We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enough fond memories of Sea Front Inn to draw us back!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Front Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Front Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Pensacola,Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enough fond memories of Sea Front Inn to draw us back!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2006

After our trip several years ago, we are planning a return trip and we will make a stay at the Sea Front Inn a part of it. The use of native rosewood and maghogny and hand fashioned furniture together with native cuisine prepared by locals makes for a truly delightful and real taste of Belize. Not to mention the Carribean Sea at the front door.....Wonderful!!!

  • Liked — Use of local/natural talent and assets in the building its self
  • Disliked — not enough time to enjoy it
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the time to enjoy the area
  • Stayed May 2002, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank P&J/PNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
8
20
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2006

It has been my pleasure to stay at the Seafront Inn from its earliest days. In the summer of 1999, while in its final stages of preparation for receiving guests, I stayed in one of its luxurious rooms. The comfort and appearance of the facilities of the inn are comparable to well-maintained Stateside accommodations which are sometimes difficult to find in Central America. Owners and managers, Larry and Carol Smith, have spend their adult lives in Belize and enthusiatically share their love of the country with their guests. They speak the local languages and know the local customs. Their inn is a good place to scope out the surroundings before venturing out on one's own. Eating a variety of good food in Seafront Inn's dining room of mahogany wood is one of the best ways to end a day of adventure in Punta Gorda.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank dschondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

We straggled in to Punta Gorda bone weary from a long day of travel. When we arrived at the Sea Front Inn we felt like we were at home.
The staff was very warm and friendly, the owners were so knowledgable and kind.We loved our room which faced the sea, it has the neatest decorations. I wish that I would have asked to see some of the other rooms & how the decor corresponded with the names of the rooms.
The restaurant was a shrine to beauty and art, so unique.(and the food great!)
We went on a tour with Roberto, he is the absolute best guide we've ever had on any trip anywhere!!!
We want to stay longer next year. Our hats off to the crew at the Sea Front Inn.
thanks guys for a great trip.
Sharon

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolinaGuev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2006

We LOVED our stay at the Sea Front Inn!
It is the most artiistic place I have ever stayed, every way we turned we saw more and more detail, I never did see it all. We stayed for 5 nites but could have stayed forever!
We went out with tour guide Roberto ???(can't recall his last name!).t he was wonderful! He catered to us not just guided us and had such enthusiasm and gusto and knowledge about the different places that he took us. (white sandy beaches that we had all to ourselves, jungle cruises where we saw some amazing animals and a Mayan Village where he seemed to know everyone there.
all in all I can not say enough about our time at the beautiful Inn. The owners were very kind, the staff helpful and friendly and the cost was low for the beautiful room that we had.
oh, did I mention the delightful breakfasts? or the views from the restaurant windows??
Wonderful wonderful, Joel

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2006

We stayed in the Sea Horse Room up on the top floor overlooking the Carribbean Sea, I spent a lot of time swinging in the hammock on the veranda enjoying the cool breeze and fabulous scenery while my husband snoozed in the a/c.
The staff was great, the room was so creative, the hotel amazing with myriads of intricate and artistic detail. One can see that the place was built with much love and creativity. I thot that our room was a great bargain. There were 3 of us and the room was spacious and comfortable for $60.. It was in a great location as well for walking into the nearby town. I found the people of Punta Gorda very kind and friendly. I would go back in an instant!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2006

While on a medical mission trip to Belize, a group of us stayed in Punta Gorda at the Sea Front Inn for a much-needed break after 5 days of grueling clinics.This inn has a lovely water view from the upper level where we ate breakfast each morning and spent time most evenings. We were fortunate in knowing the owner, Larry, and his wife--former missionaries in the Mayan jungles--and were able to adapt to the "easy style" there such as the "honors bar" where guests simply list the drink/s taken. At the end of the stay, these are added to your bill. Larry's son-in-law, Roberto-- a native Belizean--takes groups or individuals on various tours on his boat, The Wild Thing. We were fortunate enough to experience two adventures with him: a trip on the Moho River in the jungle, and a snorkeling day at Snake Island. These were truly wonderful days without another human face seen except those of our group. We saw iguanas, rare birds, dolphins, looked for manatees, and watched Roberto wrestle with a 10 foot boa in a tree--for our benefit, I imagine. If SURVIVOR is your kind of tv show, then you would like these outings(there are several others to chose from all with the reliable Roberto in charge). Our lunches were packed by the Sea Front Inn staff and taken on the boat each day. I cannot say enough about the friendly folks there. The rooms are not luxurious, but certainly adequate with various themes to pick from. I would certainly consider staying there again without hesitation. I would like to see more visitors to Punta Gorda making friends with the owners and getting acquainted with "life at the Sea Front". And by all means, be sure to book a day with Roberto and The Wild Thing. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2006

The hotel was nice enough, but at about US$60 for a single it was massively over-priced - fair value was about US$30. The problem is that there appears to be no competition in the hotel market in Punta Gorda. There are some not so pleasant looking backpacker places but I could find nothing else in the US$20-50 range. If you have your own car perhaps you can look further afield - there is certainly nothing to do in Punta Gorda - but if you are on public transport and waiting for the boat to Guatemala (or vice versa) depending when/how you get to Punta Gorda you are likely to find yourself spending a night there, or in Puerto Barrios in Guatemala which is a bigger but equally ugly town.

Helpful?
Thank uajamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
22.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
20.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Charles Inn
St. Charles Inn
#6 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kiskadee Lodge
Kiskadee Lodge
#9 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Front Inn

Property: Sea Front Inn
Address: 4 Front St., Punta Gorda, Belize
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, rest, relax and be refreshed as you enjoy the gorgeous sea view from our verandas, peaceful atmosphere, comfortable clean rooms, garden courtyard and amazing food at Boneville Cafe with fresh pastries, coffee's, burgers, market fresh menu and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Front Inn Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing