We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best reason to go to Belize”
Review of Hickatee Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hickatee Cottages
Ranked #1 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Belize has so much for someone not wanting the resort scene: THE VERY BEST of Belize is a lingering stay at Hickatee Cottages - and better still being in the incredible company of Kate and Ian, who run amazingly beautiful cottage accommodations, provide sincere warmth and entertainment, as well as the option of wonderful food using healthy, great tasting local ingredients to the best of European-Belizean fusion and influences. Trips are unobtrusively arranged by Ian that are breathtaking and you will love the grounds and trails of Hickatee, rides up the road to the delightful town of Punta Gorda and being in a unique and special environment. For the very best we found in Belize, (and just about anywhere else in extensive travels) we are astounded at our luck in finding Hickatee Cottages. No wonder the raves about this place. There are great places to stay in Belize, it's priced well, there are lovely people and an incredible range of things to eat, do and enjoy. But whatever you do - don't miss the experience of Hickatee cottages!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 375 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2010

While staying on Ambergris Caye,we decided on a last minute visit to Punta Gorda. Trip Advisor reviews made it clear to us that there was NO question of where to stay...Hickatee Cottages. From the personable emails from Kate to our romantic and beautiful cottage,the gorgeous jungle grounds, to the amazing food (wait till you taste barracuda!) and delightfull waiter, Ian --our 2 night stay was nothing short of magical!(HA ! kidding!--Ian is Kates' husband and together,they will personally see to it that you have an amazing time!)--
We just happened to be there on the ONE and ONLY day the cherished Mayan jade head was being displayed to the public in PG, then we continued on with a tour of a working cacao farm where we were introduced to the fantasic natural treasures of a rain forest, shared a delicious homemade lunch and made our own chocolate with the family- then cooled off cave swimming in Blue Creek..NONE of which would have been possible with out the superb guidance of the one and only Bruno. What an exceptional man and guide! (Seriously, I could NOT have made the hike without Bruno's help!!) Thank you Kate and Ian!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bso630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

This was our 3rd trip to Belize, and our second stay at Hickatee. We go to Belize to fish for something called a permit, one of the most difficult fish to catch on a fly rod, and Punta Gorda is one of the best places to be based if you want to do this. After a less appetising experience in an expensive local establishment the first year, I found Hickatee on tripadvisor - the reviews were too good to be true - and made some enquiries. I immediately got a very detailed and helpful response which made me feel that this was the place for us. Hickatee is a mile and a half outside town - a 10 or 15 minute bike ride if you are so inclined, or 5 minutes in the car.

Especially considering where you are, in a cleared patch of jungle with no mains electricity (they have a generator and big batteries), the comfort and facilities are incredible. The cottages (there are 4) all have ceiling fans, hot water comes out of the shower, and the beds are very comfortable. The wildlife is great - fabulous humming birds, Montezumas Orependulas, toucans etc. The there are the troupes of howler monkeys that sound like something out of Jurassic Park outside your window early in the morning, and the chirping and croaking of the crickets and frogs at night all add up to a feeling that you are somewhere very special. You do not come here if you want nightclubs and sandy beaches - but having said that the town of Punta Gorda is fascinating and there are few tourists.

But the main thing about staying here is the owners. For Ian and Kate, ex-pat Brits, nothing is too much trouble. For example: each day we leave the dock, the other side of PG, to go out fishing at 6.30 am. Kate gets up to cook us breakfast (on the table at 6! ) then Ian drives us down to the dock, and comes to pick us up when we get in. No extra charge for this, although breakfast does not officially start until 7.30.

These guys work a 16-18 hour day but still claim to love what they do. Kate cooks dinner in the evening - there is always a choice of 3 main courses, with whatever fresh fish Ian has picked up in the market that day.

So all the things you read about Hickatee here are completely true - and when you (sadly) leave, you get a bill that you think must be wrong it is such good value. What can be better than that?

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famousfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

We stayed for five nights with another couple after spending a week sailing out of Placencia and everything at Hickatee lived up to the previous reviews! The generous and genuine hospitality offered by Ian and Kate was complemented with home cooked food and warm fresh bread to start and finish each day. It felt as though we were visiting friends.
During the day Hickatee had plenty to see around the trails, and Ian was extremely helpful in setting up some great day trips including the butterfly farm. After a hard day holidaying, it was lovely to relax after dinner with a coconut rum watching the bug board fill up with a marvellous aray of local insects!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickandBod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

We just recently returned from an 8 night stay at Hickatee Cottages, and we cherished every moment! Ian and Kate, the owners of this delightful haven, are the most amazing host and hostess. They couldn't have been more accommodating, beginning with picking us up from the airport. Ian went above and beyond in helping make sure we experienced the wonders of southern Belize, and set us up with transportation and amazing tour guides for our excursions. Most of our excursions included local Mayan villagers as guides or assistants, eager to share their knowledge, which really added to the cultural experience of Belize. We visited the area Mayan sites of Lubaantun and Nim Li Punit, which were so peaceful and serene with no other tourists around (that's the beauty of the Toledo district), toured the fascinating working butterfly farm, snorkeled at the Snake Cayes, enjoyed cave swimming at Blue Creek, hiked the bush to view the beautiful scarlet macaws, kayaked the Rio Grande river, visited a local cacoa farm (where we learned not only about the cacoa but about the surrounding plants as well and their many uses) with a local Mayan farmer and visited his village and home. We did all this and more, and still found time to enjoy the grounds of Hickatee!
The nature and jungle setting of the cottages was just what we were looking for. With just four cottages nestled in a jungle clearing with the lush jungle surrounding, we truly felt we were in an exotic land with sounds of howler monkeys and birds abounding!
We took full of advantage of the bikes available on site (enough for my whole family to go together) and explored the surrounding area by bike several times. We also explored the jungle trails many times, even spying the howler monkeys that are often heard (which is an experience in itself), but not often seen! Ian was amazing with my nature loving teenager who was always anxious to see what exotic bug creature Ian had found for her that day, and there always the evening bats and fireflies to enjoy! My kids also enjoyed the games available at Charlie's Bar (after quick lessons from Ian), while waiting for dinner!
The outdoor eating arrangements were heavenly, and Kate is the most amazing cook! Each day began with wonderful Belizean coffee which was delivered (at a time of our choosing) to our porch where you can sip while listening to and watching the morning birds (what heaven)! This was followed by a complimentary breakfast of the most delicious homemade bread, or eggs and tortillas enjoyed on the porch of Charlie's Bar. We enjoyed some authentic local foods in town and in a Mayan village home which we enjoyed, and was part of the cultural experience we were looking for, but Kate's dinners at Hickatee are hard to beat! Dinners are gourmet presentations made with all fresh local ingredients including ones grown on site, with choices to please all. Even all my teenagers couldn't wait to see what Kate came up with each day! Of course the local Belizean chocolate served after dinner each night was just the right touch!
Though it's tough to separate yourself from the outdoor setting at Hickatee, inside the cottages are lovely with comfortable beds, a nice little reading nook ,and always with fresh flower touches from the grounds.
We chose Hickatee Cottages based on the reviews, though we wondered how there could be a place with no faults. The reviews seemed almost too good to be true, then we experienced this perfection first hand and realized the reality of it all!! This was an experience we will not soon forget, and all five of us enjoyed every moment! (One word of advice, bring light pants and long sleeve shirts or bug spray for your treks through the jungle trails, you certainly won't want to avoid the jungle so just travel prepared.)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourTEENS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Kate and Ian were wonderful hosts during my 2 week stay at Hickatee. I learned a lot about living green and supporting the community. My room was lovely, Kates meals delicious and beautifully presented, the grounds and jungle trails amazing and the birds numerous and as close as the front porch! If you are looking for a peaceful encounter with nature look no further.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdernancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Ian was very gracious and wonderful enough to let the group stay without reservations. We were just lucky they had room. I had a wonderful time and couldn't have asked for a better time!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spainatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
5.2 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
259 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 18 in Punta Gorda
174 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#11 of 18 in Punta Gorda
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kiskadee Lodge
Kiskadee Lodge
#8 of 18 in Punta Gorda
17 reviews
5.6 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
92 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickatee Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickatee Cottages

Address: Mile 1.5, Ex-Servicemen Road | (Aka Boom Creek Road), Punta Gorda ..., Belize
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: $102 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-rated jungle B&B, just one mile from PG Town in southern Belize, Hickatee offers Caribbean-style accommodation, bar-restaurant, plunge pool, morning coffee delivered to your verandah, free bikes, over a mile of nature trails on site, and free visits to Fallen Stones Butterfly Farm. Family-run, we offer friendly service, a comfortable relaxed atmosphere, excellent value for money, and a great base from which to explore the offshore southern cayes and Toledo’s many inland attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hickatee Cottages Hotel Punta Gorda
Hickatee Cottages Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing