We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place!”
Review of Coral House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral House
Ranked #2 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend staying here if it's in your price range. Immaculate place. The grounds are beautiful overlooking the ocean. Pool is clean with an honor bar system. The common area and rooms are clean and well decorated. They offer laundry. Bikes and continental breakfast are complimentary. There are cheaper places in PG but this is worth the cost if you're looking for a nicer place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktwaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-House-Inn, Manager at Coral House, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Good Day KtWaack,

Thank you very much for a wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Ale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
68
21
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This place is super nice and I was SO happy I was staying there and not anywhere else in this town. I was just passing through and this was a real treat. Very nice pool area with lovely lawn, poolside bar, chairs; nice room with lots of windows, well-laid out bathroom/shower area and comfortable bed/furniture. The owners are super nice couple from Idaho and they have worked hard to make it a great place. The breakfast spread was delicious - especially the chocolate chip banana bread! They have friendly resident cats who will leave you alone or keep you company in the nice lounge areas. They have bikes you can borrow to ride into "town" which is handy.

They are right on by the water but I didn't see any sort of beach area. Another guest said she did manage to go snorkeling right by the hotel but I wouldn't have attempted it.

I will say this - I can't imagine spending any more than a day in this town. Maybe there's more than meets the eye, but it is small. I had a flight leaving for Belize City at 1:30 and asked what time I should have the taxi pick me up. They said 1:00. I couldn't believe this and wanted to say at least 12:45 but they convinced me and boy, were they right!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travchigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-House-Inn, Manager at Coral House, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking some time to post this review.

Ale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, exceptional staff, delicious breakfast, quiet, relaxing, great value! What more can you ask? Only stayed one night, but would have loved to stay longer! A real find with a beautiful view of the ocean, a swimming pool and lovely yard to relax in.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwynn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-House-Inn, Manager at Coral House, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back again soon.

We look forward to you visiting again.

Ale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were there Jan 19-23, 2014, doing mission health care in San Antonio.
After a long day of work, it was great to be able to sit by the pool with a cold Belikin beer and relax.
Darla and Rick were wonderful hosts, the coffee was ready at 6 am and the continental breakfast was perfect. Ale ("Allie"), was a great manager who helped us with car rental and Tropic Air confirmations. As far as restaurants go, it was an easy walk down the path to Asha's, but remember to bring the flashlight that they have in every room. You'll need it on the way back.
We loved the Coral House, and I'm sure we will be there again next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-House-Inn, Manager at Coral House, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Doug,

Glad to hear you enjoyed Coral House. We look forward to seeing you and your group again next year. I am sure by then our Suite #2 will be ready for operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Coral House Inn is the gem of Punta Gorda. It's been almost 10 years since my last visit and it's only gotten better. The additions to the house, the pool and the bar make the experience of PG that much more memorable. The inkeepers are wonderful people who add to the peaceful, Belize feeling and are always willing to sit on the patio at sunset and tell stories about their incredible experience. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in PG. The experience just couldn't be matched!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dausen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-House-Inn, Manager at Coral House, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you Dausen, for your kind review. Its great to hear you had a great experience. We look forward to seeing you again.

Ale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Coral House Inn is a delightful little gem at the end of town. I stayed at the Coral House Inn for 5 days in mid-December and loved every minute of my time there. From the moment I arrived the staff was friendly, welcoming, helpful and accommodating. Ale made sure that all my needs were met (and then some!)-- made great recommendations about where to eat and what to see, and even organized for me to join other guests on a day trip to the ruins. Morning or night (or even when I ran into her away from the hotel), she always greeted me with a smile and friendly word. Bryla was also a wealth of information about Punta Gorda and indulged all my questions about the town and its culture. I honestly can't say enough about the wonderful customer service provided by the staff.

The photos on the website don't do the Coral House Inn justice -- the place is gorgeous -- a cool clear blue pool overlooking lush gardens overlooking the sea. You can't help but relax and unwind as you sit in a hammock or poolside with this view -- and even more so if you've indulged in the well stocked honesty bar! The rooms were clean and comfortable -- and the owners (Rick and Darla) had provided all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable -- from a delicious spread of fruits with breakfast, to purified water in the room, to wireless internet, to wash cloths specifically to get the mud and muck off your shoes and clothes (particularly helpful after excursions to places like Blue Creek), to lush towels for poolside lounging. The atmosphere is was wonderful and the facilities immaculate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral-House-Inn, Manager at Coral House, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Meghan, thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. So happy to hear how much you enjoyed Punta Gorda and Coral House. come visit again soon.

Ale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Coral House Inn was above par. Excellent place to go and slow down Belizean style. The owner is a wonderful person, and the vibe of Punta Gorda is slow. Now, let's get to the nitty gritty. The people in Punta Gorda are not dependent on tourism to make a living, it truly is a sleepy Belizean village, so tourists are at best, treated indifferently. Not badly, not rudely, but not catered to either. And the only meal they serve is breakfast so get out in town a bit and discover the local foods.

So if you are looking for people to swoon over your US dollar? Not happening. The Coral House Inn though, is quite unique. The bar serves drinks on the honor system. You pour your own and write down what you have used. That just blew me away. There are a few places to go check out around Punta Gorda, and there are a few stores there that we found interesting. But again, it is a village in a 3rd world country that is not dependent on tourism.

If you are hungry for vegetarian meals (or any other for that matter) Gomiers is a great little place that is run by Gomier himself. A rasta that is very well educated in nutrition and health, and who also runs on Belizean time. You will get some VERY tasty food, but it is cut and cooked fresh, so slow down, relax and take in the area.

If you are looking to get a taste of Belize, from the very nice setting of the Coral House Inn, you just can't go wrong. A few days of this, adjusting to the area and the people? Will slow you down a few notches...

Room Tip: Any room in the Coral House is outstanding. and the people that work there are truly interested in y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
5.1 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
252 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#9 of 18 in Punta Gorda
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Charles Inn
St. Charles Inn
#6 of 18 in Punta Gorda
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beya Suites
Beya Suites
#10 of 18 in Punta Gorda
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral House

Property: Coral House
Address: 151 Main Street | Punta Gorda Town, Punta Gorda, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate seaside inn with all five air-conditioned rooms and a Suite opening on to spacious verandas providing a spectacular view of the Gulf of Honduras on the Caribbean Sea. Complimentary amenities include: swimming pool, bicycles, wireless internet and continental breakfast, with full breakfast available upon request.This beautiful 1930's house is fully remodeled and conveniently located at the quiet end of main Street, in Punta Gorda, Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coral House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral House Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing