We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Great Stay!”
Review of Orchid Palm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchid Palm Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Orange Walk B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Orchid Palm Inn is a wonderful hotel in Orange Walk Town. The staff was great & the rooms was great, A/C, TV, comfy beds & private bath. My Girlfriend & I went there for the Independence Day Celebration to see the beautiful fire works & activities. And the hotel is just a few minutes walk to the stores & restaurants. I would definitely recommend the Orchid Palm Inn. When I'm in town again I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spice91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helwa H, Manager at Orchid Palm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your review! We love that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your time here in Orange Walk. Here in Sugar City we aim to may our September celebrations for Independence one to remember. I do hope that you enjoyed the fireworks and the Parade. If you find yourself back in Belize and Orange Walk do feel free to swing by and say hi! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a family operation, which is run very efficiently and with the comfort of their guests the top priority. We wanted a room furthest back from the road and they switched us immediately. We got bottled water and coffee freely. Borrowed one of their loaner umbrellas, nice extra. Asked to borrow a bottle opener and they gave us a small one to keep. Helped us get to the spot for best Internet Connection and guided us to a great breakfast restaurant. They made reservations for the Lamanai River Tour, which was excellent. They picked us up at the door of the hotel. They made a call to our next hotel we were staying at, to arrange pickup from the bus stop. it is a secure place and the rooms are newly remodeled, extra clean and beds are comfortable. We will stay there again on our next trip through Orange Walk.

Room Tip: We liked the room back from the main road, it was pretty quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helwa H, Manager at Orchid Palm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. And hope that your other stay and time in Belize was just as pleasant. It was also quite a wonderful treat that you all stopped by to say hi and farewell on your back out of Belize. As always Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a pleasant little place to stay in the heart of Orange Walk, an otherwise uninspiring town whose main purpose for most travellers is to serve as a base for tours to Lamanai. Staff members are very helpful. They book Lamanai trips with Jungle River Tours and Lamanai River Tours, both of which pick up at the hotel around 9 a.m. and get back between 3.30-4.30. My tour with JRT was excellent and was a bit cheaper than LRT.
The rooms are clean and well decorated, and I found mine cool enough (in March) with just the fan, which is cheaper than getting AC. I really appreciated the free tea/coffee/water and bananas in the reception area (though the muffins another reviewer mentioned were not to be found). Free use of a computer is also great for those who don't travel with laptops/smart phones to access the wifi which was also available.
For those who just want to chill out in their rooms in the evening, the TV provides lots of choices of stations, a majority of which come from the US.
I requested the quietest room and got room 1, furthest from the main street, but note that some rooms can get a fair bit of street noise.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the quietest location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lintab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

On checking in, there was a slight misunderstanding on the price of the room and the tour to Lamanai that we booked that was quickly and happily resolved by the extremely friendly person at reception, all the staff were extremely polite and helpful. Available throughout the day in the reception area were bananas, muffins, coffee, tea and what every hotel should have, a water dispenser to refill those pesky plastic bottles. The room was clean, the water was hot and the price was just right.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenjalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was my first trip to Orange Walk or Belize for that matter. I found the hotel to be very clean and the staff to be extremely helpful and kind. There may be some places that are newer, but none that are cleaner. I was just passing through and there for one night. But, if I ever find myself there again I will certainly choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back (parking lot) are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foxtrot-BandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This nice little safe hotel offers clean rooms and friendly and very helpful staff in the middle of Orange Walk. We even got a tea brought to our sick friend in the evening to help calming down her stomach.

Breakfast is not included, but water, tea, coffee and fruits are always there for you and a great bakery very near.

The bus station moved, so it is no longer across the street from that, but still in the middle of town near town hall. I can recommend it without reservation!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Christoph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We spent two nights at the Orchid Palm Inn in November of 2010. During the day we took a guided trip up the New River for 30 miles to the Lamanai Mayan Ruins. We recommended this tour highly, and the hotel staff can arrange everything. Our accommodations were clean, quiet, comfortable and secure. The office staff were all very helpful and courteous. There is free internet access on their computer in the lobby. The Orchid Palm Inn is right across the street from the bus stop. Traveling on the Belizian "chicken" buses is convenient and inexpensive. It's only and hour to Belize City from Orange Walk, even with numerous stops along the way to pick up and drop off passengers. Taxis are much more expensive, and taxi drivers a bit too pushy. Wait for the bus.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeopleToPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange Walk hotels
0 mi away
Lamanai Landings Hotel & Marina
0 mi away
Akihito Hotel
Akihito Hotel
#7 of 8 in Orange Walk
40 reviews
0 mi away
Chan Chich Lodge
Chan Chich Lodge
#1 of 8 in Orange Walk
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lamanai Riverside Retreat
Lamanai Riverside Retreat
#2 of 2 in Orange Walk
49 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Palm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Palm Inn

Address: 22 Queen Victoria Avenue, Orange Walk, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Walk
Price Range: $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Orchid Palm Inn, you’re staying with friends. Enjoy the simple luxury of clean and comfortable air conditioned bedrooms with private bathrooms, cable TV, and complimentary freshly brewed coffee in the morning and Free Wi-Fi. Awarded, the Belize Tourism Board title Small hotel of the year 2007. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchid Palm Inn Belize/Orange Walk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing