed in the Jungle Cabana (AWESOME!). We are both adventuresome types of people & the Jungle Cabana was right up our alley! We took the Blue Creek Cave, Nim Li Punit/River Tubing w/optional ziplining, & Eladio’s Chocolate Farm tours during our stay. Pop was our guide for all 3 tours & did an incredible job! When we had to leave (yes - we would have LOVED to have been able to stay longer!), we left via boat on the Moho River. We cannot praise Chris & Jeff (owners) highly enough nor their staff! We both highly recommend staying at Cotton Tree AND we highly recommend staying as long as possible! Thank you to all Chris, Jeff, Pop, & all the staff for a wonderful stay! We WILL be back!

Room Tip: For those that can handle more rustic - Jungle Cabana is spot on!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My friend and I stayed for 6 nights at Cotton Tree Lodge in April 2012. We had a fantastic time! The staff are very knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful, and the day trips were absolutely fantastic. We were able to do a trip each day, and they included snorkeling in the Caribbean, chocolate making & lunch at Eladio Pop's cacao farm, visiting Mayan ruins and tubing down a local river, exploring Blue Creek Cave (highly recommended!), and tortilla-making with Mrs. Bo in her home. Each day trip was unique and special in its own way; the cacao farm and tortilla-making were awesome because we were able to talk with some of the locals and feel connected, whereas the snorkeling, Mayan ruins/ tubing, & Blue Creek Cave were extraordinary semi-adventure excursions. If you do go to Cotton Tree, try to squeeze in as many day trips as you can---they are all worthy in their own way. We stayed in a deluxe cabana, which meant we had a porch with two hammocks. The hammocks were great to relax in after being out all day, but watch out for the biting insects! We used a fair share of bug spray down there. The lodging was very nice; my only minor complaint is that there is no air-conditioning, so be prepared to sweat a lot. The cabanas do have ceiling fans; ours was okay. But the fact that there is no air conditioning gives you a true sense of how the locals live, so that in itself is definitely a learning experience. Overall, I highly, highly recommend Cotton Tree Lodge and Belize! Truly a one-of-a-kind trip!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I went to Cotton Tree last April and we had the time of our lives!! We enjoyed every minute of our trip and wished we would of been able to stay longer.(We were there for 6 nights). There were still a few excursions we wish we could have done , they were all soooo intriguing .....We loved the ruins/river float and zip lining , the cacao farm was a great experience to feel their culture. I really had to go to the blue waters of the sea, snorkeling was worth the extra money. My favorite was the Blue Creek hike and canyon swim.....that one will be in my mind forever, that place is beautiful. The guides were fabulous!!! They seem genuinely happy to share their country with us, they are very knowledgeable and completely "get" customer service! Cotton Tree is a great place to unwind on a kayak on the river, rest on the cabana porch on the swing or kick it up with great adventures. Keep up the great work Cotton Tree Staff.

Room Tip: get one by the river......so pretty!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
9.1 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
259 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
43 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hickatee Cottages
Hickatee Cottages
#1 of 18 in Punta Gorda
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
91 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
193 reviews
8.0 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 18 in Punta Gorda
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Lodge

Address: Moho River, Punta Gorda, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: $176 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotton Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our eco-lodge is hidden between the Moho River, the rain forest, and Mayan villages in southern Belize. Stay in beautiful thatch cabanas with private bathrooms and verandas. Enjoy delicious cuisine prepared with organic produce from our garden. Try kayaking, birding, swimming, and horseback riding on the grounds. Connect with the people and culture of Belize on daily tours to villages, Mayan ruins, cacao farms, caves, waterfalls, and more. Or simply relax in a hammock all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cotton Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel Punta Gorda
Cotton Tree Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing