We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An excellent jungle lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chan Chich Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chan Chich Lodge
Save
You added Chan Chich Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange Walk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“An excellent jungle lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

It's very easy to see why this lodge has so many regulars that return year after year. It's been in business for quite a while and is run very well.
We really liked the design of the cabanas in a semi circle around the main lodge building, all within beautiful grounds amongst the jungle. The cabanas themselves are really very comfortable with all mod cons including hairdryers and bathrobes and a fridge. Because of the lack of glass windows - just mosquito netting and wooden slats for privacy - you do still feel like you are in the jungle as obviously you can hear everything, which I love. In my opinion, there's no need to pay extra for a deluxe cabana as the standard ones are perfectly adequate.
The restaurant offered good quality meals although the portions are huge so the half-portion options at lunch and dinner were welcome. As this is the middle of nowhere, the restaurant does run out of things occasionally, which is to be expected.
We thought the guiding was of a pretty high standard and we especially loved the trip to Laguna Seca and the trip to the farm which was also very productive in terms of bird sightings.
We also did quite a lot of trail walking on our own and we saw lots of monkeys - spider and howler.
The lodge has a repuation for a high proportion of cats and we were very lucky to get the briefest of glimpses of a jaguar which was very exciting.
The only thing that was a bit disappointing was the night drive - mainly because of the setup where we were just stuck on fold up chairs in the back of a pick up truck - which really was not a comfortable way to spend 2 hours bouncing around against the chair.
That aside, everything was great and I'd definitely recommend this to anybody interested in nature and wildlife.

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for the deluxe cabanas, the standard ones are perfectly nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
97
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The rooms were so comfortable and felt like an extension of the jungle just beyond the porch. We enjoyed the colorful turkeys and the parrots just outside our room. The staff members were always friendly, helpful and just as excited as we were when we reported wildlife sightings. Being in the middle of Mayan ruins made this a special location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is an amazing resort. Built on the Plaza of a Mayan Temple on the plantation of Gallon Jug. There are miles of walking trails and so many birds to see. Wake up to the spider and howler monkeys in the trees. Watch hummingbirds feed while eating outside for your meals. The staff was wonderful and truly like working there. Guides are so knowledgeable about the history and nature or the area. There are excursions to take to small lakes and horseback rides also. The individual casitas are well appointed with a jungle theme, a large bathroom, bottle water in each room to fill your own bottle or backpacks, a hammock and mosquito netted futon on the porch plus beautiful flowers everywhere. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maizey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Chan Chich Lodge sits amidst Mayan mounds and features a beautiful garden setting. We are birders and the species just in the lodge area was impressive--including trogons. The staff is friendly. they welcomed us warmly and waved us off with smiles as we departed. The deluxe room had all the usual amenities and more. Loved hearing the howler monkeys and birds through the screened and shuttered windows. The pool, the walks and drives included in the discovery package and the excellent Belizian food made our stay a memorable one. One surprise was the Belizin Beer and all the cokes were included in our package. Be sure to take plenty of bug spray with Deet.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms were comfortable to everyone in our group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne5503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights in Chan Chich; my second visit, with the first about 15 years ago.

A very special place. The deluxe room was very comfortable and well-appointed. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The setting is simply extraordinary (although the wildlife was seemed less abundant than during my earlier visit). The food was adequate without being extraordinary --- a pattern we saw elsewhere in Belize on same trip.

At least during our stay, the guests were mostly people in their retirement, many of whom had a strong interest in bird-watching. We were the sole representatives of a younger demographic, and while having some interest in bird life were not true afficianados. So for our purposes, 3 nights seemed about right.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent 9 nights at Chan Chich Lodge over Christmas and New Years this year (2012/2013). It was one of our best holidays ever. The staff is helpful and friendly. The food has enough variation for the the length of stay and was all wonderfully prepared, try the soups, they are the best.

Our guides were extremely knowledgable, helping us find a large variety of birds and educating us on the areas wild life. We got to see a large variety of birds, over 160 different birds in all, of the over 330 lacated on the lodges property. We also encountered a pume on the River Trail. We met a great variety of people while we were there, who were almost all fantastic humans.

I can't imagine a better place if you are a birder or just looking for a little R&R that is not at the beach. This was our second stay and we will go back again.

Room Tip: Cabana 9 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yagul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights after Christmas in Chan Chich and had an amazing time. For people coming from the east coast (all wired up et al.. iphone/blackberry) etc., this offered and in a sense forced us to tune off the outside world and get in sync with the beautiful natural surroundings. Set in the middle of a jungle, in the Gallon Jug estate, this lodge offers rustic luxury, with down to earth attentive staff and knowledgable guides who make bird watching even for newbies like us a pleasurable experience. Staying at the lodge with the sounds of the howler monkeys and over 350 species of birds (parrots, tucans etc.) made us feel like we were in Jurrasic Park. The beautiful cabanas were large and had spacious verandahs that accommodated a hammock where we spent countless hours lazing reading our books, two chairs and a relaxing cushion to take in the beauty. This is also built on the site of an ancient Mayan ruin (the plaza in ancient Mayan civilization) and has much to offer for families and couples alike. The night tours trying to spot jaguars and Puma's and the abundance of trails makes for a fun and active vacation for those who like it. The quality of the food is excellent with 3 course meals ready to pamper you every meal.

Accessibility: We flew in via a private charter as I suspect did most guests as the location is not easily accessible by car (~3-4 hour drive).

Activities: Bir watching (early morning ~6:00am trails with the guides is great), canoeing at the Laguna's, driving ~30mins to see a gorgeous view of the mountains and the valleys, night tours, nigh walks), chilling at the pool

Tips: Take plenty of bug spray, long pants and good pair of hiking boots.

Room Tip: All the regular and deluxe rooms( upgraded bathrooms) are great. There are villas for families and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Walk
0.0 mi away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
5.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 5 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan Chich Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan Chich Lodge

Property: Chan Chich Lodge
Address: Gallon Jug | Wamil, Orange Walk, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Walk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retrace the footsteps of the Maya, wander our extensive trail system and discover the unforgettable flora, fauna and Maya history unique to this tropical paradise. With an unparalleled abundance of wildlife(and the best chance to see the elusive jaguar in its natural habitat) Chan Chich is an extraordinary destination for naturalists, birders and for those seeking an authentic retreat to the jungle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chan Chich Hotel Orange Walk
Chan Chich Lodge Belize/Orange Walk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing