We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome!”

Asha's Culture Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Top quality seafood and barbeque in Punta Gorda. Relax at the only restaurant and bar around that is completely over the sea. Fresh meals are cooked to order with sustainably caught seafood; fish are often caught by Asha (the owner/head chef) himself. Our kitchen serves hearty dishes prepared with healthy ingredients. Listen to various styles of live music – including Creole and Garifuna drumming, Mayan marimba, and international performances – all while enjoying the Caribbean sea breeze with a view of the Guatemala highlands from across the bay. Exceptional service and competitive prices. Business practices are very environmentally friendly. We cater to all needs; including large groups, food delivery, and a variety of events. Please call ahead for large groups, to-go orders, directions, or our music schedule. Marine tours, sustainable-fishing classes, sunset-booze cruises, and cooking lessons are available.
Pittsburg, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Simply awesome!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

After a long day of travel we decided to get some dinner. Super friendly staff. The service took some time but we were a large group and it was definitely worth the wait. Lion fish that was simply amazing! Asha came out and introduced himself and thanked us for our patience. I will be back before we leave!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pitbullsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    71
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenora, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Took a chance”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Tough to find anything the least bit palatable in a place like Punta Gorda. Asha's is rough and ready but the food was good and we didn't get sick so that's OK. Asha is a great guy and will take care of you, seems to know what you would like.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenoradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Asha's Kitchen”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great little place on the water. Quaint outdoor tables on a small pier. He's in the process of building a new place next door. Can't wait until its finished.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F8262NFchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have traveled with my husband to Punta Gorda two times both of which were fishing excursions. The first time we ate at a lodge for all our meals. This time we experienced the restaurants. It was always dark when we went,, so I can only describe the inside and the food. I liked the atmosphere, kind of funky with old uneven floors.. I was told they are building a new restaurant next door. The menu is written on a big chalk board and we were lucky enough to be there before the lobster season ended. We went back three times and everything was wonderful. The coconut rice was exceptionally good and complemented the lobster and snapper. I had Lion fish the third night, which was delicious. I told Asha that I wanted to come to go to his cooking class the next time we travel to Belize. Asha, I will be back next Feb!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cutie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love their Whole Snapper! Favorite Dish in Belize.”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Asha's is the best place for dinner in Punta Gorda. They have wonderful seafood dishes with conch, lionfish, and snapper. Unfortunately no lobster while we were there. We love this place so much that we ate there twice. We tried fried conch (yum), fish fingers (my son cleaned his plate), and our favorite dish, whole snapper. It was so delicious that we wanted to take a cooking lesson just to learn how to cook that dish. Unfortunately we couldn't fit that into our schedule. The snapper is fried and came with this sauce/soup that is kinda curry like and so good! The entrée came with 2 sides (BZ $25). Their coconut rice is the best side with the entrée.
I highly recommend eating here. Asha is in the process of building their new home/restaurant right next door so probably in 4-5 months, they will have a brand new restaurant with a larger outdoor deck to enjoy the sea and the breeze.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GhoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asha's Culture Kitchen also viewed

Punta Gorda, Toledo District
 
Punta Gorda, Toledo District
Punta Gorda, Toledo District
 
Punta Gorda, Toledo District
 

Been to Asha's Culture Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing