We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in PG”
Review of Coral House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral House
Ranked #3 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2009

This is my third stay at the Coral House, and it is consistently perfect. Rick and Darla are the most helpful and sociable hosts, and provide an ideal combination of attention to detail and relaxing warmth. The facilities are first-class with everything needed to carry on business, and yet the inn is also very much embedded in Punta Gorda goings-on and local flavour. If they have space, book your stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onceuponatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Coral House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 174 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2008

This past August my husband and I enjoyed a week visiting Belize. The highlight of the trip was the visit to Punta Gorda and the accommodations at the Coral House Inn. It was exactly what we were looking for.....quiet time enjoying the view of the Caribbean, relaxing in the hammock while reading a good book, bicycling to the market and along the waters edge, visiting the jungles and meeting the locals. The accommodations at the Coral House Inn were the best with time spent by the pool, enjoying a cool drink under the thatched roof while enjoying the view, and easy conversation. Best of all are the incredible sunrises and sunsets that leave you wanting to postpone your departure and stay for another week. I highly recommend the Coral House Inn and all it offers.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank OllyIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

As an addict to salt water fly fishing, I've made several trips to Belize in recent years, Following a week of fly fishing out of San Pedro, my wife and I decided to extend out trip and visit Punta Gorda after having heard it is a uniquely Belizean community still largely unchanged by tourism. Rather arbitrarily we selected the Coral House Inn as our destination. What a find! I don't think we have ever had such a thoroughly relaxing hotel stay in all our travel history. The community proved charming and imparted the sense of truly having visited Belize. Folks were friendly and inviting. An array of activities were available from diving and fishing opportunities to river tours and exploring Mayan villages nearby. And food, while all with a definate Belizean flare, proved excellent.
To make our experience near perfection was the pleasure of returning to Coral House Inn. The grounds, overlooking the Caribbean, are quaintly landscaped and beautifully maintained. The thatch covered bar, set beside the pool and glently freshened by the sea breeze elevates relaxation to an art form. Our room was artfully appointed and very comfortable with cable tv , wireless internet, and air conditioning. And the common areas of the Inn are as comfortable and inviting as a visit to the home of old friends. We look forward to a return soon.
It is not often that one finds such pleasant accomodations, particularly when centered in a thoroughly charming location. If you are looking for Club Med, this is not it. If you want to enjoy Belize and a comfortable and relaxing guest house where personal service is offered as though to friends, we would extend our highest recommendation for the Coral House Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank flatsfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

We stayed at the Coral House Inn in Punta Gorda Belize on a stopover and liked it so well that we returned and spent a week. This is a lovely small inn. The ocean front property faces the Bay of Hondurus. The pool, patio and gardens are beautiful and provided a much needed retreat. It was so peaceful and relaxing it was hard to pull ourselves away to explore Punta Gorda. The Coral House Inn makes it simple by providing bicyles for the guests. The Inn is an easy ride or walk to the center of town where there are a large number of restaraunts and shops (for a small town). Breakfast is provided by the Inn and included a wonderful selection of fresh fruits and breads. Breakfast is included in the price of the room. This Inn is a must if you want relaxation and ocean breezes.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank westerlysail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We recently traveled to Belize and Guatemala. After visiting the ruins at Tikal, we traveled south through Belize to Punta Gorda before continuing to Antigua, Guatemala. We had heard about the Coral House Inn in Punta Gorda and had reserved a room. Arriving somewhat worn out by our travel, we were able to relax and recharge in this very nice inn. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The beds are good, the linen fresh. The swimming pool, which allows for swimming laps, looks good and feels better. A little thatch roofed bar offers Beliken beer, cocktails, and soft drinks to enjoy at the tables near the pool. It seemed that there was always a buttery breeze coming in off the Bay of Honduras which is just a stone throw away. Our hosts, Rick and Darla Mallory, provide a nice continental breakfast, advice for getting around town, and they made us feel welcome and comfortable. We stayed longer than we had planned. We stayed again on our return from Antigua. Anyone would enjoy their stay at the Coral House.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CastaSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

I highly recommend the Coral House Inn. It's clean, safe, and well-run. I asked the owners, Darla and Rick, about 1,001 questions about Belize and Guatemala and they gave lots of information and insight. After being on the road for 10 days I was happy to be able to see the cable t.v. at night and use the computer to plan my trip in the morning. I also liked the complimentary breakfast and the bicycles available to guests to use to explore Punta Gorda. Best part was sitting out near the pool in the early evening listening to the music, enjoying the view and talking with the other guests.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TalTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Coral House Inn. The owners Rick and Darla made you feel so at home. The rooms were very comfortable with air conditioning and cable television. The grounds were beautiful with flowers and tropical foilage complimenting the decor of the inn. The view and the breeze from the Gulf of Hondurus made it the perfect place to relax after a long day of sight seeing in the jungle. For bird lovers, you can spot many different birds right on the property. I even saw a toucan in one of the big trees near the water. Breakfast was also included each morning consisting of homemade bread, jams, juice and lots of fresh fruits. We enjoyed having breakfast in the mornings and visiting with the other guests and the owners. They also have two cute dogs and a cat that seem to fit right in with the setting. The staff was very helpful in getting us to and from the airport and showing us around Punta Gorda. They also were happy to answer any questions you might have about the area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank speteachmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
5.1 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
259 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#11 of 18 in Punta Gorda
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beya Suites
Beya Suites
#9 of 18 in Punta Gorda
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Charles Inn
St. Charles Inn
#6 of 18 in Punta Gorda
62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hickatee Cottages
Hickatee Cottages
#1 of 18 in Punta Gorda
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral House

Address: 151 Main Street | Punta Gorda Town, Punta Gorda, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: $121 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate seaside inn with all five air-conditioned rooms and a Suite opening on to spacious verandas providing a spectacular view of the Gulf of Honduras on the Caribbean Sea. Complimentary amenities include: swimming pool, bicycles, wireless internet and continental breakfast, with full breakfast available upon request.This beautiful 1930's house is fully remodeled and conveniently located at the quiet end of main Street, in Punta Gorda, Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coral House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral House Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing