We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Game-Changer!!

We had planned to drive to Lamanai and do a self-guided tour, until the owners of our B&B highly... read more

Reviewed August 24, 2018
nomadic808
,
Carlsbad, CA
Fantastic, we loved it!

We booked this tour through Catamaran Belize (Snorkeling tour). We flew from San Pedro to Orange... read more

Reviewed June 11, 2018
Crystal H
Read all 71 reviews
  
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
57
2
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
2
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride mayan ruins an hour the river spider monkeys ambergris caye private tour rum factory beans and rice picnic area cole slaw lunch sites guide lamanai cruise dock
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a super tour guide you identified plants, trees, animals (howler monkeys!!) and the history of the temples. Everyone else on the tour climbed up the temples and tombs but there was something irreverent about doing such a thing. For me.

A wonderful place to sit and listen and BE in the energy of the lost culture. I could imagine that time and way of life.

The tour we took included lunch. At the exit there is a number of small trinket shops.

1  Thank 853roxane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

We had planned to drive to Lamanai and do a self-guided tour, until the owners of our B&B highly recommended Lamanai Eco Tours. We completely re-wrote out itinerary to include the Lamanai tour and it was sooooooo worth it!

Out guide was Colin, and he put us at ease the moment he stepped into the boat. On our trip down the river, he pointed out geological, ecological, and historical features. He also spotted (and alerted us to) wildlife hidden in the waters and brush before anyone else noticed. It was an outstanding and educational trip down the river.

Once we arrived at Lamanai and took a quick preemptive potty break, we were off to explore the ruins. This is when Colin truly stepped into his comfort zone. It was obvious that he was extremely educated on every aspect of the ruins..............but it wasn't a 'schooled' education, it was a true love of the culture and his heritage that drove him. We toured the ruins and climbed to the top of the High Temple where we had 360 degree miles for miles. It was phenomenal.

To top it all off, we were treated to the best Belizean chicken, rice/beans, and deserts that we had had to date. No regrets!!!!

2  Thank nomadic808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

We booked this tour through Catamaran Belize (Snorkeling tour). We flew from San Pedro to Orange Walk where our tour guide met us. There were a total of 5 people on our tour. We had an awesome tour guide! He was passionate about his country and what he does. He took the time to stop along the river to show us different native plans and animals. We saw a verity of birds, bats and a crocodile! Lamanai was amazing! We started out with a fantastic lunch the food was so delicious! Our guide explained the history at each ruin and showed us pictures and explained the different levels of each ruin. He would give us leaves from different plans and explained what they were and what they were used for. Everyone visiting Belize should do this tour!

Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Cruise day excursion- it takes a little time to travel there- about 1 hr 20 min on a bus followed by a boat ride down the river. I loved the bat ride and the ruins. Tour guide was very knowledgeable about Lamanai, the river, and Belize itself. A great time if you love History

Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2018

Arrived at 09:00 for shared 09:15 tour which apparently had another 12 people on it. In the event we left at 10:00 with a different small group of 4 who had to be back for a 14:00 flight!

So we had 5 extremely short stops on the river followed by a rushed but interesting guided tour. Lunch was simple but good. We arrived back at Orange Walk at 13:45.

Given that this cost $60 each, plus the cost of transport to & from Crooked Tree, I actually felt I'd wasted the day as well as the money.

I don't know how you avoid this happening to you; unless you opt for a private tour...

1  Thank Leafwarbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2018

We made reservations for a tour with Lamanai Eco Adventures and exchanged three emails in confirmation, but when we arrived at the gate of the agency, it was locked. We had been looking forward to this tour for two weeks, and were very disappointed.

1  Thank Squirrelly975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017

Tour was arranged through our resort (Hol Chan Resort Villas) and we took a puddle jumper from San Pedro airport to Orange Walk airstrip where we were picked up by our guides and transported to the dock to get on the boat to Lamani. Saw a spider monkey on the way to Lamani and Howler Monkeys once we got to the Mayan Ruins at Lamani. Our guide (Humberto I believe) was well versed in the history of the ruins and the area of Lamani and it's history. There is so much more that has yet to be discovered in the area. It's approx. an hour boat ride from the dock to Lamani where they serve you lunch as well. They had 'mystery meat' for lunch (bbq'd chicken) and beans and rice with cole slaw and ceviche and it was all excellent. Was a very interesting tour and they have small gift shops at Lamani along with a museum as well. You get to visit 6 sites which is probably just the tip of the proverbial iceberg. Don't forget your bug spray as your are in the jungle/rainforest.

Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

We did this tour from Ambergris Caye. We took a boat over to the mainland, then sailed the river to a small village where we then took a bus to the departure point. From there Lamanai EcoTours took over and we took another speed boat to the actual ruins. When then had a nice lunch and afterwards did the walking tour.

What made this tour so special was Nathaniel, our guide. He was very informative, knowledgeable and had a great personality. He was fun and added an extra element of joy to the trip.

We saw some monkeys, and learned about the ancient Mayan ruins as well as some of the Mayan culture. It was all very fascinating. We saw the mask and jaguar temples and were able to climb up to the top.

Highly recommend this activity. It was truly a day trip to remember! Nathaniel's boat driving skills were great too!

Thank Nissy559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Let me start by saying go on the river tour and see Lamanai. The river is beautiful, the wildlife is incredible and Lamanai was amazing. It was really quite wonderful!

The tour itself was rushed. I found out later that two of the people on our trip had a flight out and, as a result, we got the short tour which involved speed walking from site to site. As we had two older people in our group, it was often difficult to keep up and I gave up on trying to hear the history of the area from our "guide."

There are two basic skills that a good tour guide should have above and beyond knowledge of your subject. 1. Headcount - know how many people are in your group. It's essential to help you with the next skill. 2. No man is left behind - no member of the tour should feel that you are moving so quickly that they have to leave a site early so that they aren't left behind. This wasn't just felt by the older people in the group but also the younger fit folks who didn't even know where lunch was served because they were left behind.

Again, go on a Lamanai tour! It's really spectacular. I might just find another guide.

Trip notes: Bring bug spray, sunscreen and water.

Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017

My wife and I decided not to dive on our last full day in Belize. Ramon's Village set up a river tour and a tour of the Lamanai Mayan ruins. We flew 20 minutes on Mayan Air to a little strip near Orange Walk. We were met by our guide, Andy, in a pick up and he gave us a little tour on the way to the boat ride. The boat ride is about an hour and Andy was very knowledgeable about the area and the history. We learned about the river, the rum factory, monkey island, McAfee's old house, the Mennonites and the history of the sugar business. When we arrived at the Lamanai ruins, we had lunch in the picnic area and then hiked around the site. The hike to include the climbing of the ruins is about 2 miles. The ruins are only 5% excavated and were still very impressive. Andy was very attentive and knowledgeable. It was very hot and he had water available for us on the ride there and back and on the hike. I would HIGHLY recommend this tour.

1  Thank Mel and Margare... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews