We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hickatee Cottages - a great place to spend a weekend on the mainland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hickatee Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Gorda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hickatee Cottages
Ranked #1 of 17 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hickatee Cottages - a great place to spend a weekend on the mainland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at Hickatee Cottages for a weekend between my dive weeks with ReefCI. After the activity of my first week in Belize staying at Hickatee was just what I needed to relax. The accomodation was spacious and of an extremely high standard. Breakfast options were great and the three course meal I had on the Sunday evening (cooked by Kate, one of the owners) was delicious.
Both Ian and Kate were perfect hosts, really fascinating people to talk to and great to see how they have adopted Belize as their home, and just how much they contribute back to it.
I cycled into Punta Gorda twice (with bikes provided by Hickatee) during the weekend which was a very pleasant way to see the sights. It would not be possible to do this in the evening though as it does get dark early - however taxis (use Miss Flo) are relatively cheap, and if you know where to go or who to call are easy to get hold of. It costs BZ$20 to get from Hickatee to Punta Gorda, which is approximately £7.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appeared to be of the same very high standard. The larger rooms do have hammocks on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulW00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
204
39
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hickatee is an amazing place to stay. The owners were incredibly helpful and very friendly which made our stay so enjoyable. The cabins were clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the setting was beautiful. Overall we would really recommend Hickatee to anyone who is looking for a comfortable, and very enjoyable place to stay in a very interesting part of the world.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smartsville California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I recently traveled to Belize for some diving and fishing with Blue Reef Adventures. We stayed three nights at Hickatee Cottages before heading out to Tom Owens island. I cannot say enough about our stay with Ian and Kate at Hickatee. I will sum it up to say that their hospitality, our cottage, the service, and their attention to detail, everything was 5-star! This secluded jungle experience was exactly what we were hoping to experience in Belize. Thank you Ian and Kate for making our stay at your paradise in the jungle so incredible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I had been considering a trip to Belize for a long time before we finally made it. As we normally do for big trips, we had done exhaustive research on where to go, how to get there, etc. Hickatee was a place that had jumped out immediately as a unique and special place, and a place that we just kept returning to when trying to decide where to stay. We chose it not only because of the number of good reviews, but because of the locale (close to some interesting attractions-but more on that later), and the incredible communication and help in planning that the owners Kate and Ian provided to us.
They were very prompt in answering all questions directly and they even provided suggestions for activities (and made arrangements for us once we arrived) through learning what we were interested in doing. In travelling to a foreign country it is a luxury to have the type of help and direction that Hickatee provided.
So about the accommodations. Hickatee is an eco-conscience lodge meaning that the owners operate the lodge using sustainable energy (solar) and other environmentally friendly practices. Therefore, if you are habituated to having all the lights on while drying your hair with the TV blaring in the next room, this may not be the place for you… If you are looking for an off-grid experience (without sacrificing some creature comforts-hot showers, electricity, Wi-Fi, etc.), personal attention to your needs, hiking trails through the jungle outside of your door, an amazing wildlife experience, culture, great company, incredibly prepared food and drinks (we enjoyed the little black dinner menus – just one more small touch that shows their dedication to detail), rooms that are beautifully decorated and very comfortable, and a great launching pad to the best of Southern Belize then look no further than Hickatee.
We spent some of our time lounging in the hammock on the porch while reading/listening to howler monkeys and birds; and other time cave exploring, hiking the cacao trail and having lunch with the locals in the jungle; as well as other activities. All of our activities were arranged by Hickatee. We just told them what we wanted to do and when we wanted to do it and they made it happen. If you’re not 100% sure what there is to do or how to do it, the owner’s local knowledge of the area (and the country) was indispensable including their knowledge on activities that may or may not be possible based upon current conditions (rain, etc.). Also, if you are an entomologist or are just interested in insects and other aspects of nature, Ion is an excellent resource on all things that crawl/fly/scurry around Hickatee. They also have a good stock of reference material on mammals, butterflies, insects, fish, culture, and other pertinent information as well as other good reading material. We were able to observe several species of reptiles, insects, giant blue land crabs, birds and other wildlife.
As previously mentioned the rooms are well equipped, well decorated, elevated, and very comfortable. However, the grounds of Hickatee are INCREDIBLE. You are surrounded by lush jungle foliage, bridges over creeks and other water features, and meticulously kept paths throughout the property (there is even a pool). The grounds truly provide an environment where you can truly relax, enjoy yourself and unwind.
It is also worth mentioning that we tend to seek accommodations where we have a good deal of privacy. Hickatee is not a large hotel or lodge and it provides an environment where you can have some good interaction, but it is also a place where you can do your own thing at your own pace without any questions and minimal interaction with anyone. If you feel like socializing, there is a main structure which serves as a gathering place for meals, aforementioned reading, listening to music or enjoying rum punch which was served at one point by the very entertaining and delightful Fubu.
If it sounds like a gushing review, it is. We could not have had a better time at Hickatee and plan to return soon. We were spent some time travelling to other parts of the country but every other place was held to the highest standard due to our very special time in PG at Hickatee. Thank you, kind hosts, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SnowyNMountainPlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for seclusion, natural environment plus great service, Hickatee Cottages is the place to stay in Punta Gorda. Located on the outskirts of town, the property consists of several well appointed and comfortable cabins equipped with ceiling fans. Guests can relax on the veranda, take a dip in the spash pool, or hike along the well marked trails through the forest that abuts the property. Numerous birds, insects and other wildlife, including a resident troupe of howler monkeys can be seen regularly.

In addition to being a superb host, Ian loves to share his vast knowledge about the local flora and fauna. He also is a great resource for arranging tours and other activities in the area.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjkarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you want a secluded jungle experience (with few or no bugs), or just a peaceful get-a-way in Nature, I highly recommend Hickatee. It's several modern cabins tucked away just a few minutes from PG tucked in the middle of the jungle right off the main road. So during the day and at night you are serenaded with the sounds of frogs, insects and who knows what else. Butterflies and hummingbirds frequent the many fliowering plants on the grounds. They even have their own jungle trail you can walk to get a real feel for the rainforest (saw a family of Kotamundi's while walking it) Ian is very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the area and was also very helpful in arranging tours. Even on very hot days I was able to stay cool with the cottage ceiling fans or just hanging out by the splash pool. It's probably 10 degrees cool under the canopy of shade trees he has. It's no problem getting a taxi to PG so everything is readily accessible. The morning bread and coffee is the best I've had anywhere and their dinners are truly gourmet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rik I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Kate and Ian were wonderful hosts, kind attentive and thoughtful. Kate's bread is to die for and the cottages were a joy to be in. The setting is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. Great great stay, thank you so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredCruiser-edm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
21.4 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#2 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#8 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kiskadee Lodge
Kiskadee Lodge
#9 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickatee Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickatee Cottages

Property: Hickatee Cottages
Address: Mile 1.5, Ex-Servicemen Road | (Aka Boom Creek Road), Punta Gorda ..., Belize
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-rated jungle B&B, just one mile from PG Town in southern Belize, Hickatee offers Caribbean-style accommodation, bar-restaurant, plunge pool, morning coffee delivered to your verandah, free bikes, over a mile of nature trails on site, and free visits to Fallen Stones Butterfly Farm. Family-run, we offer friendly service, a comfortable relaxed atmosphere, excellent value for money, and a great base from which to explore the offshore southern cayes and Toledo’s many inland attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hickatee Cottages Hotel Punta Gorda
Hickatee Cottages Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing