We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return”
Review of Chan Chich Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chan Chich Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Orange Walk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Chan Chich in the spring of last year. I had traveled extensively in Central America but never in Belize so we booked a trip to spend some time in the beach (we were at the Victoria House in San Pedro) and some in the jungle. We planned the trip around availability at Chan Chich since we were so excited about their property and the chance to see big cats. The only room that was available was the villa which we snapped up immediately and started to dream of our stay.

The flight in was easy and scenic and the ride to Chan Chich was interesting (going from Gallon Jug) to the jungle as your near the lodge. The villa was fantastic, included two bedrooms, a/c and your own private hot tub and golf cart. We loved it. The main lodge was great as well. We enjoyed flipping through the books with the jaguar pictures and each meal (my wife still talks about the lava cake).

Each day, we did several hikes in search of a puma or jaguar by foot. We also went horseback riding, fishing and on the night drive. No big cats, but being in the jungle was wild and informative. The numbered points of interest on the trails were great as well.

We will be back (as soon as possible).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cfboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Chan Chich Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 222 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful trip to Belize, highlighted by our stay at Chan Chich. My wife and I stayed at the Villa with our 2 children ages 5 and 10. To say the Villa was un expectantly amazing is an understatement. The Villa is unique to the other lodges, (my parents stayed in one of the lodges and thought those were amazing as well, they are not air conditioned). The Villa is a two bedroom two bath luxurious home, with central air, an amazing living room area with a bar. The Villa also has an amazing wrap around deck, a private Jacuzzi that is enclosed, an outside shower. The grounds of Chan Chich are located within an ancient Mayan plaza, while the surrounding grounds contain partially excavated Mayan ruins, some of the ruins truly remind you of something out of Indiana Jones. The grounds also contain an amazing array of trees, plants, and wildlife (some venomous and poisonous).The food was exceptional, the deserts to die for and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Chan Chich offers a unique educational experience, in an amazing unique setting. Wish we could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We loved our recent four day stay at Chan Chich. It was as easy as staying with friends. The service was faultless and level of comfort was first class. The Lodge staff and guides were friendly, knowledgable and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were welcome and had opportunities to pursue our main interest of bird watching. The bird guides were experts at knowing where to locate and identify not only the common birds but the rare and hard to find species too. Stunningly colourful wild ocellated turkeys live within the beautifully landscaped tropical gardens. The unique setting in and amongst an only partially excavated Mayan temple site makes the place it even more interesting. The cabanas were very spacious and comfortable, the deluxe having comfy bed, double showers and two washbasins, fans, fridge, tea and coffee making things, (their own coffee grown in Gallon Jug) and only place where we have had our own water cooler in the room, not just two small bottles provided. Be prepared to wake at dawn when the monkeys walk up and the birds start calling! It is a very long and rough road journey there from anywhere, but our transfers went exactly as we had arranged with Chan Chich staff beforehand by email. Altogether a safe and reliable and thoroughly enjoyable place to relax in a truly natural environment.

Room Tip: We chose "deluxe" cabana having been to Eco lodges before which have been very basic, and...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The only thing difficult about Chan Chich Lodge is getting there. It absolutely remote and absolutely exciting, charming and a nature lover's delight. Our package included nature walks with GREAT guides at least twice a day. The morning bird walk (6 AM) allowed us to spot over 40 different birds every day. There are 4 guides and the 2 who were with us (only 1 couple per guide were skilled and had the equipment and understanding to allow us to learn a great deal about this 130,000 acre nature reserve. The staff was accommodating and attentive. The meals were excellent and varied and of course the "free" Belikan beer (owned by the family who bottles Belikan and Coca Cola in Belize) was a great way to relax on our veranda after the afternoon walks. We did not use the pool but it looked inviting and well kept.

We took the night ride (additional cost) and were thrilled to follow a Puma out hunting deer on Gallon Jug farm. We spotted an Ocelot but we need to go back to find a Jaguar. Lots of monkeys (Spider and Howler). Very comfortable rooms (no air conditioning but the nights are cool). We only stayed 2 nights and wished we could find an extra night or even 2. My only reluctance in writing this review is that it will become too popular. Belize is a great destination and this is one experience which makes this varied country even more unique.

Room Tip: There are 12 rooms (casitas) -- each is detached and similar. I don't believe there is a bad ch...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank IllinoisWETRAVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

As the leader of a field biology class in Costa Rica, the purpose of my visit to Chan Chich was some quality time in the rainforest to improve my jungle skills and reflect upon field activities. Chan Chich was perfect. With nearly 10 miles of trails and many more miles of rustic roads through the rainforest, I was in the jungle for nearly 100% of my stay.

It was very nice, when taking care of life's other neccessities, that I had no worries or hassels. The room was more luxurious than to that to which I am acustomed, and far larger than I needed, but it was most comfortable, not mention clean and orderly. The food was exceptional. During my four night's stay, I selected a different dish for each of my 12 meals, and...well...let us say I "put on" some weight. It was really good.

The staff was outstanding and unique. The women who served the food were delfightful, helpful, and efficient. The women at the front desk made my stay hassel-free. The bartender was friendly and curtious. The women of the house-cleaning team were efficient and had great attitudes. Although I was never in the field with the guides, they were always available for discussion, and they shared valuable insight and experience with me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crstettner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A wonderful place to visit. Our family loved Chan Chich. Everything about it was first class - the accommodations, the service... and the setting was spectacular - magical actually . Their guides are incredibly knowledgeable - definitely worth it to go with a guide on the jungle walks - we saw so much more than we would have otherwise and we learned a ton. The food was lovely (much of it grown/raised right on their farm) and I liked that they charge a daily price rather than menu pricing. Our girls enjoyed cooling off in the pool each afternoon too. Worth the extravagance. This was the highlight of our trip to Belize - we enjoyed it more than the Cayo or Ambergris.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TippyNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, Chan Chich is a magical place, cited in a Mayan plaza, surrounded by buried temples, and abounding in birds and other wildlife. Staff is, on the whole, friendly, helpful, and eager to fulfill special requests. The guides are great, highly adept at spotting hidden critters that would have been otherwise invisible to our untrained eyes.

We stayed for 4 nights in March, 2013. The weather was perfect and there were very few mosquitoes. We went on a variety of day and night hikes and excursions with mixed results in terms of wildlife sitings. One night walk produced nothing while our two night drives both were productive including a puma siting.

The casitas are comfortable although the decorating is cheap and amateurish. We've stayed at the Coppola lodges in Belize and they are magnificent compared to Chan Chich. Nevertheless, you're not there for the interior design, as the real action is outside. From the deck of our casita we were able to spot many varieties of birds, lizards, and the ever-present ocellated turkeys. One drawback is that the casitas are close together and you can hear your neighbors' conversations and, unless the shutters are closed, you are visible in even your most intimate moments. I found it somewhat charming but, if you value privacy, you might be bothered by the lack thereof.

The food is mediocre and vastly overpriced. None of the menu items have prices as you are charged by the meal, and the meal prices are highly inflated. For example, lunch is $25/US. That's a lot for a burger and diet coke. Dinner is $37/US regardless of how much you eat. One night I had soup and salad and it was still $37. The best menu items are the local Belizian specialties. The stewed chicken with rice and beans was excellent as was the jerk chicken. Anything that strays from local cuisine is less successful. With the prices they charge you'd hope they could hire a more talented chef.

One tip: Don't spring for the package price that includes all meals and day tours. You'll be paying for more food than you can eat. The day tours are inexpensive and you'll save money doing them ala carte. It is very easy for two people to pay for a single meal that includes appetizer, entree, and dessert and have plenty of food. Just tell your server that you plan to split a meal so you don't get charged for two.

None of these criticisms should dissuade you. The flaws are minor and the benefits are huge. I would return in a minute. Chan Chich has given me many wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for deluxe. The standard casitas are fine.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank birchdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Walk
0.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
625 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
818 reviews
0.0 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
634 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan Chich Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan Chich Lodge

Address: Gallon Jug | Wamil, Orange Walk, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Walk
Price Range: $213 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chan Chich Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retrace the footsteps of the Maya, wander our extensive trail system and discover the unforgettable flora, fauna and Maya history unique to this tropical paradise. With an unparalleled abundance of wildlife(and the best chance to see the elusive jaguar in its natural habitat) Chan Chich is an extraordinary destination for naturalists, birders and for those seeking an authentic retreat to the jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Chan Chich Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chan Chich Hotel Orange Walk
Chan Chich Lodge Belize/Orange Walk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing