We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly bar with an awesome view and great food!”

Asha's Culture Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Top quality seafood and barbeque in Punta Gorda. Relax at the only restaurant and bar around that is completely over the sea. Fresh meals are cooked to order with sustainably caught seafood; fish are often caught by Asha (the owner/head chef) himself. Our kitchen serves hearty dishes prepared with healthy ingredients. Listen to various styles of live music – including Creole and Garifuna drumming, Mayan marimba, and international performances – all while enjoying the Caribbean sea breeze with a view of the Guatemala highlands from across the bay. Exceptional service and competitive prices. Business practices are very environmentally friendly. We cater to all needs; including large groups, food delivery, and a variety of events. Please call ahead for large groups, to-go orders, directions, or our music schedule. Marine tours, sustainable-fishing classes, sunset-booze cruises, and cooking lessons are available.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly bar with an awesome view and great food!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Staff in this bar are very friendly, the food is great, the views are spectacular, there's live music, and they are involved in the preservation of Belize's amazing marine environment. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kebelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    70
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and setting”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had several amazing meals here during my stay. I loved the curry lionfish and you have a wide selection of side dishes. What is even more wonderful is the atmosphere and outside deck with breezes at night. We were there for an acoustic guitar night, where a few locals took turns singing and playing, it was wonderful. When I first walked by this restaurant during the day, it looked like it was shut down and about to fall over, but don't be deterred by the looks!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ToddyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try the Lionfish....”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Good food at great prices. Restaurant overlooks the sea and has a real local feel to it. Menu is easy to interpret and food freshly cooked. I would highly recommend the Linofish fishfingers - amazingly tasty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulW00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smartsville California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Ask anyone where's the best place to eat in PG and they will tell you Asha's! Not only is the food fabulous, but just the whole experience at this restaurant is one you will not want to miss. Asha is a wonderful cook and host (his key ingredient is "love"). The local drummers who perform on the back deck overlooking the Belize coastline are amazing. We visited this restaurant more than once getting to know the warm and inviting people of Punta Gorda.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
“My favorite place in town”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

THIS WAS AMAZING! Great fish and chicken.....excellent juices....lovely and lively atmosphere right on the ocean. I'd eat there every night if I could.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trip1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asha's Culture Kitchen also viewed

Punta Gorda, Toledo District
 
Punta Gorda, Toledo District
Punta Gorda, Toledo District
 

Been to Asha's Culture Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing