We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Fantastic!

Emmeth was great with my little boy, let him try a lot of different drums and taught him some nice... read more

Reviewed May 20, 2019
24katya
,
Fisterra, Spain
Cultural experience

We booked a Foodie experience: Creole Fire-Hearth and Drumming" to learn about how locals are... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2017
AdrenalineAK
,
Fairbanks, Alaska
Read all 22 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Punta Gorda
from $95.00
More Info
from $17.00
More Info
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
19
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
19
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hearth jill drum rhythms pg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 22 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2017

Fun night learning drums and yummy food! Jill and Emmeth were very friendly and ready to discuss or chat about the food, culture and so on. We really enjoyed the drum lessons from the very extremely talented Emmeth- it was my first time playing drums. It was very fun! The cooking class was an eye opener for city folk like me. We literally plucked the leave from the garden and cooked it immediately. Jill had a cool kitchen with many improvised utensils!! Good value and fun for the money. Jill was very helpful also in helping us get transportation to and from the place.

I reserved 1 star because we had multiple sand flea bites from the place. It is still itchy......

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank aprilapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ixtabai9, Manager at Maroon Creole Drum School, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

We really had fun with you folks too! So glad you were able to make it. You were fast learners. Sorry about the sandflies! Insects happen in the jungle, lol. I will have to get a can of insect repellent to keep around for those who don't bring. Thanks for the suggestion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2016 via mobile

We spent a great and groovin' evening with Emmeth and his family! He's not only a great drummer but also knows a lot about music and its history. And the food his wife made was delicious, too!

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2015

Didn't have a lot of time- so we only could stop in for a quick visit. Take note- the location of the school has moved. It is now on the southern side of the bridge as you get into Punta Gorda on the Southern Highway. If you see the sign that says welcome to Punta Gorda you went to far.

We were greeted with a friendly and informative tour of the drumming, the school grounds, the drum making process, and even played the drums with us for a few minutes.

Everyone on site was friendly and knowledgeable. Would love to go back for a lunch/ lesson.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank NoExcuses_TravelOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2015

We had a fantastic experience with Jill and Emmett. We picked vegies from their garden, helped prepare lunch on the hearthfire stove and then learned to drum. Meantime Jill and Emmett taught us about Belize and Creole culture.They couldn't have been more friendly, warm ,and welcoming. This is a must do if you are in Punta Gorda!

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank mszeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2015

Great show and inspiring message for the people of Belize regarding gun control...more than an anti-gun compaign. It has a deep message to the people who have been touched by needless gun violence.
The show inspired me to clap (sing) and truly feel relaxed. Thank you to the whole crew who put all the working part in place for the guests!

Reservations needed and it is in the outback so a little tolerance for nature needed...and a touch of bug-spray.

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank Bethany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews