We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price Good Location”
Review of St. Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Charles Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Price Good Location”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Good price for the location. Rate quoted included all taxes which was great. The owners are very welcoming accommodating. You are in the center of town and it is a bit noisy. Everything is within walking distance. Its safe and convenient to walk to the sea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
20
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here last week with a group of university students for 8 nights. As one of the leaders of the trip I have perspectives from myself as well as the younger crowd "students".

Pros: The staff were very nice and helpful with removing bugs from my room. The little store attatched has great ice cream cones for only $1. Makes for a good afternoon snack on a hot day! The location is great, walking distance to everything. Laundry on site was done quickly and the ladies were very nice.

Cons: Every room should be equipped with air conditioning, its is very hot in Belize. My room had cockroaches 3 nights and I was on the bottom floor, I initially thought it was just the bottom floor rooms, but the students upstairs had spiders and other bugs coming out of the sink. When I complained about the cockroaches the man spraying my room said that they were in the wall and they like food...I had no food in my room, so you can imagine how easy it was for me to sleep every night knowing they were in the wall. Everything is very NOISY! You can hear everyone talk, the people above you walking you can hear every step, the cars that go by and yes there are a few dogs that just bark all night long and even with the air con on you could still here the dogs and everything else. If you are lucky to stay on a sunday morning you will awake at 7 am to church music blasting on the property. Be prepared :)

Overall I think this place is ok for a night or 2 max, but for a long period of time like our group, no. The students complained about the noise everyday and the bugs. I liked the owners very much, but they need to do soemthing about the cockroaches and they should put air cons in every room.

I have had my fair share of travelling the world and staying in dumpy hostels, but I also only paid about $3 a night. This is quite pricey for the noise and bugs.

Room Tip: Upstairs with an air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo W, Manager at St. Charles Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
I would like to thank this guest for her review and constructive criticism of our inn. From the very same day this review was posted we at the St. Charles Inn were on a mission to right every wrong that is on this specific review. I' am pleased to say that all rooms are now fully air-conditioned with the option of renting the room with or without air-con as some guest simply don't like A/C and prefers the natural air. We have also hired a professional exterminator to eliminate whatever insects that was in the rooms. Brand new Serta and Sleep on it beds have also been purchased and installed in each and every room with the appropriate bed covering to make all beds totally fresh and clean for the comfort of our valued guests! Customer care and guests satisfaction is our number one priority at the St. Charles! I would like to personally apologize for any inconveniences caused to the reviewer and would greatly appreciate the opportunity to serve you once more!!! Thanks, Carlo Wagner
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the St. Charles Inn for the second time in 2 trips to Belize. The Wagner's (Carlo and Mr. Charles) were both extremely hospitable and friendly. Being a family run business, it helps you sleep easier knowing you're supporting the local community. If you're accustomed to the fancy features of the Shangri-La or Grand Hyatt Dubaii, please don't waste your time here and post negative comments about this quaint and cozy hotel. This hotel is clean, neat, budget-friendly, safe(security and housekeeping on duty), and has ceiling fans, cable TV, air-conditioning, bottled water, great pillows, and best of all incredible conversation and historical reference with the owner Mr. Charles Wagner, who was a member of the Belizean Parliament. You are not going to find in Punta Gorda a major 'hotel strip'. Punta Gorda is a small sea-side town with a lot to offer and the St. Charles Inn is a fine place to stay if you want a taste of the real Belize.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights whilst trying to find an apartment in town. It is good for a budget hotel - the fans worked, the beds were comfy and the shower was hot. Mr. Charles, the owner, is also really friendly and loves a good chat. BUT if you're a light sleeper, it is very noisy. It's right in the centre of town with barking dogs and roosters. The walls are also quite thin so other guests' TVs kept me up for a couple of nights. But it's conviniently located near the bus depot and the departure point for Guatemala.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claraesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Well, the fan did a good job of keeping the room cool and the room was clean. This would have been a pretty comfortable stay, except that we were unable to sleep for most of the night due to the very loud barking dog immediately next door. It barked non stop all night, while others chimed in. No tv sounds or earplugs could drown it out. Overall, this was quite a noisy place when you also factor in the street noise which continued until late into the night and started again early in the morning. Bear in mind that you are only a block away from the local bus depot. If barking dogs and street noise don't bother you then this is a reasonably priced, well located hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank ramonderio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place has horrible customer service and is loud. There were also bed bugs.

The first morning we stayed here we woke up at 6am to the sound of blasting Christmas music. It was the owner of the inn playing the music so I asked him if he could turn it down a bit. He was upset that I asked and overall gave the feeling that we weren't guests there. You can also hear trucks driving by every morning.

There are plenty of cheaper places to stay for better quality.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My friend and I were told about St Charles Inn by the staff at the ferry terminal. We'd had a long trip from Honduras and wanted to be close to the bus terminal for the 6am bus the next morning. The rooms are clean and really sweet - we chose one with aircon, 2 double beds for 45USD. They provided fresh water, and the pillows were AMAZING. My prior research on trip advisor had missed this place, and everywhere else in PG seemed sooo expensive! but I'm so glad we found St Charles Inn. It was just above our price range for a quick overnight stop but was everything we could have asked for a short stay. Carlo was really helpful with recommending restaurants and organising transport for my friend with her injured leg, including a reliable 545am taxi to go 2 blocks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelizChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
21.8 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 9 in Livingston
340 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
42 reviews
4.5 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#8 of 18 in Punta Gorda
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 18 in Punta Gorda
170 reviews
6.7 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Charles Inn

Property: St. Charles Inn
Address: 23 King Street, Punta Gorda, Belize
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your St. Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Charles Inn Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing