We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dear Diary :Hickatee Cottage”
Review of Hickatee Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hickatee Cottages
Ranked #1 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
around the world
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dear Diary :Hickatee Cottage”
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Well,
I want to make this short sweet, and informative:
I was apprehensive at first ( going to Hickatee) because there were no (to my memory) bad reviews) of Hickatee so I assumed that it was probaby the friends and family of Kate and Ian writing the wonderful reviews. Yes, I said it, you probably thought of it as well.
There is nothing to complain about, we will be returning when we can afford another trip back to Belize. If the outsdoors is not your thing, then do not bother, you will be sad and miserable. We love the outdoors so it was a blast. Kate and Ian were fantabulous ( yes, I made that word up). The location and quality of the cottage in terms of cleanliness and comfort are superb. I am very particular about cleanliness. What you see in the picture is really what you get! We loved it and so there is there is nothing left to say except go, what are you waiting for???!!!!!!

  • Liked — the pictures were true to what you could expect upon entering your room
  • Disliked — nothing to complain about
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hfm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
204
41
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, LA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2008

This was our first trip to Belize and we loved it. Kate and Ian were great hosts and were very helpful in everything from the booking of the plane from Belize City to Punta Gorda to trips we did everyday while there. Kate is an excellent cook! Ian has such dry sense of humor and I enjoyed the interaction between him and my husband. Ian always sent us off on our daily excursions with a smile on our face as well as a full belly from our meal. (Tell Darrell and the others hello!) They are knowledgeable about the town and readily answer questions. On the other hand, if you do NOT like to be without air conditioning, TV, internet, telephone, night-time activities (other than jungle hiking), restaurants 24/7, or have frizzy hair...this area not your place to stay. IF you like adventure, the unknown, friendly atmosphere, local education, hiking, bike riding, jungle trekking, scuba diving, snorkeling, great food then this is the place you should go. I knew in advance what type of place Punta Gorda would be....jungle, tropical rain forest, lots of mosquitos and high humidity. There is no a/c in the cottage, just the wonderful breeze blowing in through the levered windows along with a ceiling fan and an oscillating fan. The lights you have is the night light in the bathroom and the light filtering in from the solar powered lights along the walk way. At night you can go to sleep along with the jungle life and the rain that come in the night just like clock work every night (this is the rainy season). You awake in the morning to the jungle waking up as the sun is coming up. The birds are calling to each other as well as the howler monkeys. We actually did not get to see them but we heard them. The flowers and vegetation is beautiful at the cottage. We biked into town, stopped at a local area for beer and karaoke, went to a cacao farm, hiked in Blue Creek, went snorkeling, fishing, ate at local restaurants, went to Fallen Stone Butterfly Farm, had a dip in the plunge pool, took many pictures and all around had a wonderful experience to share with our friends and family here at home. **Tips: bring plenty of bug spray that has deet in it, light weight (such as gauze material) long sleeve shirts and pants are good or you can spray your clothes with the bug spray along with any body parts that are showing. We used Off Deep Woods and Cactus Juice spray and Cactus Juice SPF lotion that has bug repellent in it. Bring hats and shoes you can jungle trek in. I bought a pair of Keen athletic sandals and my husband brought a pair of Teva athletic sandals which were great. We also had a back pack each which we packed full of clothes and other items and only had one stored luggage which was a big duffle bag for the liquid items we couldn’t bring on board as well as other clothing and items.** As I said at the beginning this was our first trip to Belize but it will not be our last! Hats off to Kate and Ian!

  • Liked — the location of the cottage nestled in the jungle was great!
  • Disliked — there really isn't anything we didn't like about the cottage
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniemurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

My daughter & I stayed at Hickatee Cottages for 4 nights. The cottages are in a beautiful natural setting, yet within an easy cycle ride or walk of PG. The tropical garden is natural & serene, and flows imperceptibly into the surrounding jungle. The cottages provide all the comforts any sane traveller would need, and, in addition your own verandah, an ensuite bath, and a ceiling fan. Thankfully one may sleep without the intrusion of airconditioning (totally unnecessary with ceiling fans anyway) so night-times are especially rewarding with noises as the prolific forest life will come around the cottages. Whilst the proprietors are always accesible and attentive, they keep themselves very much in the background. Food is as fresh as you could ever find, and home prepared natural ingredients are used wherever possible.
Hickatee achieves a combination of comfort & harmony that I have never found in establishments that set themselves up as 4 or 5 star.
I will be returning.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZambeziUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

My husband and I emailed Kate and Ian (from their website) a few days before we flew into Belize City. Ian picked us up at the Punta Gorda airport and took us out to Hickatee. This was our first trip to Southern Belize and to Hickatee and we would definitely recommend it.

Accomodation: Clean, charming, spacious, comfy bed
Coffee: Local grown and roasted beans, best coffee we had in all of Belize (served every morning on our veranda)
Food: WONDERFUL (they can cook for us anytime). The fresh bread was so delicious! Mashed potatoes were so rich and creamy, veggies and seafood cooked to perfection, and everything served hot.
Property: huge variety of plants, tons of birds, trails to trek on, small pool to soak in, chairs to repose in and a great atmosphere to relax and wind down
Other stuff: awoke to the sound of howler monkeys and birds each morning; lots of books to read; the tour of the Butterfly Farm was really interesting.

Highly recommend this for couples who are looking for a charming, reasonably priced place to stay that has great food and atmosphere. Kate and Ian are very friendly, knowledgeable and also very supportive of the community they live in. They shared lots of information including their love of the local music and culture. It was a fantastic way for us to start our vacation in Belize.

  • Liked — The Hosts, Ian and Kate
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSeekingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

The stand-alone cottage is one of 3 available rooms, pretty, airy, very clean, surrounded by jungle gardens. Owners Ian and Kate are friendly and helpful, they bring you coffee on your porch in the morning and breakfast on the veranda -a great way to start the day. Located just outside of Punta Gorda, better to have a car or be prepared for $7 taxi or a hot bike ride into town. Cool drinks at the bar and a tiny dipping pool were very much appreciated. Ian was going to his "other job" at the Butterfly Farm, he met us at Lubaantum and took us there - a great experience to be in a cage literally covered with butterflies!

  • Liked — jungle location, near but not in Punta Gorda
  • Disliked — The oscillating fan could just barely keep us cool on the hottest of nights
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benolivia
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2008

We loved it. It was beautiful. Breakfast was the best!

  • Liked — It was in the jungle.
  • Disliked — Be prepared there is no A/C.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank benolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

This review is long overdue. We stayed at Hickatee in May of 07 for 2 nights. Kate and Ian were hands down the best hosts we encountered on a two week trip through Belize and Guatemala.

The food is excellent-- home cooked meals prepared by Kate and Ian were incredibly delicious. The cottages, too, were extremely nice. Kate and Ian have made a real commitment to supporting the local community. They are so involved in so many events and projects in PG that it's hard to believe they also run Hickatee! They are very knowledgeable about the local area and can suggest and help arrange almost any trip in the area.

They went out of their way to accommodate us. After one night there they suggested we explore the Rio Dulce in Guatemala. They drove us to the dock to catch the boat to Livingston, Guatemala and we were off on another completely unexpected and wonderful adventure. Thanks to them for the recommendation! We returned two days later for another relaxing night at Hickatee.

If I were to run a guest lodge, Hickatee is the ideal to which I would aspire. Really, I can't say enough nice things about it-- Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The owners, Kate and Ian
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briscott99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
5.2 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
257 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 9 in Livingston
346 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 9 in Livingston
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
90 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#10 of 18 in Punta Gorda
71 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickatee Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickatee Cottages

Property: Hickatee Cottages
Address: Mile 1.5, Ex-Servicemen Road | (Aka Boom Creek Road), Punta Gorda ..., Belize
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-rated jungle B&B, just one mile from PG Town in southern Belize, Hickatee offers Caribbean-style accommodation, bar-restaurant, plunge pool, morning coffee delivered to your verandah, free bikes, over a mile of nature trails on site, and free visits to Fallen Stones Butterfly Farm. Family-run, we offer friendly service, a comfortable relaxed atmosphere, excellent value for money, and a great base from which to explore the offshore southern cayes and Toledo’s many inland attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hickatee Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickatee Cottages Hotel Punta Gorda
Hickatee Cottages Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing