We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When can we go back?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Ranked #5 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We arrived at Tranquility Lodge late and weary from our travels. Our hearts lifted as Rusty and Sheila met us at our cars, Sheila with her apron on, telling us that dinner was ready! And what a dinner it was! With our bellies full, we retired to the very well-appointed and clean rooms. The unusual jungle sounds lulled us to sleep. Each morning we were greeted with hot coffee and a sumptuous breakfast. Every meal prepared by Sheila, Rusty and their staff was as good, if not better, than offered at any 5-Star hotel in the States. The grounds are lush and full of exotic foliage. What a treat it was to stay at this beautiful lodge and to meet Sheila and Rusty.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamiswanson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 92 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

We had a long travel day and arrived late. Sheila and Rusty were outside waiting for us when we arrived. Sheila had on her apron and dinner was waiting. How wonderful. We felt like family and the food was absolutely terrific. Sheila and Rusty Nale are terrific hosts. Sheila is a fabulous cook and Rusty is social and friendly and made us feel like we were at home. Even his jokes are funny! The rooms are clean, well-decorated and welcoming. The upstairs dining area is screened in with a view of the jungle. We loved the Tranquility Lodge and the surrounding jungle - complete with a swimming hole! We recommend the Tranquility Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Tranquility Lodge - It has beautiful surroundings and a rich bird life. If you love birds you have a wonderful chance to see some new ones. Just sitting and watching gives you the possibility to see some beautiful hummingbirds, parakites and woodpeckers. Besides that it has a great location and some nice hosts. So if you want to relax and enjoy the nature this is definitely the place!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snapstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stumbled upon Tranquility Lodge late in the evening, and were very pleasantly surprised. A large room, very nicely decorated, in a small lodge in the jungle near Punta Gorda. We were the only guests and the hosts Sheila and Rusty made us feel at home. The lodge is set in a lovely garden with many species of orchids.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murfettj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

We have just returned from 4 nights at Tranquility Lodge and enjoyed every minute. The grounds are perfect for bird viewing and and the number of birds to be seen is outstanding---trogons, hummingbirds, and aracaris are just a sample of what can be found. Sheila and Rusty were terrific hosts and very knowledgeable about birding in the area suggesting spots nearby to visit and finding local guides. We saw 18 scarlet macaws on a day trip to Red Bank! The accommodations were first rate and the food was excellent. We hope to return before too long!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nancyandjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

The Nales went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome. Wonderful food, comfortable beds, help with getting around... they were extremely accomodating. Beautiful grounds, too. They arranged for a bird expert to come in and we went birding one early morning, right at the Lodge, and saw lots of birds including Aracari, a Toucan-like bird.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamapriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Rusty and Sheila run a top-quality operation at Tranquility Lodge. Tranquility Lodge is picturesque, quiet, comfortable, clean and exceptionally well run. The rooms are clean, comfortable and very well appointed. The grounds are attractive, clean, safe and private. Sheila's cooking is wonderful and she had no problems creating a vegetarian menu for the entire week that I was there. What impressed me the most, however, was there efforts in helping to plan out my week. Sheila worked with me on the itinerary and put together a perfectly-balanced week of tours, activities and experiences: everything from jungle tours and Mayan ruins to scuba diving and birding. Southern Belize is definitely an up-and-coming area and Tranquility Lodge is going to be a big part of that.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menschems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
24.9 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
281 reviews
5 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#11 of 18 in Punta Gorda
72 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hickatee Cottages
Hickatee Cottages
#1 of 18 in Punta Gorda
378 reviews
0 mi away
Kiskadee Lodge
Kiskadee Lodge
#8 of 18 in Punta Gorda
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas

Address: Jacintoville, Punta Gorda 00000, Belize (Formerly Tranquility Lodge)
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: $110 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a peaceful, secluded setting on 20 acres of lush tropical gardens and jungle, Chaab'il B'e Lodge and Casitas is the best choice for nature loving travelers to Southern Belize. Use the lodge as your base for exploring the cultural, archaeological, and eco-adventure activities of Toledo District. Afterwards, enjoy great food, hospitality and pleasingly rustic yet oh so comfortable accommodations. Take the trail less traveled... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaab'Il B'e Lodge & Casitas Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing