We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An Oasis of calm in Orange District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Christopher's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Christopher's Hotel
Save
You added St. Christopher's Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Orange Walk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An Oasis of calm in Orange District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night as we were passing through to visit the Lamanai Mayan Ruins. The main pictire of the hotel does not do the hotel any justice at all. There is a spacious reception with free coffee and bananas, there is also free wifi. The rooms are large and comfortable and while they may not be the the most current decor everything was clean and tidy and well maintained and the beds were comfortable. The hotel has beautiful grounds and is set back on the banks of the New River. Our tour boat picked us up from the dock at the hotel when we went on our trip which was another bonus. This is a family run business and everyone we spoke to was very helpful and hospitable. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ningy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    31
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Myself and my husband recently stayed at this hotel while coming from Cancun and to tell you the truth after all the drama we went through in Mexico am still happy about the decision we took not to stay in Chetumal the night and to have stayed in Orange Walk. This was not the originally planned hotel but the other hotel was booked. We pay roughly around 50 something US dollars. Upon arrival the receptionist was exceptionally nice and I was so emotional with all the stuff we went through before getting at that hotel I wanted to cry such wonderful service lovely staff and security guard. The rooms had a nice king size bed wifi was available and a beautiful patio on the back of the room. The best feature of the hotel for me was the shower excellent water pressure and very clean. Thanks to the staff of this hotel I had a great stay and would come back anyday

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank americanqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Nice tiled room on a great property on the river. The room had some ants, but bugs are hard to get rid of here. Plumbing is better than in Mexico, but the lobby wasn't the welcoming hang out spot I had come to expect from the beach hotels.

Good value, safe, and helpful staff.

Great sunrise view from the rivers edge.

Fans worked well in the room, so ac isn't needed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StarGazerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

It is located just a few blocks from the town center plaza. It is located on a large property bordering the river, and has a nice big garden and ample safe car parking. My room was nice and spacious, clean and looked comfortable. The lamp above the bed was not working and other little signs show that a more rigorous maintenance would be justified. It is family owned and their members run the place. There are no amenities in the room such as refrigerator or coffee machine, no AC in my room but they do have Wi-Fi. They offer good value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor (garden level) are quieter and you can walk right into the garden and relax un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Spent three nights here in early March. It was clean and comfortable, with wifi in the room and TV with a thousand channels. The price was reasonable and we were well treated. The grounds are lovely, with all sorts of beautiful plants, flowers and trees.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTnative46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were booked into St Christopher's (because Hotel de la Fuente where we had a confirmed booking did not have a room) without knowing anything about it. We arrived at 4am on the bus and everything looked completely closed, shutters down etc. However the night porter heard us and welcomed us in, gave us a great room in the back building and recommended a breakfast place for later that morning. The room was large, had a/c, fridge,124 channel TV (!!!!) large bed, table and chairs and comfortable chairs on the balcony/terrace.with a side view of the garden and river. The bathroom was a bit dated. We found the staff helpful but vague! Very pleasant though. They will organize trips and you can get laundry done. The boat to Lamanai picks you up at the bottom of the garden! Orange Walk is a small quiet town and we really enjoyed a quiet break on our travels at St Christopher's.

Room Tip: The back building is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianagray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here during a tour of Maya archaeological sites. The boat for Lamanai picked us up behind the hotel. Obviously one expects bugs at a riverfront hotel, but there were ants on parade. Check my photo of the towels, they were clean, but used black marker to identify them as St. Christopher hotel towels.

Late at night a river-tour operator offered us a "swim with the crocodiles" boat ride for $15 U.S, but I couldn't get another 4 people interested, they thought I was crazy. It didn't happen. There is not a lot to do after the Chinese Restaurants close.

Wouldn't mind the room quality, since this is a locally owned business, if they were pouring the room fees back into upgrading the place, but heard the owner brag about his sport fishing and hunting trips all over the world.

Free WiFi, but...WiFi was very spotty and dropped off; my roommate suggested that is because the owner's kid was gaming on the reception area computer. Can't say for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinmpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Walk
19.6 mi away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
23.0 mi away
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
#1 of 7 in Corozal Town
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
24.3 mi away
Mirador Hotel
Mirador Hotel
#7 of 7 in Corozal Town
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Akihito Hotel
Akihito Hotel
#7 of 8 in Orange Walk
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lamanai Landings Hotel & Marina
20.9 mi away
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Crooked Tree
5.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Hotel

Property: St. Christopher's Hotel
Address: #10 Main Street | Orange Walk Town, Orange Walk, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Orange Walk
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
St Christophers Hotel
St. Christopher's Hotel Belize/Orange Walk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing